d’verse Poetics: MTB: Bob Dylan

Today, Bjorn is celebrating the winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature:  Bob Dylan.  It seems the folks at the academy got over their tightassery and actually chose somebody that almost everyone knows and isn’t some obscure foreigner – an American Bard.  Congrats to Bob Dylan! http://dversepoets.com/2016/10/13/meeting-the-bar-bob-dylan/

Bob Dylan: Poet
I met him several times years ago.
He was fuzzy haired and serious
and pretentious.
But the man can write.
I’ll give him that.
So like a rolling stone
and the Byrds’ favorite Tamborine Man,
He does write songs and lyrics that stays with one.
How long?
The answer my friend,
is blowing in the wind.

***lines in italics are direct quotes from various poems and titles of Bob Dylan’s songs.

 

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 15:42:21

    Yes I can understand that he’s pretentious.. so cool that you have met him… but what about Mr Hendrix cover?

    Reply

  2. kanzensakura
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 15:44:21

    I never met him! I was at Woodstock and got close to him but that is it. Wish I had met him instead of Dylan. And Jimi gave balls and flair to that song that Dylan didn’t give it, even in his writing it.

    Reply

  3. kim881
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 15:55:24

    I like your personal response, Toni. I have to admit I was never keen on his voice but I did fall in love with some of his lyrics.

    Reply

  4. lupitatucker
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 16:12:24

    Tightassery. New word for the day 🙂

    Reply

  5. Bodhirose
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 17:11:04

    Yeah, I like that word “tightassery” too! I can feel in this that you didn’t really like the man but he also deserves the credit that you did give him.

    Reply

  6. ihatepoetry
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 17:11:13

    Very entertaining and that is a compliment.

    Reply

  7. Sanaa Rizvi
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 17:24:17

    I love this personal response ❤ its like a breath of fresh air 😀

    Reply

  8. navasolanature
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 17:55:53

    I think his words are really rich when he wrote as a young man and he can inspire. But I saw him play in London in his later years and can identify with your poem and views on him. Am not sure he kept on being the poetic genius.

    Reply

  9. Grace
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 18:32:52

    I thought you actually met him, smiles ~ I also like his song lyrics are they are easy to sing to and I can relate ~ Enjoyed your share Toni ~ Hope you are well ~

    Reply

  10. ladynyo
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 18:39:24

    I like very much your memories of Dylan. He sang like a bull frog…one with a sore throat and a fly in his mouth…but we tormented our parents for years on his dime. LOL! It was our revenge against Beethoven and Brahms. I never talked to him, (but did have a folk band in Princeton off of our one time staring at his ass).

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 13, 2016 @ 20:42:30

      I actually nevrr rebelled against the “claasical” writers loving all music. Although I came close with Hendrix!..dylan was just too pretentious and angst driven for me to enjoy and not becomd jaded against, never worshipped him as so many male poets did and still do.

      Reply

  11. Victoria C. Slotto
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 20:50:45

    Oh, I have to add tightassery to my lexicon–beautiful. Not sure, but it seems like pretentiousness my go hand-in-hand with such great successful talent.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 13, 2016 @ 20:55:50

      Unfortunately, these male poets do seem to have pretentiousness in spades. Maybe to attract the ladies, maybe to blow up their chests with mushmouthery…maybe to let the world know how wonderful they think they are, how verbiose and grandiose they are. I just know they annoy me.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  12. Sherry Marr
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 22:32:14

    Amazing to have met Him! His songs were part of the soundtrack of my youth.

    Reply

  13. Bryan Ens
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 08:37:19

    Great use of his song lyrics in your piece. I just wish the dude actually sang!

    Reply

  14. Brian
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 08:52:57

    I think it was his aloofness that let him write the way he did/does. All great artists have that genetic component of lowering themselves to the masses and feeling tarnished by the experience. I never could get into his voice.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 14, 2016 @ 09:36:46

      There is a difference between aloofness and being pretentiousness. And yes, the man did both. I never got into his style of singing myself. But he did pen some incredible lyrics.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  15. lillian
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 12:27:29

    Clever ode to Dylan, especially bringing in the others – and the ending is spot on!

    Reply

  16. Laura Bloomsbury
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 12:58:37

    wish I’d been at Woodstock for Country Jo and the Fish, Grateful Dead etc
    Dylan never could do live too well but he can play and write – for how long now though?!

    Reply

  17. paulscribbles
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 16:34:44

    A very interesting and surprising take. I did not expect to hear a ‘ I met Bob’ thing. I was never a big fan either. Just something about him I could not put my finger on. Pretty much all my fave Dylan songs are by some other artist. Gotta check out your Woodstock Haibun tho.

    Reply

  18. mother wintermoon
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 20:01:07

    Excellent weaving of his most memorable lyrics into your awesome poem. Great work and a very interesting and enjoyable read. x

    Reply

  19. Glenn Buttkus
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 21:44:22

    Dug him in he 60’s, but even though he was a pretentious punk, I would have preferred spending time with him over say, Mick Jagger or Jim Morrison . Glad to hear you dig L. Cohen, a poet, who also can’t sing, but writes fab poetic lyrics, sounding like Tom Waits when he sings.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 14, 2016 @ 21:54:09

      Yes! That’s who he siunds like…Dylan, Morrison…both of them woman hungry, pretentious punks…both of them knew they were hot…yeah, right. Tom Waits…love Tom Waits…

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  20. purplepeninportland
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 23:05:37

    Good one, Toni. I am in awe of you meeting him, pretentious or not!

    Reply

  21. Miss Stacy
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 00:05:41

    was he really pretentious? that’s too bad, i always thought him a down to earth hippie type.

    this is really witty. love that ending.

    Reply

  22. ZQ
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 20:43:21

    Who HE is ?? How HE manages his life, religion, size hat? We are talking poetry in songs with a genuine voice, as good as yours and mine, but perhaps more gifted then mine… that has resonated with a whole generation. Bravo Bob Dylan 🙂 …that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it 🙂

    Reply

  23. sree
    Oct 16, 2016 @ 07:03:18

    Interesting!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

