Hiatus from Blogging

Hello all my dear friends.

I will be taking a brief hiatus from blogging.  My mother, who has Alzheimers and is in frail health, is in the process of being put into hospice care.  She also lives with me in my home so caretaking has been difficult.  It is a painful part of my life, watching my once vital, funny, and intelligent mother dying.   I will be back as soon as I can.  In the meantime, I wish you all happy holidays, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and many many hugs and blessings.  I imagine I will be back sooner than I anticipate because I love writing so very much.  In the meantime, your prayers and good wishes are earnestly needed.

Take care of yourselves.
Love,
Toni

\

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. machinist
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 22:25:33

    So very sorry. I know this pain. Warm thoughts for you.

    Reply

  2. Victoria C. Slotto
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 23:53:22

    Of course you know how well I understand your decision and support it. Just now returning from my hiatus and I was wondering how you were able to keep up with this much as you do online and at the same time face the responsibilities and the pain that is yours right now. know that you’re in my love and prayers and call me if you need to talk. I am so glad that you will have hospice support and I hope the hospice that you are using real life how special you are and give you and your dear Mother the best they have to give

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 21, 2016 @ 13:30:35

      Thank you Victoria. I just got it going for her and at this busy time of year, it is hard to judge. But the chaplain and a social worker have come out this week. It breaks my heart. She is now doing this flip-flopping back and forth between docile and weak and hostile and argumentative. Drives me crazy.

      Reply

  3. Mish
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 00:18:28

    Write when you need to. Use poetry to release but feel no obligations. This is a very important time for you and your mother. Hugs, love and prayers.
    ~Mish~

    Reply

  4. cindy knoke
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 00:23:47

    I am so sorry. We will miss you and send love and thoughts to your mother.

    Reply

  5. ladynyo
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 00:23:52

    I haven’t had this experience, Toni, but my prayers and thoughts are with you and your mom. Godspeed to both of you. May your writing continue to give you solace.

    Reply

  6. navasolanature
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 05:18:54

    I really feel for you and the changes you see in your mother. Hospice care can be very helpful and I’ve heard some good stories of some as one of daughters worked on one. My thoughts and prayers are with you and hope and that there will be some peace at this sad time.

    Reply

  7. Animalcouriers
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 07:51:50

    A very difficult time for you. Thinking of you a wishing your mother as comfortable a transition to her new setting as possible.

    Reply

  8. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 08:07:23

    A body can only spread herself so thin. Bless you for looking after your mom. Family comes first. Take your time and don’t forget to look after YOU, too. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  9. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:35:34

    My heart’s with you Toni. I went through this with my mother, exactly what you wrote on facebook. This is not an easy time for you and I pray that her transition is peaceful for her and for you as well. Love, Paulette ❤

    Reply

  10. whippetwisdom
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 13:46:46

    Thinking of you at this time Toni and sending you hugs, love and prayers xxx

    Reply

  11. 5h2o
    Dec 17, 2016 @ 17:41:51

    Best to you at this difficult time. We went through this with my mother and it is awful. Find peace. Care for yourself.

    Reply

  12. misifusa
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 08:21:32

    Sending big hugs. This is a hard time for all of you. I found that writing helped me through tough times. Hoping you can find some time to write for yourself throughout the experience.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

