Haibun Monday – Sky

Today I am the prompter at dVerse for Haibun Monday.  I am asking people to write short one paragraph haibun on the subject of the day sky.  Come join us!
Haibun Monday: The Sky IS the Limit

Blue Sky
I don’t remember, but my parents say one of the first words in my baby vocabulary was “boo” as I pointed a pudgy finger up at the sky…”boo”, I’d say solemnly. And all these years later, I still love the perfection of the timeless sky. I especially remember the first time we made love, outside under the shadow of ancient trees. I looked up over your shoulder and beheld a magnificent sky of brightest blue with pale wisps of white clouds encased by the trees – natsu sora…summer sky. And later, as you collapsed against me, I looked into your eyes at the reflected blue sky. And I thought I would die of happiness suspended between your eyes and the sky. In sleepy afterglow I giggled “boo”. You didn’t understand then until I told you later about the “boo” and you laughed at me and how I loved you both – you and the timeless sky.

serene summer sky –
birds nap in hidden nests as
hawks drift overhead

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria Young
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 14:18:24

    What a lovely romantic story, Toni! Sounds like your parents adored you.

    Reply

  2. Bryan Ens
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 14:27:21

    love how you tell a story of joy, but hint that all might not remain so joyful…just like your haiku starts with the peace of birds in their nests, but gives the warning of hawks hunting above

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 22, 2016 @ 14:48:53

      And this is true. We’ve gone through some bad, tough, sad times together. The loss of his father, me with cancer, him losing a job unexpectedly, us finally getting on the path to finacial up rather than as down, his having to have several surgeries on one of his eyes. But we always stick together and encourage each other, and love one another.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 22, 2016 @ 14:59:33

      And as an addendum, it can also allude to how outside forces try to intrude but we remain safe and hidden from them, how we continue to love in the safety of our own “nest”.

      Reply

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 14:34:02

    As all memories they are almost too filled with that exhilarating joy… but as Bryan says there is something (maybe that hawk) that says all will not remain so… the connection between the boo is great though

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 22, 2016 @ 14:50:57

      If you read my reply to Brayn, you will see that we have been beset with outside problems but never internal. We love each other with joyous love still, in spite of outside forces.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  4. lillian
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 15:27:07

    “…suspended between your eyes and the sky…” Such a beautiful statement!
    Love this prompt, Toni! 🙂

    Reply

  5. sarahsouthwest
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 15:40:20

    What a lovely story, such a beautiful memory. Your haiku reminds me that love is about offering and receiving a place of safety, even when there is danger all around. Your prose creates a beautiful circle from ‘boo’ to ‘boo’. Bootiful…

    Reply

  6. mother wintermoon
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 15:41:06

    So beautiful and romantic. Love this haibun love story!

    Reply

  7. kim881
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 17:01:09

    I love the way you’ve linked together a childhood memory with an adult one, Toni, a lovely mixture of innocence and romance, and that image of you as a solemn baby saying ‘boo’! You’ve linked the prose and the haiku seamlessly.

    Reply

  8. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 17:32:38

    a magnificent sky of brightest blue with pale wisps of white clouds encased by the trees… sigh.. this is so beautiful!! ❤ Love this haibun 😀

    Reply

  9. Nan Mykel
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 19:58:07

    How marvelous to be aware of the sky so young! Lovely.

    Reply

  10. Arcadia Maria
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 20:22:59

    Romance with a bit of humor. Well done.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Haibun for dVerse – Mother Wintermoon
  12. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 22:45:09

    Perfection – in the photo, the prose, and that beautiful haiku!

    Reply

  13. Glenn Buttkus
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 22:58:49

    Such a lovely haibun memory; laced with equal parts joy & alacrity. Sometimes, being fairly new to haiku & senryu, I’m amazed at their power, their ability to stand alone, yet tie the prose together; turned into a haibun poet for sure, with lots of my own unique styling before the haiku finish.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 22, 2016 @ 23:58:35

      They do indeed have a power. They say in a very few words the condition of human and nature, sacred and the temporal. After all these years, they still amaze and make my heart stop, oftentimes. I am still learning haiku, still working on my craft with them. You can’t be lazy or casual when writing haiku, you have to be strict and yet, open to the all the possibilities of mujo, of the impermanence of the situation. I truly love writing them.

      Reply

  14. Josslyn Rae Turner
    Aug 23, 2016 @ 00:26:05

    Lovely story! ❤

    Reply

  15. georgeplace2013
    Aug 23, 2016 @ 08:27:45

    “how I loved you both – you and the timeless sky.” Beautiful memory and love story

    Reply

  16. Anita Lubesh
    Aug 23, 2016 @ 11:29:32

    Boo, caught my eye then naturally your beautiful time capsule. My dad called me boo/booty from a very early age and it still applies…evolving to lubesh by one of my four brothers. My dad died last year and I miss the sound of it.

    Reply

  17. Sarah
    Aug 23, 2016 @ 12:23:10

    Great. 🙂 I love the tension in the haiku.

    Reply

  18. Imelda
    Aug 23, 2016 @ 14:58:02

    The haiku hints of something dangerous lurking even in the most perfect of days. That was an intriguing wrap up to a lovely memory.

    Reply

  19. freyathewriter
    Aug 23, 2016 @ 16:02:32

    Oh wow, this is so, so romantic. Both the story of your first time (outdoors, so very, very classy!) and the nature itself. And ‘boo’ – how cute!

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Haibun – Mother Wintermoon
  21. sreeja
    Aug 24, 2016 @ 02:39:57

    Such a romantic and enticing haibun…!

    Reply

  22. Laura Bloomsbury
    Aug 24, 2016 @ 06:55:49

    dare I say ‘bootiful’ the way you held child and woman together under natsu sora. How striking the contrast of napping birds with what nemesis flies above
    p.s. belatedly joining as life gets in the way sometimes

    Reply

  23. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Aug 24, 2016 @ 18:59:33

    I love your tender depiction such as this, Toni! It is as if you are peeling back a layer of your soul to share with the world the true magnificence that resides there. Thank you for your sharing heart!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 24, 2016 @ 19:17:09

      Thank you Walter. Haibun after all about truth and about the poetic along with the prose. I try to do all of them rather than just a factual write. I love the Japanese forms dearly.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  24. Misky
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 06:45:08

    Toni, this made me smile and smile. So sweet and so beautiful.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

