dVerse Poetics: Come fly with me

Today Victoria is our guest prompter at d’Pub.  She is asking us to write of feathers.  What a wonderful thought!  Come visit us for this intriguing prompt.  Post your own poem and/or just simply read and enjoy.  It has been a long dry summer.  the other while walking, the trees were filled with cawing from crows.  My haiku is based upon this.  Native Americans believe the crow feather restores balance and release from old beliefs.  Come Fly with Me–dVerse Poetics

cawing fills the trees
black feather drifts down – gift from
the crows – rain begins

 

royalty free image

royalty free image

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:20:51

    I love learning about American Indian understandings of the messages of nature. I’ve written a second prompt based on that that I will share later. Crow as the harbinger of much needed rain. Wonderful.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:36:50

      Thank you Victoria. I had fed this group of crows and provided water for them and other birds throughout the summer. I felt they felt it was time to repay me.

      Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:21:20

    I do love the thought of crows intervening with that gift of feathers and rain.

    Reply

  3. ladynyo
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:27:33

    Oh….this haiku lifts the soul. One of my encounters with my young son years ago, was to a nature center…where a crow was caged….outside at the end of a row of owls, small hawks, etc. The owls pretended to sleep, the hawks turned their royal backs on us, but the crow! He played with us, as we fed him pieces of grass and a little bread. I swear, that crow was more intelligent than my son and certainly me. We thought seriously of letting him go, but thought better of it. If he was injured or couldn’t fly away, he would die. We brought him pebbles, stones, twigs, leaves and each one he received with pleasure. At least that is what it looked like to us. I think now, he just was glad for the company.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:35:53

      He probably was glad of the company! But also, crows are grateful birds and enjoy gifts of all kinds. If you hang around them long enough, they will repay you. My crows in the trees certainly repaid my feeding them throughout the summer and providing water for them!

      Reply

  4. frankhubeny
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:36:54

    I liked the idea of a dropped feather as a gift.

    Reply

  5. Glenn Buttkus
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:48:01

    So much implied & included with one haiku; more continuing excellent work on your part. Crows do fascinate me. I remember at the beach, where crows bully the gulls, on of them “spoke” to me–freaked me out. I looked it up & found that crows are in the Mina Bird family.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:52:32

      Yes they are! Truly fascinating birds. I love them dearly, mischievous messengers that they are. A crow has joined Peat and Repeat and comes when I whistle the first six notes of the Xfiles theme and has even begun to learn it from Peat and Repeat. So now I have the three musketeers: Peat (mocking bird) Repeat (brown thrasher) and Aramis (crow). I look forward to watching this bachelor friendship progress.

      Reply

  6. freyathewriter
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 15:53:17

    A feather as a gift – what a lovely thought.

    Reply

  7. taylor
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 16:16:10

    Raining feathers … gorgeous.

    Reply

  8. kim881
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 16:50:46

    I’m so glad I didn’t post a poem about crows – your haiku is perfect, Toni!

    Reply

  9. ZQ
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 17:17:15

    Perfect!

    Reply

  10. whimsygizmo
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 18:29:11

    I can now see that feather fall-fluttering down, creating a raindance all its own…

    Reply

  11. Linda Kruschke
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 18:58:13

    Wonderful! My son loves crows. He works at a Subway and he told me the other day that there is one that’s kind of become his pet (or so he’d like to think). He feeds it bread scraps out by the garbage bin. I wonder if it’s ever returned the favor with a gift of a feather?

    Reply

  12. thotpurge
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 20:05:11

    rain begins… like that…seems like the balance is indeed restored.

    Reply

  13. Bodhirose
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 23:57:38

    This reminded me of a story that I read recently, maybe on FB about this young girl in Seattle who started feeding crows and what they gifted her in return is amazing. I’ve included the link here because I think you’ll love the story, Toni. Maybe you were the one who shared it on FB! Crows are incredibly intelligent beings…I love your touching haiku.
    http://knkx.org/post/seattle-girl-feeds-crows-receives-gifts-return

    Reply

  14. rosemawrites
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 05:54:34

    Thank you for introducing us to a Native American belief, Toni. Your haiku is on-point. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Prajakta
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 06:53:23

    Oh what a perfect way to express the coming of the season. Beautiful haiku 🙂 Native beliefs are always linked to an aspect of nature, aren’t they?

    Reply

  16. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 08:39:50

    Crisp and beautifully rendered, Toni. Never knew that about the crow feather. Balance is a good thing!

    Reply

  17. Brian
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 09:18:22

    If only the climate was that easy to control.

    Reply

  18. Sanaa Rizvi
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 13:38:16

    This is absolutely profound! Love the idea of a dropped feather as a gift 💖

    Reply

  19. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 14:58:04

    Very thought-provoking and fitting for the season.

    Reply

  20. lillian
    Sep 22, 2016 @ 07:03:54

    so few words….such a gift with simplicity and beauty you have….

    Reply

  21. Bryan Ens
    Sep 22, 2016 @ 08:30:26

    Love the idea of crows bestowing gifts.

    Reply

  22. mother wintermoon
    Sep 22, 2016 @ 16:31:27

    Wonderful, Toni! Really moving and meaningful. x

    Reply

  23. Kay
    Sep 26, 2016 @ 10:55:15

    Lovely haiku. I love the idea that a feather is a gift, bringer of rain.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

