Haibun Monday – Change

Today I am hosting Haibun Monday over at dVerse Poets Pub. I will be taking a hiatus due to family reasons until end of November. You all take care! I’ll seen you all again then.

Autumn Comes Slowly
Today is the first day we’ve had any rain since the first of July.  This past August went down in the record books as the third driest August since 1918.  It is still short sleeve shirt and shorts weather in spite of the Autumnal Equinox being September 22.  The rain began as a torrential downpour but now is a blissful steady rain, soft and susurrating in sound.  It is quiet.  No sounds of children, dogs, or birds as is usual during a sunny day.  It is still summer in spirit.  Some leaves have fallen but only because of the dry summer, not because of cool weather or frost.  Local apples will not be on sale until mid-October and later growing vegetables will begin to make their way to market – hard squashes, pumpkins, turnips, various greens including the ubiquitous kale.  I personally prefer turnip and collard greens myself.  Field peas are currently selling – lady, pink eye purple hull, brown crowder, blackeyed peas in abundance.  Gone are the fresh green beans, butterbeans, and corn.  Some small late tomatoes are in evidence still for sale and will be until mid-October.  The calendar says fall is on the way.  But the weather and produce disagree.  It is late summer.  It will stay late summer until the Hunter’s Moon in October.  Changes in time between summer and autumn come slowly in the South.  Suddenly one day we will awaken to the first frost and then within a week, all the leaves will turn color.  And in a very few short weeks, it will be winter.  Autumn is a fleeting season in the south.  But it is dearly loved and welcomed.
 
autumn comes slowly – 
the crepe myrtle in the front
still blooms gay and pink

public domain photo field peas

public domain photo field peas

 

 

 

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 15:14:57

    I do love the abundance of warmth in the south, the harvests and the summer clinging on… you really worded it well, and at this time I want to leave for the south… here darkness is too heave to bear sometimes.

    Reply

  2. freyathewriter
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 15:30:12

    Beautifully crafted, Toni. I’m an autumn fan too. The season of mists and mellow fruitfulness…
    Thank you for hosting tonight!

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 16:06:08

    This is also my favorite time of the year with the changing colors but very cool weather. But I dread the end of the autumn season as winter here is very long. Take care Toni and see you soon!

    Reply

    • sarahsouthwest
      Sep 19, 2016 @ 16:35:49

      Grace – I really wanted to comment on your haibun, it was so lovely. But google doesn’t like me, and when i tried to comment it seemed to think I was a boy who used to babysit for us a couple of years ago. I think he had our password because he was studying for exams at the time – looks like he was wasting time as well! I’m not tech savvy enough to sort it our and our IT guru has gone to bed because he has school tomorrow…

      Reply

  4. sarahsouthwest
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 16:25:10

    Oh lovely – these days when it’s hard to tell if we’re in summer or fall. Thank you for hosting again – I will miss your prompts over the next few weeks. I do hope all goes well for you in whatever you are doing.

    Reply

  5. Bodhirose
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 16:30:14

    What a lovely cornucopia of what summer brings to us in abundance, Toni. We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful choices of things to eat! Autumn is very, very short here…probably equal to our spring. Ah well, that’s weather in the South. Take care my friend…I’ll be thinking of you. xo

    Reply

  6. Sanaa Rizvi
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 16:38:05

    Oh this is an absolutely gorgeous haibun Toni 😀 I too am a great fan and just adore the season of Autumn.. as I feel it teaches us a great deal about change.

    Enjoy your time off 💖 and know that you ll be missed! 💖

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  7. little learner
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 17:03:50

    A beautiful and rich work! It always fascinates me (here in the Southern Hemisphere) that just as our days grow longer and warmer, yours grow shorter and colder. Complimentary change. 🙂 May your Autumn be long and your harvest plentiful.

    Reply

  8. Misky
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 17:16:40

    This is wonderful. Here in the UK, I’m fighting the urge to fire up the heating. For now, I’ll just wear another layer.

    Reply

  9. Victoria C. Slotto
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 17:31:05

    Lovely. We still have 90 degree weather in the day, but it drops significantly at night–has been in the high 30’s. And our crepe myrtle is in full bloom.

    Reply

  10. Brian
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 17:39:43

    I love your description of the bountiful harvest. I too have crepe myrtle and hibiscus in riotous bloom. It will be months until the weather turns chilly enough to be called Autumn.

    Reply

  11. Bryan Ens
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 18:23:37

    we are well into autumn here. A week ago, the trees were mostly green…now there is very little green left, but the colours are magnificent! Frost is coming quite frequently at night now, but the days are mostly still quite nice. I’m not a big fan of that white stuff…but it is inevitable that it will be here far too soon (quite likely before the end of your “late summer”. I hope that your hiatus is do to “good” family reasons, and not times of trial and challenge, but I suppose even that is part of change. Look forward to seeing you again in November.

