Haibun Monday: And to all a good night

I am hosting the prompt for Haibun Monday at dVerse Poets Pub, my last post for the year. I was struck by the last lines in Moore’s A Visit From Saint Nicholas: He sprang to his sleigh, to his team gave a whistle,
And away they all flew like the down of a thistle. But I heard him exclaim, ‘ere he drove out of sight, “Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good-night!” So I am having people write of one good night they remember. Any good night! Come visit us to read about all the good nights!

Fire From Heaven
It happened 35 years ago. A friend and I had gone to the desert to watch the Geminid Meteor showers. The desert actually was all the way across the United States in the Mojave but hey, we were younger and much more foolish. I was reminded of that wonderful glorious night while watching the Big Bang Theory and seeing the crew head to the desert to watch meteor showers and by the way, unknowingly getting high off some really good cookies given to them by some teachers in their sixties. Odd how life imitates art and art imitates life. This friend and I had, gotten high as kites from marijuana and sat back to watch the show. Other people had the same idea to watch the meteor showers and you could see camp fires and lit tents all about. My friend and I talked softly and continued to watch the skies and sometimes, light up.

Suddenly, we spotted the first meteor! I cannot describe to you the wonderful raining down of fire from the heavens for about an hour. Quickly they fell. I explained to my friend that many of the meteors were no larger than a grain of sand. Whoa…he said, dude. And we collapsed into giggles. But the fires in the sky that night were totally incredible. I was reminded of this night a few nights ago when I camped out in my back yard to again watch the Geminids. I sat until the sun rose. I was all snuggled in the quilt my grandmother gave me. I watched the last flicker and whispered, Dude…

fire in the sky lights
my way to heaven – a night
of rare freedom

public domain photo

public domain photo

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynyo
    Dec 11, 2016 @ 16:03:06

    Beautiful, Toni. The nighttime is full of mystery, especially sitting under the Cosmos. Well, I guess we are always under the Cosmos. I remember those days,…marijuana and booze, and everything seemed possible and new…and we thought we could unravel the mysteries of Life! Lovely haibun, Toni, with a flashback to a simpler time. A memorable time. Indeed, a night of rare freedom.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 12, 2016 @ 09:46:11

      Yes it was a simpler time. Now my nights seem to be taken up with death watch. Much harder. But way back in those days, it was simpler and happier. It all seemed to start with the summer of love in 1968, the drugs, booze, free love, free wheeling travel. And 35 years ago, 1981….sigh.

      Reply

      • ladynyo
        Dec 12, 2016 @ 14:54:30

        I sorta miss those days….todays seem so much heavier. I am so sorry for your present situation. The love you exchange between your mother and you….I wish it was so for me. Mine is 96 and I am glad that my brother is with her. She’s not a bit senile, either….but vicious. I would be afraid for many reasons to be around her. He can control her, I can’t. Blessings to you, dear woman. And your family.

        Reply

      • ladynyo
        Dec 12, 2016 @ 14:55:47

        My blessing to you and your family. Heartbreaking life can and is.

        Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 14:03:29

    I see and hear you all out in the desert. I’ve never seen meteor showers of any kind but I get a good gist from reading your post, Kanzen. Sigh. Those were simpler times. My good times were in the decade before.

    “in the sky lights
    my way to heaven – a night
    of rare freedom”

    Takes my breath away. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 14:59:01

    Wow that must have been a spectacular sight ~ I have not a meteor shower much more in the desert. A magical show to always remember Toni ~

    Reply

  4. Victoria C. Slotto
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 15:16:54

    One of the things I love most about the desert is the ability to see the heavens so much more clearly. Soon I will be crossing the Mojave, as I do frequently, and you can be sure I will be thinking of you, dude-ette.

    Reply

  5. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 16:05:02

    Oh I think I have heard that wonderful night of gazing at a meteor shower before… I do remember how stars look in the desert and I’m a amazed at your experience… and then of course I love how you connect it to a daze of weed… magical.

    Reply

  6. paulscribbles
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 16:07:20

    Sensational…I approve highly of the consciousness altering materials btw…much better than booze for watching the sky….and this line….’I watched the last flicker and whispered, Dude’…this line made me weep. Beautiful.

    Reply

  7. kim881
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 17:16:45

    Wonderful, Toni, and I remember that Big Bang episode – I’ve seen it several times now and each time I wondered what it would be like in the desert – I’ve never been to one. Now you’ve transported me! Thank you.

    Reply

  8. ZQ
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 17:29:11

    Yup! 🙂

    Reply

  9. sarahsouthwest
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 17:30:02

    Lovely lovely story. It made me smile, and reminded me that sometimes we need to seize those moments of freedom.You certainly deserved yours.

    Reply

  10. frankhubeny
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 17:48:42

    Through the city lights sometimes I can see a meteor, but I feel luck to even see the planets.

    Reply

  11. Michael
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 18:07:52

    Wonderful haibun Toni, what a great experience to reflect back on….

    Reply

  12. Glenn Buttkus
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 18:40:37

    Not so “light-hearted”, Toni–very wonderfully dramatic & spiritual. We get the meteor shower in August here. We drive up into the mountains, find an open field, and set up camping chairs & quilts; always breathtaking.

    Reply

  13. Glenn Buttkus
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 18:41:31

    I have a 7 month old grandson we call Dude; smile.

    Reply

  14. Bodhirose
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 20:33:22

    What a fun time! Those definitely felt like easier days back then, Toni, and too it was before Orlando became so crowded by the building of I-4 and Disney…we could see the night sky clearly from our own backyard or the nearby golf course. I also love to watch meteors or comets falling from the skies…make a wish! Thanks for dislodging some memories. Love your soft whisper of Dude at the end…

    Reply

  15. ladyleemanila
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 02:07:00

    what a great experience, Toni 🙂

    Reply

  16. MarinaSofia
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 04:26:02

    Ah, there are such unforgettable nights, no matter how fulfilled and content our lives become afterwards! Beautiful experience and conveyed with such precision and affection.

    Reply

  17. Trackback: Haibun: A Good Night – findingtimetowrite
  18. Mish
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 00:50:25

    I love the nostalgia in your haibun. We make so many memories without realizing the imprint they will make on our lives for so many years to come. This is awesome….dude. 😉

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

