Haibun Monday: A Little Romance

Today I am the pubtender at dVerse Poets’ Pub and….it is Haibun Monday! I am giving the prompt today and I want us to write about romance – first love, puppy love, unrequited, forever love, engagement, marriage…We’ve seen the wonderful movies:  Say Anything, Sleepless in Seattle, Casablanca, Murphy’s Romance, Shakespeare in Love…the list goes on and on.  Sometimes our romance is like a movie and sometimes, it is delightfully ordinary.  People are writing about the loves in their lives.  Come and join us for a little romance!

One on One

After long years of being alone after a tragically failed relationship of years, I had finally put myself out there. Typically, I went straight to computer dating. I placed an ad on AOL Personals and had received over 60 responses. There were the typical just looking for sex, needy whiny types, aggressive in your face types and about three actual real humans. I emailed them and decided on one. A local guy who loved roller coasters, was financially and emotionally stable, no baggage, and…a sense of humor. We met and began dating. Slowly my heart began to heal but still it held back. We both discovered we loved ballroom dancing and frequently went and enjoyed. Summer came and he was invited to a cousin’s big splashy wedding. We went, both of us dressed to the nines and when we heard the band at the reception, we were ready to rock. A few songs went by to give us the courage to get up and dance. None of his relatives knew he could ballroom dance.

We were sitting when the band began to play Hall and Oates’ One on One. My heart shriveled in my chest and I wanted to run away. This was the song I had taught my absent partner to dance to, to rhumba. It became our favorite song and a secret message between the two of us. Brad said to me, let’s dance. I looked at him in horror. No, not to this one. He frowned and insisted, yes – to this one. I reluctantly followed him to the dance floor and we began to rhumba. Rhumba – the dance of love. I remained stiff while he smoothly danced around me. Without warning, he grabbed me and dipped me down, my hair brushing the floor. Moving with me, he put his lips to my ears and whispered, “That was then, this is now. That was him, this is me.” He pulled me up close to him and held me close. My heart melted and I fell deeply and unrestrainedly in love with him, just in that moment. The song ended and we went back to our table. The rest of the evening we danced and spent time looking into each other’s eyes. We were married a year later, on that same date. And I am still head over heels in love with this true hearted man with eyes the color of a clear summer sky.

summer skies – cloudless
and bright with warm sun grows a
rose in a frozen heart

 

55 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whimsygizmo
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 13:40:13

    Sigh. Just gorgeous, Toni. I, too, have a true-hearted man with sky eyes. 😉 I love the redeeming of the song, the dancing in his arms. Just beautiful.

    Reply

  2. Victoria C. Slotto
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 13:48:36

    This gave me a chill–how wise he was to call you on then vs. now. Whoever said rebound relationships don’t last didn’t know you and Brad–or, for that matter, David and I. I got one with sky eyes, too.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 08, 2016 @ 14:38:04

      We are blessed with those true hearted men with their sky eyes. I never thought of it as rebound because there was a little over 5 years since we met and started dating. It felt like being in love for the first time. 16 years and counting!

      Reply

  3. Grace
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 15:03:21

    Love love this love story of yours Toni. He was brave, to insist that the past is past. Good for you & cheers to your continuing love story!!!

    Reply

  4. Carol J Forrester
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 15:26:19

    That really brings out the warm and fuzzies. Very romantic and absolutely heartwarming.

    Reply

  5. petrujviljoen
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 15:33:34

    Falling in love while dancing the rhumba – utterly romantic!

    Reply

  6. Victoria Young
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 16:07:22

    This is so beautiful and romantic, Toni. I’m so happy for you. You are such a terrific writer and love your haiku and line:
    with warm sun grows a
    rose in a frozen heart

    makes my heart melt!

    Reply

  7. The Literary Doc
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 17:26:04

    “Rose in a frozen heart.” The story itself is wonderful and vivid, but that last haiku line I think is the absolute best part.

