Sevenling: Night Music

Today is Day #2 of dVerse’s fifth anniversary celebration. Victoria is behind the bar and she has given us the prompt to write a sevenling form with music as the theme. At the bottom of the poem is one of three paintings by one of the co-founders of dVerse, Claudia Schoenfeld.  She is both an accomplished artist and musician.  Come visit us at dVerse and read more of this delightful music form and read the interview with Claudia. https://dversepoets.com/2016/07/19/poetry-and-painting-embrace-we-cant-forget-claudia-schoenfeld/

Night Music

“Listen to them, the children of the night. What music they make!”
Bram Stoker

in the warm summer night music
unites the voices of frogs, crickets,
cicadas and flying bats.

stars sing tales of travelers
and lovers and magicians
and lonely folk like me.

And every night they sing just for me.

 

claudia-music-2

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 18, 2016 @ 23:30:38

    I love that you brought in the cicadas crickets and all the wonderful sounds of night during summer time. And yes they do sing for you alone because so many never take the time to hear them.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 18, 2016 @ 23:48:33

      Is the form okay? I think my earler one in April about my SamCat was better. I do like this form and want to do it correctly.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  2. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 00:08:14

    I think it’s perfect…threesomes in both stanzas and then the kicker in the last line. But then the form is new to me, too.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 19, 2016 @ 13:32:24

      You always do so well with all of the forms. Some are just beyond me, to be honest. I’ve been writing the Japanese forms for so very long, many of the forms just seem….crowded…I guess.

      Reply

  3. kim881
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 07:03:08

    Great quote and sevenling, Toni. I can’t post anything to the dVerse website until this evening but I’m seeing other posts on my reader feed already. This looks like a great prompt.

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 07:31:36

    Oh I do love such nice night-music… So exotic for me..

    Reply

  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 09:51:46

    I love that sound, when the night is all but dark and quiet except for those voices, the night creatures. Love the pairing of words and the painting. big hug to you. ❤

    Reply

  6. brian miller
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 13:50:04

    Great line break with the opening line…the summer night music – evokes for me an image and experience in and of itself…i love night music though…the country night music…hearing all the life through the window…one of the reasons i sleep with the window open…

    of course i like city night music as well, but it is different…

    i learned a new loneliness in nepal where i had no one to converse with…it was good fo me though

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 19, 2016 @ 14:07:43

      Being a stranger in a strange land can do that loneliness. I often felt tht way in Japan until I had visited a few times. Different language, food, people…sights and smells. And at some point, it begins to feel comfortable. I love living out here in the country but we keep our windows closed…air conditioning. I am a bit of an insomniac and love the night at all seasons and weathers. I teach teens in Sunday School (most of them are Asian). The night often helps me plan the llessons and gives them often a Zen spin. I went several summers on mission trips to Honnduras. It is rewarding and blessing, isn’t? Bless you for all you are doing. Even though “away” from us, you still teach us.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  7. lillian
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 15:19:23

    Oh how I love the night music! And they sing for thee! ❤️

    Reply

  8. claudia
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 15:22:14

    oh i love the sounds of the night – the tales the stars have to tell and the sounds of the night active animals – it’s like reaching a bit into another sphere – and we have to be quiet to be able to hear their stories…

    Reply

  9. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 15:31:50

    We all carry our music within us; our personal theme song! This speaks to me, Toni!

    Reply

  10. Glenn Buttkus
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 15:54:44

    A little night music indeed; tuning in to it, like listening to the city, or the forest, is like a form of meditation; separating the sounds, the rhythms & beat. You had me at the quote. I love tossing a quote out there to mesh the gears; smile.

    Reply

  11. Sanaa Rizvi
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 16:05:00

    Wow ❤ this is absolutely gorgeous writing Toni 😀 love the idea of stars singing..!

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  12. freyathewriter
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 16:54:14

    Perfect for the sultry night we have here in the UK (for a change!).

    Reply

  13. wolfsrosebud
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 17:51:06

    Oh, I thought they were singing for me. LOL

    Reply

  14. Grace
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 17:56:22

    I love the sounds of the animals mixing with the stars singing tales of the travelers!!! Love the sevenling Toni!

    Reply

  15. piano warm
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 17:59:21

    I would love to hear this song. My nighttime music usually consists of a quartet of “Mommy! Mommy! Mommy! Mommy!” 🙂

    Reply

  16. Bodhirose
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 22:09:11

    What’s interesting about all those night critter sounds is that they sound the same way now that they did when I was growing up…somehow that’s very comforting…just for me.

    Reply

  17. Sumana Roy
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 02:01:44

    I love this sevenling; the nightly songs of nature so beautifully captivated…

    Reply

  18. MarinaSofia
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 06:56:58

    Loneliness and yet a connection to the ‘breathing’ sound of the earth and the universe. Lovely!

    Reply

  19. ghostmmnc
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 09:46:41

    Love, love, love this one! I love the night with all the sounds you can hear when the day is done. My favorite time. So peaceful. Great quote, too! 🙂

    Reply

  20. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 10:54:33

    That’s beautiful, Toni!

    Reply

  21. othermary
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 12:26:14

    You weave a lovely spell here.

    Reply

  22. Misky
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 15:14:09

    You rewrote that quote into lovely evening of love.

    Reply

  23. Mish
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 15:48:38

    This is so soothing and warm. I would love to stand under those stars as they sing to me.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

