dVerse Poets Pub – Quadrille Monday

Today is Quadrille Monday at dVerse Poets Pub. De (Whimsygizmo) is our word prompter. Please write a quadrille (exactly 44 words, title not included) using the word “whisper” or variants – whispered, whispering, whispers –
Come Join us at 3:00 PM EST to read these wonderful short poems. http://dversepoets.com/2017/01/16/quadrille-24/

Wolf Moon
the wolf moon begins to rise
shattered into pieces
by black branches,
like a sky mounted mirror.
branches begin to whisper
tossed by high flying breezes
sounding like windchimes made from seashells,
small animal bones, broken glass –
I lift my face and begin to howl

***The first full moon in January was named by the first American people as the wolf moon – cold, snow caused much hunger among the people and animals.  Wolfs would sit and bay outside the villages on full moon nights.  Thus the name given to the moon in January – Wolf Moon.

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynyo
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 11:24:27

    Wonderful and scary! So descriptive, Toni….in Hungarian folklore (and real life…) wolves play a dominant role. There are many stories of sleighs being chased by a wolf pack and a child thrown over…or an old person, to occupy the wolves until the sleigh can get to the safety of the village. I love especially the first four lines….but the entire quadrille is beautiful. I tend also….to howl at a full moon.

    Reply

  2. whippetwisdom
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 12:53:56

    A wonderful quadrille Toni, I love the idea of the moon rising like ‘a sky mounted mirror’ xxx

    Reply

  3. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 14:14:39

    I so love the imagery in this–that shattered appearance. In addition, I’ve studied those aspects of Native American lore and find so much to appreciate. You know, howling is quite therapeutic. May I join you? When I was a student nurse in the 60’s, my roommate and I used to schedule “groan-ins.” We would time ourselves for a one minute groaning session and, girl, it helped!

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 14:42:11

    Lovely. These jump out at me and even they tell a story: shattered, mounted, whisper, breezes, windchimes, seashells, broken glass.
    I’ve yet to howl at the moon, but I’ve considered it more than once. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 16, 2017 @ 16:03:46

      Come on in and join me. Peggie and I used to howl over the phone. I think a good howl in memory of our friend is in order.

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Jan 16, 2017 @ 17:28:54

        I pulled the gel pad out of the cushion she got for me yesterday and remembered how I came to have it. ❤ ❤
        While much younger, the sister after me at about age 10, felt like a rip-roaring yell is what she wanted. Went down into the basement and scare the life out of us all above. 😀 😀 😀

        Reply

  5. whimsygizmo
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 16:00:22

    Oh, my goodness. As enamored as I am of Ms. Moon, I had no idea. Could I love her (or your work) more? I don’t think so.

    Reply

  6. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 16:06:53

    This is just wonderful… somehow howling at the moon makes so much sense to me when you write it like this.

    Reply

  7. sarahsouthwest
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 16:23:07

    Those wind-chimes – haunting. I’ll howl tonight – maybe you’ll hear me across the Atlantic. Howls are in order, today.

    Reply

  8. paul scribbles
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 16:56:09

    Wonderful wonderful moon wise words. I have just taken ownership of a ‘name your moon’ calendar that I can fill in as the lunar year unfolds with names that speak to me of the particular moon…this one I named Cold Moon. Funny huh?

    Reply

  9. kim881
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 17:10:36

    I’ve been reading quite a lot of books about wolves lately, Toni, including the children’s book The Wolf Winder, so I was delighted to read your wolf poem this evening.I Especially love the final line.

    Reply

  10. Grace
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 17:48:29

    I did not expect the last line Toni ~ Just perfect for this month as I gaze at the moon at dawn ~

    Reply

  11. sanaarizvi
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 17:49:08

    My goodness, this is soo deliciously dark and enticing! ❤️

    Reply

  12. wolfsrosebud
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 18:36:19

    So enjoyed this: lovely piece, you included sound, I learned something new and your topic was one of my favorite words “wolf”. 😁

    Reply

  13. thotpurge
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 18:44:39

    love the sky mounted mirror and seashell wind chimes!!

    Reply

  14. frankhubeny
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 20:09:19

    I liked the idea of the black branches shattering the moon as it rises through them.

    Reply

  15. Arcadia Maria
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 21:02:02

    Great poem and I learned something new. Good job.

    Reply

  16. Kay
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 21:14:36

    Oh, my the imagery is stunning in this piece! I especially love how you describe the moon rising, ‘shattered by black branches like a sky mounted mirror”.

    Reply

  17. rosemawrites
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 21:17:20

    and that last line got me: “oooooh”! Vivid imagery! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Iris
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 21:20:38

    I especially like the first two lines.

    Reply

  19. lynn__
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 21:42:13

    The moon behind branches like a broken mirror…love your imagery here, Toni! Time to howl 😉

    Reply

  20. Victoria Young
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 22:43:31

    This poem makes me want to howl! Really like how looking through the branches makes the moon look split into pieces- very observant. Really awesome!

    Reply

  21. maria
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 22:44:13

    Chilling! AND I love the back story… now I learn something about the wolf moon. ❤

    Reply

  22. C.C.
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 23:13:00

    This is a very clever and creative description: “shattered into pieces
    by black branches.”

    Reply

  23. lillian
    Jan 17, 2017 @ 10:32:56

    “like a sky mounted mirror”….I LOVE these words! So good to see you here, Toni 🙂
    sending you whispers of good thoughts…

    Reply

  24. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Jan 17, 2017 @ 11:42:20

    This lost boy will forego his crow for a good howl, thanks to this piece of brilliance, Toni!

    Reply

  25. MarinaSofia
    Jan 17, 2017 @ 15:11:14

    You are full of wonderful obscure lore, Toni, I had no idea about this wolf moon. Sometimes you need to whisper, but sometimes you need to let loose and howl…

    Reply

  26. Olga
    Jan 17, 2017 @ 22:13:39

    Such a stunning scene you’ve painted for the senses. It’s deserving of a howl. ❤

    Reply

  27. shivashishspeaks
    Jan 22, 2017 @ 00:22:01

    Great post
    Amazing
    Visit mine
    http://shivashishspeaks.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  28. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Jan 22, 2017 @ 05:05:02

    So vivid! I could feel and hear all that you described.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

