Haibun Monday: Free For All – Gold Day

Today, I am hosting dVerse Poets Pub, Haibun Monday: Free for All. this means the person can write a haibun on any subject they choose as long as it is nonfiction and actually happened to them and is one to two paragraphs with a nature based classic haiku at the end.  The title, Gold Day, refers to how the Japanese name their week days – Gold Day is Friday.  This day is equated with the direction west, autumn, dusk, the metal gold, and the planet Venus.  Come join us for an interesting Japanese Poetic Form.

金曜日 Gold Day

The afternoon he left was a golden roux of fading autumn sunlight, spicy oak leaves – bright yellow, still holding on to the tree, not yet ready to fall, and bitter salt tears – like the oak leaves – refusing to fall, refusing to join the earlier faded maple leaves on the lawn. Under the trees, quiet and still, I allow the knowledge of his leaving to permeate my being. I am still breathing. My heart is still beating. The sky is still ethereal blue with purest white autumn clouds wafting their way to the end of the horizon. Starlings lift from the telephone wires to follow the clouds. I realize, I will continue on my way – leaves will change color and fall, snow will cover the sepia winter landscape, cherry blossoms will bud, bloom, and fade, trees will leaf in explosions of green, leaves will change color and fall. Seasons and things will pass. Inside, my soul says “Oh!”  I sit as the gold day ends.

early leaf burning –  
its incense drifts to heaven
autumn’s voice whispers.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mish
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 01:09:55

    A stellar first line hooked me in from the start, but I also love “Starlings lift from the telephone wires to follow the clouds.” This is so good and reminds me why I still have much to learn of the art of haibun. One of my favourites of yours…ever!

    Reply

  2. Sanaa Rizvi
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 07:43:27

    My goodness..❤️ I am practically swooning here .. such gorgeous images!❤️

    Reply

  3. frankhubeny
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 08:46:34

    Nice view of nature with the thought of someone having left on one’s mind.

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 15:52:19

    To me this so well describe how life always continues… we might think it has come to an end, but even a parting means that the sun will rise the next day… love how you have used the nature both to describe the end and the continuing story. Stellar.

    Reply

  5. paulscribbles
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 19:13:58

    Oh this is stunning. Such an eloquent description of change and such an exquisite Haiku to end with.

    Reply

  6. Misky
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 16:45:04

    Gorgeously descriptive. Stunning.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

