dVerse Poetics: Time

Today, Tuesday Poetics, Lillian wishes us to write about time – I had the time of my life, it’s about time to go! As long as we write about time and use the word time, we should be fine.  Sorry for the sad poem.  My mother is with me now and is slowly dying of Alzheimer’s and complications.  Tomorrow we discuss hospice.  It is a grey day in December.  Rain slowly drips.

Trees and Time
death knows no seasons –
death cares not about Christmas lights
or spring flowers or summer tomatoes.
death watches the first snow falling
and looks at the trees,
bare of leaves and rising like bones
in shades of grey and sepia.
death only knows when it is time…
and moves on.

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 15:11:18

    So timely for some of us, Toni. In my experience, death packs the schedule at this time of year, just when we are all so sensitive. Blessings and continued prayers. Thinking of you and your Mom. I hope your hospice experience will be helpful.

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 15:15:07

    Sometimes I wonder if even death knows the time, but I can so much see how death is sometimes overwhelms with its presense

    Reply

  3. robert okaji
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 15:20:14

    A spare and elegant piece.

    Reply

  4. lillian
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 15:21:59

    Oh Toni — this is hauntingly beautiful. Yes — death is a visitor at a time of its own choosing. And it is difficult for many, those in hospice, their families, to simply stand at the door and wait and watch and try to comfort. My heart goes out to you. I wish for you some serenity and calm today and tomorrow too. Just pieces of it, to help you through the days.

    Reply

  5. kim881
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 15:43:00

    I don’t know what to say, Toni. Just beautiful and true.

    Reply

  6. Grace
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 15:49:33

    And so it is…when its time, its time specially with death ~ A moving write Toni~

    Reply

  7. Glenn Buttkus
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 16:37:11

    Yes, death sits on most of our shoulders, with its myriad of faces & mysterious agenda, It took my mother at 39. It has stolen dozens of friends & loved ones; so many at times I suffer from survivor’s guilt. I like your lies /and it looks at the trees/bare of leaves and rising like bones/–moistening my eyes.

    Reply

  8. Bryan Ens
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 16:43:54

    Death cares not for our wishes, or what is ‘convenient’. You are in my thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

    Reply

  9. whippetwisdom
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 17:22:10

    ‘death knows no seasons’ and there is a saying that the moon harvests those souls that are ready for the next journey. Thinking of you at this time Toni xxx

    Reply

  10. paulscribbles
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 17:26:50

    I try to think of death as no different from life…that there is a place beyond both where there is no time…an underlying eternity where all is as it is and yet in the face of death these thoughts feel flimsy.

    Reply

  11. Waltermarks
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 21:41:17

    I’ve never heard of death compared to sepia. I like that comparison; kind of like an old photo from back in the day, now frozen in time. Thanks,

    Reply

  12. Sanaa Rizvi
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 04:00:37

    Death knows no seasons… sigh.. such an evocative write, Toni!

    Reply

  13. NJ
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 05:08:45

    This is achingly beautiful.

    Reply

  14. ladynyo
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:17:48

    Oh God, Toni….I don’t have the usual words. This poem goes straight to the heart. Death encompasses all of us, sooner or later, but it always takes us with surprise I think. my heart goes out to you, along with my rare prayers.

    Reply

  15. Sarah
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 14:04:05

    Sorry to hear of your troubles.
    These are very poignant reflections. Thank you. We _all_ need to remember that death comes to us all, and can come at any time. It helps get things into proportion, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  16. Misky
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 15:39:48

    This feel so cold and empty. I hope that the love of friends and family fill those voids, Toni.

    Reply

  17. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 18:47:59

    I feel no harshness in your words, only observance and commenting. Accepting?
    No, Death has no care nor season but what if Death is kind on the flip side?
    Not that there’s ever a good time, the Christmas season seems the hardest time for everyone involved. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  18. neocasanova
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 18:49:51

    cool blog have you read the poetry of 松尾 芭蕉?

    Reply

  19. Arcadia Maria
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 19:35:10

    This poem goes straight to the heart. Well written.

    Reply

  20. lynn__
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 09:26:13

    Death is a cold visitor indeed. Our family was thankful for the hospice ministry (in December a few years ago). May your waiting include peaceful and precious moments, Toni.

    Reply

  21. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 22:56:40

    You and your family are in my thoughts, Toni! Words are not enough, but we have them to share. My heart goes out to you!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

