Summer Moon Haiku String

Today is Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub. You can submit any poem of your choice, any form, no form, any subject. Come join us and find your new favorite poet. This was also linked to Poetic Bloomings.   OpenLinkNight #176

oborozuki is Japanese for hazy moon

I.
summer half moon drifts
in a sea of blue – floating
sakura petal

II.
summer night sky – I
descry through blacker branches
oborozuki

III.
luminescent pearl
worn by the night sky – baroque
purity enchants

IV.
the full moon flutters
on the surface of the pond
lone cicada sings

V.
the summer moon bursts
from behind the clouds – startled
an owl takes flight

free Getty Image for non-commercial use

free Getty Image for non-commercial use

 

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 14:26:10

    These are all so very beautiful. You have so perfected the art of haiku. The third one is the one that will stay with me longest.

    Reply

  2. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 15:09:11

    Wow!! Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous images of the moon 😀

    Reply

  3. Bodhirose
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 15:32:32

    Very beautiful images in all of these, Toni. I love the image of the moon fluttering on the surface of the pond and how the bursting moonlight startles the owl. I love reading your haiku. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Grace
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 15:36:33

    Exquisite, each one, perfection. I must gaze at that moon for inspiration.

    Reply

  5. hypercryptical
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 15:44:36

    Perfection indeed. Totally enchanted with all.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Reply

  6. kim881
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 16:54:21

    A beautiful haiku string, Toni. So far, everyone seems to be in a romantic mood this evening. I feel as if I should have read the posts first, as mine seems out of sync. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Poppy Ruth Silver
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 16:55:22

    Gorgeous! You set the scene so very well and left me dwelling there 🙂

    Reply

  8. Victoria Young
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 17:11:20

    Your haiku’s are beautiful – the 4th one is my favorite. lovely!

    Reply

  9. charliezero1.wordpress.com
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 17:37:01

    Simple gorgeous imagery and the haiku connect to a world of such beautiful things.

    Love it my friend. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Waltermarks
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 18:30:35

    These are all beautiful haiku. It feels like i’m sitting in a tea garden at night!

    Reply

  11. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 21:18:26

    My favorite lines:
    luminescent pearl
    worn by the night sky – baroque

    You understand Japanese and its poetry so well. I don’t have that skill, but appreciate yours! 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 28, 2016 @ 22:01:43

      Thank you so much. It has been a labor of love to study the form for years. I am still working on the form to get it right.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  12. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 21:26:51

    Your works were so wonderful at Bloomings. This string highlights your aplomb with a form you’ve made yours, Toni. Your blog is another haven from the hum-drum! Thanks for that!

    Reply

  13. SilverGardenia
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 21:59:19

    Love all the different ways of looking at the moon! It’s always beautiful no matter how often you see it.

    Reply

  14. thotpurge
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 22:31:13

    Such a beautiful word.. love the image of the moon like a sakura petal..

    Reply

  15. somawrites
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 05:53:41

    Beautiful haiku poems…totally enjoyed reading!

    Reply

  16. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 09:02:11

    the full moon flutters
    on the surface of the pond

    Could almost feel the moon fluttering like a bird in the water. Mainly because of the surface movements of little waves. Great haiku set Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  17. Vinay Leo R.
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 10:57:47

    All are beautiful but the fourth one takes the cake 🙂 I can hear the cicada without the wind, else the surface would be rippled. Enjoyed that!

    Reply

  18. Susan Anderson
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 11:35:57

    That’s some haiku that really gets the job done.

    Reply

  19. bkmackenzie
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 14:41:31

    the image of the”luminescent pearl”….that is how I see the summer moon, beautiful descriptions of a vessel so calming, so to your words…bkm

    Reply

  20. Charley
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 18:03:45

    the summer moon bursts
    from behind the clouds – startled

    I live for verbal ambiguity. I know the owl takes flight in the next line… but these two lines in isolation work well as the kernel of yet another poem. All of your haiku were lovely. It is a form I have worked on trying to… well, if not master, at least not be mastered by. Great work!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 29, 2016 @ 18:37:55

      I have been studying Japanese poetic forms and writing them for years. I finally at last feel I am getting it. Not senryu or the ubiquitous 5-7-5 people misnomer as “haiku” but classical real haiku. It is rewarding to me. I wish you luck in your working with classical haiku. It is a lovely nature based form.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • Charley
        Jul 29, 2016 @ 20:48:49

        Well, maybe I’m still in the ubiquitous phase… but I have strove for the style of the master.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jul 29, 2016 @ 21:08:12

          There are several masters of the craft…Matsuo Basho and Kobyashi Issa. You maybwant to begin studying some of Japanese wriers, particularly the earlier ones. Another thing to get your head around is Japanese culture, particularly the concepts of wabi sabi, mono no aware and how they have for centuries looked at nature and the passing of seasons. For exampke, they have a minimum of 50 words for rain which details their observance of it. Komorebi is the quality of light filtered through trees as opposed to moonlight (gekko) as opposed to starlight (hoshi akari). One does not have to speak Japanese but as haiku is an old Jaapanese poetic form, it is important to understand the culture which birthed the form. Haiku are about the passing of seasons and the immediate as opposed to senryu which many mistake for haiku. If you go on the dVerse site and put haiku in the search engine, you will pull up an excelkent aeticle on it,…twin poetic forms. I have been studying this forbabout 40 years both in university, Japanese studies, and U of Tokyo. I am still learning. Haiku is subtle and must contain a seadon word (kigo) and a kireji (cutting word), no punctuation except for the barely aspirated dash and no capitalization. There is a kajin, directory of kigo, with over 35,000 season words from around the world. Anything else is senryu or American 5-7-5…i call it fauxku…not haiku. That’s the shortnanswer to your comment.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

  21. jillys2016
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 21:00:13

    How well your words draw our eyes skyward!

    Reply

  22. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 22:40:06

    Lovely images!

    Reply

  23. Nimi
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 00:53:08

    I love these.
    I am a Haiku fan and I’m so happy to have discovered your blog.

    –Nimi Arora
    http://www.NimiArora.com

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 30, 2016 @ 01:16:26

      Thank you Nimi! I hope you will visit often. I do not always write haiku so I hope you will enjoy other poetry I write.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  24. lillian
    Aug 01, 2016 @ 07:15:03

    late to read………on time to enjoy immensely! As always! I especially love 3 and 5. I think I shall always think now, of a baroque moon 🙂 Your haiku, my friend, a visual and sumptuous treat!

    Reply

  25. Barry D.
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 23:38:44

    your haiku skills are as breathtaking as the hazy moon itself. Loved these.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