    Reply

  8. Shawna
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 18:23:00

    This made me cry: “That was then, this is now. That was him, this is me.”

    Reply

  9. Mary
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 18:56:55

    Toni, I loved this….what a wonderful love story. I am so glad you found one another & that you captured your meeting in this poem!

    Reply

  10. Imelda
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 20:33:31

    Falling in love does take a lot of courage. How wonderful that you took a chance with the right one. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Oh! and cheers to romances that begin online (as mine did). 🙂

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Unexpected Fall – A Reading Writer
  12. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 21:32:15

    Beautiful, Toni!

    Reply

  13. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 21:32:16

    What a beautiful story, Toni! I enjoy ballroom dancing too, though I’m mo good at it. I like it as much for the “real” (read: understandable) music as the dancing. Thanks for hosting and sharing this heart-warming haibun!

    Reply

  14. Glenn Buttkus
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 23:01:25

    Wow–my poem was about my first sad marriage–how wonderful to read something joyous; something that stands the test of time.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 08, 2016 @ 23:37:37

      Well, your last marriage has stood the test of time. And I had to go through a long relationship and sad time. As Van Helsing said, we must go through the bitter waters to reach the sweet.

      Reply

  15. Bryan Ens
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 23:18:45

    Beautiful! Love that “moment” when you realized you were in love.

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Memories | Doodles and Scribbles
  17. rosemawrites
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 23:30:18

    this is one lovely tale and what makes it more special is that it is true. *sigh* this melts the heart. I am happy for you, Toni. ❤

    Reply

  18. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 02:06:37

    Oh, you melt my heart too! Having read of your earlier love story, how joyous to now share this one. Thank you so much for telling it so beautifully.

    Reply

  19. Josslyn Rae Turner
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 03:24:22

    Beautiful love story, Toni! And the haiku, wow! ❤

    Reply

  20. kim881
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 03:29:22

    Beautifully romantic – it’s amazing how a song can work wonders!

    Reply

  21. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 05:41:35

    bright with warm sun
    grows a rose in a frozen heart

    How nice to have found someone so sincere and so loving. Falling in love and marriage can come with lots of surprises!

    Hank

    Reply

  22. lynn__
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 11:30:05

    A LOVE-ly dance, indeed! Happy for the outcome 🙂

    Reply

  23. freyathewriter
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 15:02:25

    Oh this is wonderful! I’m so glad you found your love – he sounds perfect, knowing the cause of your reluctance and fears.

    Reply

  24. kanzensakura
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 15:07:29

    He is perfect. 16 years and counting.

    Reply

  25. Sherry Blue Sky
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 16:08:38

    This could not be more romantic! I would have fallen in love too. Yay! I love a happy love story.

    Reply

  26. Misky
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 16:20:55

    Oh, what a glorious tale of love!

    Reply

  27. ZQ
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 18:15:11

    Sweet and wonderful! ❤

    Reply

  28. Elaine Wood-Lane
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 01:27:23

    Your story is so beautiful that it sounds like a love song all on its own! I love how well your haiku fits in too!

    Reply

  29. lillian
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 13:11:43

    Finally getting to reading some haibuns!
    And I have to say, I was smiling at your line about three real humans!!! 🙂 Chuckling actually. And then….ah the romance of your evening — that dance…and that beautiful haiku. Smiling I am my friend. Ain’t love grand?? 🙂

    Reply

  30. Barry D.
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 21:12:20

    Your story left me breathless. Loved all of it. It can be difficult to take a second swing at love… shucks-howdy, don’t I know it.

    I’m glad the 2nd time was the charm for you. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Reply

  31. Mish
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 12:43:48

    This gave me goosebumps…”“That was then, this is now. That was him, this is me.” I so enjoyed this love story. A lucky girl you are, but I would say from what I know he is very lucky too.:)

    Reply

  32. mother wintermoon
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 13:09:29

    Wow! Be still my heart. *swoon* Your love is a many splendored thing. Happy for both of you. ❤️

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

