dVerse Poets Pub: Quadrille 2

Another entry for dVerse’s Quadrille Monday.

Firefly Dreams
One firefly always escapes
the jarflying about until
settling in one spot and blinking –
a tiny neon sign in the darkness.
last night
one escaped the jar by my bed
settling herself on the dreamcatcher
in the bedroom window.
Strobic jiggly dreams all night.

public domain image

public domain image

 

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whimsygizmo
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 15:51:28

    Love this! A firefly with higher aspirations. 😉

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 15:58:07

    A firefly caught in dreams… love that…. I think I want that.

    Reply

  3. Misky
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 17:07:51

    This how this plays with dreams!

    Reply

  4. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 17:56:53

    Beautiful!! ❤

    Reply

  5. Waltermarks
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 18:58:12

    That’s really great. Letting it out to dream, what a great thought

    Reply

  6. maria
    Aug 16, 2016 @ 07:47:18

    Even fireflies can dream… ❤

    Reply

  7. Josslyn Rae Turner
    Aug 16, 2016 @ 16:02:25

    Lovely. I’ve never seen a firefly besides a CGI in movies. 🙂

    Reply

  8. kanzensakura
    Aug 16, 2016 @ 16:16:56

    They are magical. I wish you could see them in real life, especially when looking out over the lawn or down through the woods and see all the greenish-yellow blinkings on and off, at all different levels.

    Reply

  9. Mish
    Aug 16, 2016 @ 17:41:53

    I can’t think of a better way to enhance a dream catcher than with a dreamy eyed firefly. A magical haibun. 🙂

    Reply

  10. mother wintermoon
    Aug 16, 2016 @ 18:04:35

    Fireflies are like that. Dream catchers, one and all. Magical dreams on firefly beams. 🙂

    Reply

  11. rosemawrites
    Aug 17, 2016 @ 01:10:40

    lyrical, calming and soothing! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  12. Anita Lubesh
    Aug 17, 2016 @ 15:58:24

    Prettier than spiders and webs.

    Reply

  13. Bodhirose
    Aug 17, 2016 @ 21:40:48

    Love this, Toni! Makes me want to go hunting for fireflies and keep a couple by my bed.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 17, 2016 @ 21:46:40

      Gayle, I still will a couple of times put a jar by my bed with the fireflies in it. I used to punch holes but a couple were injured by the lid punches. So, I found an ancient pair of stockings and cut out a section and put under the lid, nice and tight. Air gets in and nobody gets hurt. I let them back out early the nrxt morning.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Aug 17, 2016 @ 22:23:27

        What little I know of you, Toni, this is one of those things that is most endearing…that you still possess such a childlike curiosity and joy. When I first heard of you climbing trees and playing your violin…well, it’s just the sweetest picture in my mind! You really do have a sweet, innocence about you that I find very appealing. 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Aug 17, 2016 @ 22:41:49

          Oh Gayle, how wonderful of you to say this. When I used to have cats, we would have tea parties in my childhood china tea set with bluebirds on it. They would have cream in their cups and I would have chocolate or cold iced tea. Pecan shortbread tgey all seemed to love, sitting around and lapping their cream. And not a bit ashamed of it. It is important to keep this innocence about one. I always loved that the nuns and later the monks were happily childlike, in spite of their deep inner wisdom.

          Thank you for always being so kind to everyone. You are a good example to Mira We need to keep this joy about us, no matter how far along life’s road we get. Thank you. Thank you so very much. Hugs to you.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

          • Bodhirose
            Aug 18, 2016 @ 13:56:06

            Well, I treasure the idea that I’m a good example to little Mira. And I agree that it’s good to keep in touch with our inner child…for sure, and you are an excellent example for that, and without shame! I try to be kind but will confess I don’t always succeed but appreciate your acknowledgement…thank you, Toni.

            I’ve seen that childlike quality in the Dalai Lama…have you heard him laugh? Just total sweetness. He is a wonderful example and someone I admire greatly.

            You’re very welcome and hugs to you. xoxo

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Aug 18, 2016 @ 14:31:44

              Yes! I have heard the Dalai Lama laugh and often. He visits Richmond a couple of times every year. A friend’s daughter is the responsible person for making sure he is housed and fed. He stays at the Omni Richmond and sleeps on a mat in thd floor. He eats frit, rice, eggs for breakfast and a big lunch. Does not eat after 3:oo in the afternnon. Away from his home, he is not vegetarian. He is fond of roast chicken, salad, fruit, rice. I was able to be one of the chosen kitchen workers this time. My big job was to wash and cut fruit for him. The monks are local and stay at their temple. The Dalai Lama stays at the Omni for security, legal, insurance reasons. He is a very sweet man and has such a calm, kind presence. He came to the kitchen to thank, pray, and bless all of us and to touch us all on our foreheads. Quite a moment.

              Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

              Reply

              • Bodhirose
                Aug 18, 2016 @ 15:42:08

                What a blessing for you to be able to serve him, Toni. Many years ago, my name was chosen through a lottery with the International Campaign for Tibet, of which I was a member, and I received two tickets for a private (not personal) gathering at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. My boyfriend, youngest daughter and one of my sisters all went for an incredible weekend. The Dalai Lama gave a public talk on the Mall where we all saw him and then Tom and I attended the private gathering the next day. His Holiness spoke as well as Richard Gere (the actor) who has been an activist for Tibet for many years. Chinese dissidents spoke and Tibetan refugees told of how they fled their country when the Chinese infiltrated it and began destroying their temples and imprisoning many of their people. It was a riveting afternoon. There were only 12 tickets given out and needless to say I felt extremely honored to have had that experience. Thanks for sharing your moment with me, Toni.

                Reply

                • kanzensakura
                  Aug 18, 2016 @ 16:17:41

                  The things that have been done to that country and its people. You certainly were honored to be able to attend. Here in Richmond, it is more of public, “religious” event – the making of a mandala, the destroying it, the lessons on change and impermanence. But then you read my poem on that! I think some people who really just drifted along were made aware of it in their lives and the world so it was good. but golly, how out of it does one have to be to not “get it”, to know that the simplest event in one’s life makes a change. Even my friend was amazed. And I count her as an intelligent person. She said now she knows what I am always blathering about. LOL

                  Reply

                  • Bodhirose
                    Aug 18, 2016 @ 20:57:03

                    There was a huge festival at the Mall during the Dalai Lama’s visit there. There were monks meticulously working on sand mandalas…later to be destroyed and many Tibetans dressed in their native clothing were in attendance. It was a wonderful weekend. I sometimes forget that a lot of people have no awareness of many of the philosophical ideas that I’ve been interested in since I was a teenager. Slowly though, I can see a change happening, like you did with your friend. I find that intelligence is not much of a factor in whether you “get it” or not…it’s almost like a shift in your entire consciousness seems to happen. At least that was my experience, it was quite profound for me at the time. Have you had any of those profound shifts happen to you while you were studying and practicing your Japanese interests? I would be interested in hearing about that.

                    Reply

                    • kanzensakura
                      Aug 18, 2016 @ 21:23:52

                      It was one of those “oh!” Moments when I was 9. I had a neighbor who was professor of Japanese literature at Duke. It was only him, his housekeeper, and “valet”. We became friends and one night on our front porch steps, we were sitting and talking. It was about this time of year too. We watched the fireflies, listening to the night sounds. He walked over to oyr huge gardenia bush and stooped down then pulled two blooms. He sat beside me and opened his hand. He had a cicada skeleton, not where it had crawled out to grow. He put it in my palm and handed me a perfect gardenia and one that was turning brown. Mujo he said, change, impermanence. It all changes, it all fades, it all dies. He said one of my young friends had died as well as my great grandmother. It is the natural state of life. Spring rain turns into summer dew into autumn frost into winter snow. It hit me like a brick between the eyes. I became aware of our seasons of change, to smell the difference between autumn morning vs. Summer morning, spring sky vs. Winter skies. To hold the first snow in deep reverence,, to anticipate the opening of the first cherry blossom. Very simple but it did change me. A Japanese view as opposed to a universal Buddhist view or Christian view. To live in now and not in past, not in future. And he taught me how to play jacks.

                      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

                    • Bodhirose
                      Aug 18, 2016 @ 22:00:58

                      Yes, that was what I was wondering, if you had had one of those “brick between the eyes” moment like I had as a teenager. Thanks for sharing that awakening moment with me, Toni. You can never go back to your old way of thinking once that brick hits!

                    • kanzensakura
                      Aug 18, 2016 @ 22:40:36

                      What about your brick?

                      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

  14. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 06:32:52

    I love it, I love it!

    Reply

  15. Susan Anderson
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 01:11:44

    What better place for an errant firefly than on the dreamcatcher? Perfect.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

