dVerse Poets Pub – Open Link #185

Grace is hosting our Open Link Night, #185!!!!   Here is my submission for that.  Enjoy.  and please visit us at dVerse Poets Pub to read and/or submit your own poem.  https://dversepoets.com/2016/12/01/openlinknight-185/

between the cold of
late autumn and the warmth of
early winter = leaves
cling to the branches – a crow
caws and no bird answers

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynyo
    Dec 02, 2016 @ 17:43:10

    You know I love this tanka….my two favorite themes….winter and birds. Lovely.

    Reply

  2. Victoria C. Slotto
    Dec 02, 2016 @ 18:02:32

    Stark snapshot of the reality of this time of the year. After the influx of birds I wrote about in the haibun, they are rare–jays and robins. And one fat quail. One thing I love about the desert. So many birds.

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Dec 02, 2016 @ 18:56:30

    We are in the cusp of the new season ~ Love your tanka Toni ~

    Reply

  4. Bodhirose
    Dec 02, 2016 @ 23:57:19

    Interesting how you put the “cold of late autumn and the warmth of early winter.” I had to think about that a moment. Lovely, Toni!

    Reply

  5. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 03:52:46

    cold of late autumn and
    the warmth of early winter

    That transition period tends to be lacking in activity when nearing the drab of the cold months ahead!

    Hank

    Reply

  6. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 08:06:02

    The crow without an answer… so apt for winter, love the tanka, and I feel that winter has talons.

    Reply

  7. Sanaa Rizvi
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 08:48:48

    A gorgeously rich tanka depicting the mood of winter ❤️ Beautifully done.

    Reply

  8. Sabio Lantz
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 09:49:57

    Like dew falling, cold autumn and warm winter threw me — Bodhirose gets it, though. I love that no birds answer the caw — so true, so often. Why is that?

    Reply

  9. Oloriel
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 11:01:08

    I love the image of the crow cawing with no answer, it makes me feel like imagining the crow taking the territory, its song being the soundtrack for coming months with no rival.

    Reply

  10. Mish
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 13:43:40

    We really are on the brink of winter in my neck of the woods…a little sweet spot, the calm before the storm. Your poem conveys this feeling very well.

    Reply

  11. Bryan Ens
    Dec 04, 2016 @ 23:20:24

    There’s a sense of loneliness to this with the crow’s unanswered caw.

    Reply

  12. whippetwisdom
    Dec 05, 2016 @ 07:02:43

    A beautiful tanka Toni and I can hear the echo of the crow’s unanswered call in the leaves.

    Reply

  13. ladynyo
    Dec 05, 2016 @ 15:48:31

    I came back and read this again today, Toni. It stuck to my gut and I am glad it did. Says a lot about the transition between seasons.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