    Reply

  12. purplepeninportland
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 23:40:44

    Lovely, descriptive haibun, Toni. I love autumn for all its riches of color and scent.
    Thanks for posting here. I hope all goes well, and I look forward to seeing you here soon.

    Reply

  13. Mish
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 00:21:52

    I loved the colourful array of vegetables you gave us in this haibun. Produce makes me happy! 🙂 Summer has stretched itself here in southwestern Ontario and I am grateful for every warm day, but this means Autumn will fly by like the wind.
    Sending you positive energy. We will look forward to your return, Toni.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:45:36

      Produce makes me happy as well! I love produce stands and farmers markets the way other women love shoe stores. Thank you for your kind wishes and energy sending.

      Reply

  14. Trackback: Seasons’ Winds – A Reading Writer
  15. kim881
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 03:34:18

    We already have a nip in the air here in North Norfolk and last night, on the way home from choir, the moon was huge and orange. The squirrels are foraging in our garden – a sure sign of autumn. I love the way you display the abundance of seasonal produce in your prose – it reminds me of the way everyone lived, when harvest festival was an occasion. eating seasonal fruit and vegetables, organising their meals accordingly, rather than shopping for whatever they want when they want at a supermarket. And then the haiku zoomed in on the crepe myrtle – delightful.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:44:36

      Down South, we still live seasonally, in spite of food trends. I’ve been doing a lot of canning this summer getting ready for winter. we still do our own canning as well! The crepe myrtle will stay pink until the first hard frost, sometime in October.

      Reply

  16. rosemawrites
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 03:39:22

    Thank you for sharing with us the beautiful colors of the grows in your place, Toni. I so love these lines: “Autumn is a fleeting season in the south. But it is dearly loved and welcomed.”

    They are so straight-forward yet so beautiful. ❤

    Reply

  17. lillian
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 07:11:08

    Beautifully written, Toni. As I read and write, I celebrate the coming of autumn and remember 42 years ago today, being in a labor of love and wondering what new life would appear. Our daughter was born on this fall morn — and abundance of love that season. And I have always loved the fall.
    You have a wonderful ability of “listing” without having the reader “feel” they are in the midst of a list.
    I shall miss you my friend.
    PS: I am partial to beet green 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:42:35

      Happy birthday to your daughter! What a lovely memory to be evoked from my haibun. I love list poetry and have worked hard at it so it does not seem listy. I shall miss you as well my friend. Beet greens are spring greens here. I made a roasted red and yellow beet salad with fried goat cheese circles earlier in the summer with a lovely vinaigrette. superb!

      Reply

  18. ladynyo
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 10:41:14

    Good God! You could have been writing about Atlanta~ Same situation….the heat drones on and only ONE rainfall Sunday..after weeks of dry. You pulled me right in Toni, with field peas! LOL! I love them, but have only had canned ones. With snaps. The south has such bounty, and I need to remember that these long growing seasons, though they go on forever, and fall is such a short snap of time..well, there is a purpose in all of this. The tomatoes just bombed this summer…planted small plants from a neighbor….they were ‘weird’ Italian varieties and the peppers turned out to be dangerous hot things. LOL! Will start again this week with collards, cabbage and turnips. YOu make my mouth water. The haiku was lovely at the end. I have to share my collards with my 9 chickens….but they are worth the effort. A lovely summing of summer and our bountiful crops down here. We are blessed. I hope you come back to your friends here soon. Hugs, Jane

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:40:14

      I think, except for the past few weeks down in Louisiana, it has been a long, hot, ad dry summer for all of us down south. the summer seems to go on forever.

      Reply

  19. ladynyo
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 10:43:01

    Commented but don’t see it. Wonderful summation of the Summer’s Bounty. And much more. Hugs.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:39:23

      Your comment showed up on my page. Yes, field peas. I love them. A friend grows several varieties and I spend many days shelling them out and then canning them for winter use.

      Reply

  20. whimsygizmo
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 10:46:02

    This post made me hungry for earth’s bounty. Beautiful.

    Reply

  21. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 11:27:57

    Late summer seems to linger on. Autumn will be felt but just for a while It will be dearly missed

    Hank

    Reply

  22. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 12:50:48

    My favorite season in all its aspects, Toni! Well written.

    Reply

  23. Susan Anderson
    Sep 24, 2016 @ 13:56:52

    You remind me with I so look forward to fall. Well done.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

