Poetics: Muse Mixology

Today De (the lovely and talented WhimsyGizmo) is our prompter for Poetics. We are to use in 33 words or less(hopefully):…”today I’d like us to mix our muses up a bit by throwing some pub and drinking terms in the blender:
shaken,stirred, rum, vesper, name your poison, drown your sorrows, sour, whiskey, last call, etc. etc. etc.
Ah, but here’s the kicker: try to use these words in ways that have nothing to do with the bar scene, alcohol, or drinking. Use as many as you like; pour your poem as tall, short or neat as you like, and come back for another round. And if none of these words or phrases speak to you, go prohibition on us: write anything you want. Just make it short enough to fit on a cocktail napkin. (Keep it at 33 words or less.)” Alas! I went over the 33 words.

Summer Day
Grand Marnier sunrise,
Grenadine sunset,
Laphroaig night.
And flowing from the bottled day
a perfect Southern Comfort
kind of day – I pull a summer tomato
from the vine and take a bite.
Oh glorious Bloody Mary!
I laugh up into the sky
drunk with joy.

tree to produce stand nectarines

summer heirloom tomatoes – copyright Kanzensakura 2010 – 3010

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whimsygizmo
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 19:56:38

    Oh, Toni. I can feel – and taste- the joy here.
    I LOVE “Grenadine sunset” — it gets no more perfect than that.

    Reply

  2. ghostmmnc
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 20:52:54

    My mouth is watering for those tomatoes! Southern Comfort kind of days are the best. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 20:56:06

    Sorry, I’ve been absent so ages. Life can promise you everything except it takes away the promised beach…
    The tomato shines as a more natural delight–me thinks. 🙂

    Reply

  4. frankhubeny
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 21:47:27

    I like how the taste of the tomato got one drunk with joy.

    Reply

  5. Glenn Buttkus
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 21:57:44

    Kudos for coming up with several new bar terms & rocking the prompt with tongue in cheek and mind on the warmth of the next season. I, also, understand your reluctance to give political chaos any credibility–though I have to wade into the fray it seems.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 07, 2017 @ 22:04:03

      I know you do. It seems everyone is intent on being angry about the election. At this point, I have more important things on my mind. Thinking about the warmth of summer is infinitely more appealing than endless rants on our politics and complaing about his wife.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  6. purplepeninportland
    Feb 07, 2017 @ 23:18:40

    Grand Marnier and Grenadine – perfect!

    Reply

  7. sarahsouthwest
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 04:19:55

    This is a day brightener. Thank you x

    Reply

  8. Kathy Reed
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 08:26:32

    I’m learning new drinks today…this is refreshing!

    Reply

  9. kaykuala h
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 08:33:15

    There is a lot more to life certainly and to each his own!

    Hank

    Reply

  10. Bev
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 12:37:24

    Those “bloody Marys” on the vine always tempted me as well!

    Reply

  11. paul scribbles
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 15:19:56

    Laphroaig night is music to my ears.This is a wonderfully creative response to the prompt.

    Reply

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 15:47:21

    I simply love the liquors to describe the daylights… and I want to have a bite of those tomatoes

    Reply

  13. lynn__
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 18:23:52

    Ah…tasting joy of garden’s summer bounty…bodacious write 😋

    Reply

  14. Victoria C. Slotto
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 19:21:08

    Oh, yes. These are my kind of libations. Thank you.

    Reply

  15. Arcadia Maria
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 20:31:53

    Loved this! Making me wish for summer to get here quickly.

    Reply

  16. Olga
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 23:57:30

    “Drunk with joy” is a glorious term to me. Cheers! ❤

    Reply

  17. vidyatiru
    Feb 09, 2017 @ 03:36:51

    this totally made me smile! can taste those tomatoes 🙂

    Reply

  18. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Feb 09, 2017 @ 07:08:29

    Oh, this is wonderful! I so want one of those perfect Southern Comfort kind of days.

    Reply

  19. Sanaa Rizvi
    Feb 09, 2017 @ 09:45:27

    Such a wonderfully uplifting write, Toni 😀

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

