Haibun Monday: Butter Yellow Morning

I couldn’t resist this prompt from Grace.  I am still on hiatus and doing fairly well.  thank you!http://dversepoets.com/2016/10/03/haibun-monday-22-extraordinary-days/

Butter Yellow Morning
It is early in the day and I have just awakened. My husband left for work an hour ago. I lazily stretch and get out of bed and wander into the kitchen. I fill the coffee maker and switch it on. Soon my house is filled with the lovely smell of fresh coffee. I pour myself a large mug and add the dollop of cream. I then go outside and sit on my back steps, sipping and listening to the sound of the morning getting its start. The mockingbird and brown thrasher are up on the wire trilling the first six notes of the X-Files theme, over and over. The birds that will winter over are busy twitting and rooting through the bird feeders. My Swedish neighbors from next door pass by on the lane for their morning walk and wave but do not speak. They know this is my special time of day and do not intrude. My neighbor across the lane puts her two daughters on the school bus. She waves and heads back into her house. From the farm at the end of the lane, the sound of a rooster cock-a-doodle-doing and the soft lowing of cows add to the morning sounds. I sip my coffee. For right now, all is well, all is at peace.

autumn finally comes –
the morning is cool in the
butter yellow sun

 

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynyo
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 20:48:43

    Ah! Beautiful. Such an idyllic setting. the haibun gives such rest to the mind, to the soul. You taught those birds to whistle the X-Files, right? LOL! A thoroughly entrancing haibun. The haiku was perfect…that butter yellow sun.

    Reply

  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 20:49:30

    Lovely! And I’m happy to read your doing well. ❤

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 20:57:43

    I love the peek at your morning ritual – smell of coffee, watching and listening to the birds, seeing the neighbors go about your day ~ I feel the warmth of that butter yellow sun in a cool autumn morning ~ Good to read that you are well Toni ~ Take care ~

    Reply

  4. Brian
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 21:26:16

    A very peaceful scene you paint of tranquility fueled by caffeine and birdsong.

    Reply

  5. Bodhirose
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 21:44:35

    Coffee does smell good permeating the house and I so enjoyed peeking over your shoulder as you went about your morning routine…so peaceful and relaxing.

    Reply

  6. Miss Stacy
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 22:21:25

    the butter yellow sun!
    i absolutely adore that.

    Reply

  7. Michael
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 22:21:27

    Delightful Toni, you took me to those steps and your neighbourhood..

    Reply

  8. whimsygizmo
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 22:34:24

    A delicious morning, indeed!
    I love that X-files theme moment. So much. 😉

    Reply

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 00:43:01

    I love how you have included all the senses in this wonderful and peaceful haibun.

    Reply

  10. paulscribbles
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 06:19:41

    There is a real sense of history in the prose. Of this ritual having been performed over many a moon. It gives the writing a lightness. Very lovely.

    Reply

  11. Sanaa Rizvi
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 06:50:58

    Oh such a beautiful and idyllic setting 🙂 the haibun in itself lends an air of peace and gratitude ❤ sigh.. beautifully done.

    Reply

  12. petrujviljoen
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 09:00:49

    I have a new neighbour who crassly interrupted that early morning time I treasure as well. He had to bear the brunt of my wrath I can tell you. I even taught my cat to leave me alone until I feel I’m up to the world.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2016 @ 22:09:33

      Such a shame that such tranquility would engender such wrath. I just am quiet and sooner or later, people get the message. I certainly won’t mess with you in the morning!

      Reply

  13. whippetwisdom
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 11:02:20

    I love this gentle easing into the day and the wordless understanding of neighbours who can understand the sacredness of morning rituals. The butter yellow sun in your haiku is beautiful.

    Reply

  14. jellybean disco
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 11:44:03

    I love that “butter yellow sun” and this: “The mockingbird and brown thrasher are up on the wire trilling the first six notes of the X-Files theme, over and over.”

    Reply

  15. Glenn Buttkus
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 13:00:34

    The tranquility of your morning contrasts vividly with the struggle of mine. I smile & covet the white lightness of your moments, & will carry them through mine.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2016 @ 14:45:44

      I work at tranquility, making a habit of it. Sounds odd but it’s true. It is a habit of years, even when I was working. I try to keep a spirit of light rather than a spirit of cynicism and lack of faith and of peace. I am grateful my husband is able to work a few hours a week. It gives him purpose and gives us health insurance! I begin medicare in Nov but it is good to get my entire SS remittance instead of having to pay for B. So much to be grateful for and to be serene about. I will soon have my mother with me to take care of, along with my husband, at times. So I will need all of these mornings I can get! Blessings to you Glenn.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  16. Misky
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 14:11:46

    It sounds very peaceful.

    Reply

  17. MarinaSofia
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 15:23:10

    Such a calming and content haibun. Hope you get many more of these peaceful mornings!

    Reply

  18. Mish
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 15:57:06

    I like the aesthetics of this, the sounds and sights and your appreciation for it all. A beautiful and tranquil start to the day. Wishing you many butter yellow mornings, Toni. 🙂

    Reply

  19. ZQ
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 19:08:55

    Silence and appreciation. ❤

    Reply

  20. Laura Bloomsbury
    Oct 05, 2016 @ 05:45:53

    a restful peace and lovely piece of butter yellow morning – a wonderful way to restoration

    Reply

  21. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Oct 05, 2016 @ 07:02:35

    How nice to enjoy coffee on a peaceful morning knowing fully well wonderful neighbors approve of seeing one’s leisure!

    Hank

    Reply

  22. Arcadia Maria
    Oct 05, 2016 @ 19:46:27

    Sounds very nice.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

