winter solstice haiku

well, I write to escape…

l.
a hawk glides over
skeletal trees – winter blue
sky shows no mercy

ll.
silent neighborhood –
distant crows break the silence –
cold and still today

lll.
the grass is brittle and
frost covers everything –
at noon no melting

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynyo
    Dec 21, 2016 @ 13:51:21

    These are all lovely, Toni. I find when I am most stressed by something totally out of my control, the writing is especially on point and sharp. These are wonderful haiku, and they seem to come from that very deep place. Bless you.

    Reply

  2. whippetwisdom
    Dec 21, 2016 @ 14:05:09

    These are beautiful Toni and it is good to write. Sending you blessings and love xxx

    Reply

  3. Victoria C. Slotto
    Dec 21, 2016 @ 23:11:22

    Poetry…so therapeutic. I think of you daily. These are stunning. The hawk and crows seem so symbolic of what you are experiencing. XOXOX

    Reply

  4. Clowie
    Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:33:46

    Those are lovely. I’m sorry I haven’t been by for so long, but I haven’t been blogging much lately.
    Enjoy the holiday season and all the best for 2017!

    Reply

  5. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Dec 26, 2016 @ 03:18:22

    a hawk glides over
    skeletal trees – winter blue
    sky shows no mercy

    Winter can be literally cold to the wild life! Survival instincts persist!

    Hank

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

