dVerse Poetics: Wishful Thinking

Today Mish is in charge of the prompt for Poetics today.  She wants us to make wishes – on a star, blowing on the fluff of a dandelion, our wishes for humanity, the world,  ourselves.  It is a lovely poetics.  I hope I do it justice. Come join us for wishes! http://dversepoets.com/2016/09/06/poetics-wishful-thinking/

Twitching one’s nose
It would be nice if I could twitch my nose
like Samantha, the witch from that old sitcom Bewitched.
I’d twitch my nose and twinkletwinkle,
people would be fed,
children would always be loved and welcomed,
the air would be clear and clean,
animals would no longer be hunted to the point of extinction
and all animals and humans would be treated humanely and with kindness.
we’d all have enough money for our daily needs and some of our wants.
politicians would disappear.
we’d all be tree climbers and water worshipers
flower growers and sharers of vegetables
from our gardens.
If I could be Samantha for just one day –
what a different world we would have.
twinkletwinkle! twitch! twitch!
make it so.

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lillian
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:21:00

    Oh how I remember that show! And I also remember trying so many times to make my nose move like that 🙂
    Wonderful wishes here my friend….I especially like the disappearance of politicians and the idea of us all, no matter our age or creaky knees, being tree climbers again! 🙂 Wonderful!

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:22:00

    I would love to sit in a tree sometimes too.. and a garden would be nice… maybe being a witch would make it switch,

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:23:26

      You can still sit in trees! I sit in a tree weekly. And a garden, even a small one is easy to achieve. Even up in the cool north where you live. All you have to do is….twitch!

      Reply

  3. whimsygizmo
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:31:55

    Oh, yes, please. Can I come?
    There’s such a whimsical quality to this piece, Toni. I just love it.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:35:36

      Of course you may come. I originally wrote as haibun but added the page breaks to it. I like it better this way I think. Everyone is always welcome to join me in my tree and practice nose twitching at any time.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  4. Marilyn Cavicchia
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:45:31

    I like the pairing of the pop culture reference that’s very much of its time and the timelessness of your wishes.

    Reply

  5. Glenn Buttkus
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:52:40

    “Make it so” said Captain Picard, & also “Engage!”–in the later series for Star Trek, these lines were touchstones. Wow, this poem really put a smile on my face, for it communicates to us directly though your inner child, that wondrous imp we all covet.

    Reply

  6. kim881
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 15:58:24

    I used to be able to do that nose twitch – but nothing happened! Brilliant!

    Reply

  7. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 16:25:16

    Oh you have brought back so many wonderful memories with this poem 😀 Lovely work done ❤

    Reply

  8. Mish
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 16:33:45

    Bravo and here, here, Samantha!! Your wishes had NO boundaries. That is exactly what I was hoping for from this prompt. Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Victoria C. Slotto
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 17:07:21

    I’ve often shared that wish, Toni. And, oh please, disappear me those politicos.

    Reply

  10. Joon
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 18:25:32

    “we’d all be tree climbers and water worshipers
    flower growers and sharers of vegetables”

    Oh man, I love that.

    Reply

  11. ladyleemanila
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 00:47:24

    I wish I could twitch my nose, too like Samantha 🙂

    Reply

  12. Sumana Roy
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 02:51:03

    yeah…now longing for a Samantha Day just to make some pol. morons drown into liquid fire….

    Reply

  13. rythaephua
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 06:44:40

    woo…………I love this piece.

    Reply

  14. georgeplace2013
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 08:22:18

    Make it so! I do love me some Picard

    Reply

  15. Brian
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 10:34:27

    The power of Hollywood used for good. Lovely wish.

    Reply

  16. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 13:59:33

    Thoughtful as always, with a little humor. Thanks Toni!

    Reply

  17. Linda Kruschke
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 19:41:31

    “politicians would disappear” — now that’s a wish I think we could all get behind as of late. I suppose the best we can do, since we can’t twitch our noses, is to feed the hungry and care for the animals in our own little sphere and hope that others will be encouraged to do the same.

    Reply

  18. Laura Bloomsbury
    Sep 08, 2016 @ 05:01:05

    positively charming wish for the world Samantha 😉

    Reply

  19. Susan Anderson
    Sep 08, 2016 @ 11:31:11

    One of my favorites today because I love your ideas…both in wishing and in using Samantha. It was so nostalgic for me!

    Reply

  20. mother wintermoon
    Sep 08, 2016 @ 13:57:58

    Wonderful! Wish you could make it all come true with one little twitch. Hopefully, Endora would stay out of it.

    Reply

  21. freyathewriter
    Sep 10, 2016 @ 10:19:17

    The most attractive part to my cynical self of your rebirth of Samantha is the politicians disappearing… the rest is simply wonderful. Make it so!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

