Haibun Monday: Free for All

Today I am repeating an early submission for one of our first Haibun Mondays. I wrote this about 25 years ago. Come join us today: https://dversepoets.com/2016/11/28/haibun-monday-free-for-all/ I am doing the prompt which is Free For All. This means a person can write about a one to two paragraph Haibun on any subject they choose as long as it is non-fiction and happened to them. Gold day is Friday – kinyobi in Japanese.

Gold Day
The afternoon he left was a golden roux of fading autumn sunlight, spicy oak leaves – bright yellow, still holding on to the tree, not yet ready to fall, and bitter salt tears – like the oak leaves – refusing to fall, refusing to join the earlier faded maple leaves on the lawn. Under the trees, quiet and still, I allow the knowledge of his leaving to permeate my being. I am still breathing. My heart is still beating. The sky is still ethereal blue with purest white autumn clouds wafting their way to the end of the horizon. Starlings lift from the telephone wires to follow the clouds. I realize, I will continue on my way – leaves will change color and fall, snow will cover the sepia winter landscape, cherry blossoms will bud, bloom, and fade, trees will leaf in explosions of green, leaves will change color and fall. Seasons and things will pass. Inside, my soul says “Oh!”  I sit as the gold day ends.
early leaf burning –
its incense drifts to heaven
autumn’s voice whispers

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 17:56:36

    This really got me in a deep place. Your descriptions are so striking and set the scene for the sadness of such profound loss. If I commented on this already, I apologize, but today I’m in that place where loss is finally creeping in, that letting go at a profound level. As you well know, dementia is that slow seeping away, but in time, memories of what/who was come sneaking in and it hits you for the first time. The same with lost love–we still hold on to the good times and that can hurt.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 30, 2016 @ 19:06:26

      Indeed we can. I have days where I cry off and on all day, grieving my mother. I put off posting a ha ibun because I so profoundly wanted to write about my mother’s dementia but I just couldn’t do it. So I reposted this as a substitute for today’s pain. I am so very sorry for your loss, all of it.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

