dVerse Poets Pub: Haibun Monday – The Best Things in Life are Free

Monday I am doing the prompt for Haibun Monday over at dVerse Poets Pub after a fairly long absence. While a bit stressful, it is still good to be back in the Pub writing prompts and reading and commenting on poems. My prompt for everyone is: the best things in life are free – as in without cost – not liberated from something – one of the other meanings of “free”…Come nd join us for the prompt on 02/20/2017.  Haibun Monday – The Best Things in Life are Free

Daffodils are Free!
Daffodils. I love them. I wait for them to come up every year in the very early spring. This year with the winter being so warm, you can spot clusters of green spears springing up from the dead winter grass or they are topped with the golden flowers. The smell of daffodils – I have yet to smell anything that smells like them. A heady mix of honey, jasmine, and butter – the perfume of them has not and probably never will be duplicated. Watching them blowing in the wind or dripping with rain or sticking out of snow, one can only sigh and know we are looking at one of our Creator’s most beautiful miracles. Ever since I was a child, I have loved them and I love them still at the grand old age of 65. They still make me smile, no matter how hard, sad, grey, or difficult the day has been.

Once when I was a child I pulled green blades of a daffodil still wet with rain. I wanted to see how  it tasted. I placed the green blade between my lips – slowly pulling using my tongue to feel the sharp edge and the soft green and the cold wetness of it. Years later after kendo, my lover and I stood in the rain and kissed. He had daffodil lips and I drank in their cool wetness and my tongue probed the sharp edges of his teeth and the slightly bitter taste of his lips.

in the spring rain
daffodils bloom with hope – true
love is in the air

public domain photo

public domain photo

 

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grace
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 14:59:37

    Love the taste and smell of daffodils – A heady mix of honey, jasmine, and butter~ That daffodil lips…wow~ A sensory haibun delight to read this afternoon Toni ~

    Thanks for hosting Haibun Monday ~

    Reply

  2. whippetwisdom
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 15:14:30

    I love the smell of daffodils since I was a child too and your beautiful haibun makes me look forward even more to the first ones blooming. Your closing haiku is gorgeous and so full of hope xxx

    Reply

  3. sarahsouthwest
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:00:02

    I always feel daffodils bring sunshine with them. This is a lovely, sensory treat. The haiku brings it all together.

    Reply

  4. paul scribbles
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:06:39

    Delicate and delicious writing. Daffodils have a special place in my heart. I fell in love in Wales and we exchanged Daffodils in our own woodland marriage ceremony. We still have them 30+ years on dried in the back of a book. Thanks for the memories x

    Reply

  5. Jane Dougherty
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:10:02

    That second paragraph is luscious, so sensual. Gorgeous writing.

    Reply

  6. frankhubeny
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:14:49

    It has been warm recently, but I haven’t seen any flowers. I don’t know what daffodils smell like, but this year I hope to find out.

    Reply

  7. Bev
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:39:09

    What a joyous new look at daffodils. I’ve always loved them, but never tasted them. Obviously now you’ve given me something for which to look forward! Your writing, by the way, is a lovely free gift in itself.

    Reply

  8. kim881
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:46:19

    Our daffodils are still green – no sign of buds yet – but your haibun has got me excited for the first show of yellow in the garden, Toni. They are friendly flowers that make me smile too. I love the childhood memory and the hopeful haiku.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 20, 2017 @ 16:49:17

      They have naturalized around here – sometimes I see them as spears, as blooms in the woods at our house, along the road in ditches, some blooming early and others will be blooming later. such happy flowers that nod as you go past, like happy little neighbors.

      Reply

  9. wolfsrosebud
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 19:20:56

    I agree with you. I like them more than 🌷. Hopefully, snow won’t be bathing them.

    Reply

  10. Miss Stacy
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 22:16:46

    i love the association of daffodils to love. very lovely haibun.
    also…thanks for letting me know i posted the incorrect link. i went back and posted the correct one. lol 🙂

    Reply

  11. purplepeninportland
    Feb 20, 2017 @ 23:08:03

    What wonderful ingredients make up a daffodil. Joyous poem, Toni!

    Reply

  12. Suzanne
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 02:19:39

    What a fabulous photo. Your haibun captures that sense of bright, fresh promise beautifully.

    Reply

  13. ladynyo
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 10:58:47

    Daffodils! The harborages of Spring! Your lovely haibun made me go look outside my second story window and really see from a new perspective, those blooming yellow fancies! Each year I plant a few dozen…hoping for what they look like on the package…those double frilled and PINK throated ones….and each year they revert to just yellow. LOL! But they are so beautiful…and FREE ….as they multiply over the course of years. That they come back (unlike the spoiled tulips down here…) year after year and pop up where unexpected…is truly a miracle of Nature. Haven’t ever tasted one, but do taste the honeysuckle hanging over the fences. Your haibun moved me deeply.

    Reply

  14. Misky
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 16:02:26

    Autumn used to be my faovurite season but as I grow older (and older!) I’m partial to spring, happy to have made it through another winter. Your reflections on daffodils are a reminder of new hopes, new days, new life.

    Reply

  15. sarahbawden
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 02:00:45

    Beautiful imagery in the second paragraph. I love the juxtaposition of the kiss with the experience tasting the blades. It makes the love with daffodils more intimate and the kiss feel fresh and hopeful.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

