dVerse Poets Pub – OLN #190

Today is Open Link Night over at the dVerse Poets Pub. Submit one poem of your choice. Come visit and read! http://dversepoets.com/2017/02/23/openlinknight-190/

The Potting Shed
The old potting shed is slowly returning to the earth
settling down on its crumbling stone foundations,
roof slates cracked or missing,
paint fading and flaking.
The fact remains that underneath
Nobody’s Cat burrowed in during the last snow
And died.
Daffodils’ green spears are thick and lush
around the perimeter of the old building.
the flowers stand like mourners
around a grave
as the sun slowly sets
in an explosion of
saffron ginger turmeric curry –

spiced winter day
ends in a flurry of last
waves of goodbye

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Dougherty
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 16:54:10

    This is full of delicately coloured contrasts: the year dying and a new one beginning, the spice-coloured daffodils, the dead cat in the snow. The potting shed surrounded by greenery but crumbling back into the earth. Lovely.

    Reply

  2. Victoria C. Slotto
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 16:57:04

    Such a perfect metaphoric write as we see what time does to everything. The loss of Nobody’s Cat speaks to the circle of life and still makes me feel sad.

    Reply

  3. zongrik
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 17:07:19

    i like spiced winter days because of the dichotomy spices being hot and winter being cold.

    Reply

  4. whippetwisdom
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 17:10:19

    A beautiful haibun Toni. It feels as if the daffodils are a gift from the other side to let you know that all is well where Nobody’s Cat is now 💖

    Reply

  5. paul scribbles
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 17:14:09

    I just see so much beauty here. Nobody’s cat is growing the daffodils. It’s just so perfect. Nobody’s growing the daffodils.

    Reply

  6. Glenn Buttkus
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 17:58:21

    We all key in on Nobody’s Cat, sentimentalist feline lovers that so many of us are. Yes I’ve been blogging since 2007, but that was pre-Facebook & pre dedicated photography adventures & posting (by the way, I love the minimalist shot of the shadowed shed)–and I posted thousands of pictorials, other people’s poems & song lyrics along with a few thousand of my poems, Since hanging out at dVerse, my writings are prolific enough that the blog is exclusively my poetics.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 23, 2017 @ 18:11:07

      That is so very cool Glenn. I love how you have written so faithfully, blogged so many photos but most of all, the quotes that begin your poems. Yes, I think we, all of us, are sentimental about the lost, the hungry, the abused animals. I hve so many regrets about Nobody’s Cat. I wonder if I hadbloved him more, would his death have hurt me more? I doubt it.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  7. Grace
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 18:09:02

    Death of the cat and the smells of the spices stood out for me ~ I am excited to see what the earth and spring will bring ~ Take care Toni ~

    Reply

  8. Angela
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 18:16:06

    Lovely metaphor for the cycle of life and season. Your word choices are stunning, especially daffodils green spears, Nobody’s Cat, spicy winter day. Rest well, potting shed.

    Reply

  9. Angela
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 18:16:46

    And also Nobody’s Cat. I was feeling sad about that. 💜

    Reply

  10. Bev
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 18:17:31

    I envision the old potting shed, fading, but still welcoming the daffodils who greet each Spring with renewed hope. Great read. Thank you.

    Reply

  11. frankhubeny
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 20:47:54

    I like how you described the “last waves of goodbye” with the potting shed, Nobody’s Cat and the sun all setting, but still there are those daffodils.

    Reply

  12. Bryan Ens
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 23:00:32

    A beautiful poem, even if it speaks strongly of endings. Love your obvious care for Nobody’s Cat

    Reply

  13. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 00:16:49

    Love it and a wonderful nod to the cat dying.. and now the new life’s exploding,…

    Reply

  14. MarinaSofia
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 05:01:35

    There is a sense of loss with each passing of the season, which you describe so beautifully, both metaphorically and literally, with the reference to Nobody’s Cat. And yet there is that eternal rebirth, reawakening, blossoming of something fresh and new… this is all the more poignant now with all that is going on in your life, and all our lives…

    Reply

  15. kim881
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 07:55:38

    As I read this, Toni, I can see our two old sheds in the garden, the place under the willow tree where our cat Max is buried and daffodils’ green spears! It’s uncanny! I love this poem and its melancholic reminder of death and decay mixed with glimmers of springtime hope. And the ending of the ‘spiced winter day’ is beautiful.

    Reply

  16. sanaarizvi
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 08:06:43

    A most beautiful haibun, Toni 🙂 I love the image of “Daffodils’ green spears thick and lush around the perimeter of the old building.” ❤️

    Reply

  17. ladynyo
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 14:58:34

    Toni, through your words and devotion to Nobody’s Cat, he has become Everyone’s Cat and that is what it should be. You tried your best, in the face of so many circumstances, your attention to your mother, everything, and on top of this, this kitty dying. The daffs are like sentinels but they also are a direct message from the ground to the air. Everyone’s Cat is at rest. And we all are saddened by his passing. Not many cats (or dogs) get a passel of concern. I think about you and him when I go out to feed the strays…the Tom….fierce before, tuxedo…has a chewed up leg…it’s horrible and I thought he would die…but he’s not and he’s yelling for food. I don’t know if he will ever be able to hunt again, but as long as I am around…he is assured of 3 meals a week. Today, it looked a little less raw. What pain these animals go though Someone once said: “Animals lives are short and brutal”. We if we have compassion, their lives are better. Thank you, Toni for a beautiful poem and photo. The haiku at the end is superb and so memorable.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 25, 2017 @ 09:08:51

      Thank you Jane. I have finally stopped crying whenever I look st the shed, but not often. Bless you for your mercy to those kitties. I wish there were more of us out there.

      Reply

      • ladynyo
        Feb 25, 2017 @ 11:56:08

        Toni, I can’t go down that road where I found Stripy dead this October 28th. I can’t even look down there. Stripy was a beautiful feral cat that I stalked for a year and a half. Like yours… he was special….I found Stripy dead and wrapping him in a small blanket, brought him home and buried him near a pear tree. I was in shock. He gave me purpose and more each time I went out to feed him. Bless you, Toni…I think there are many more of us out there we just don’t know them. You and I have suffered a severe trauma with these kitties, and the pain does fade. But they are burrowed deep in our hearts.

        Reply

  18. hypercryptical
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 16:57:00

    I love your words Toni and love how nature is honouring Nobody’s Cat.

    Your description of the potting shed reminds me of mine, now I have given my back garden back to nature. Ivy has invaded it inside and out, yet keeps it upright. Should the ivy ever die, the potting shed will be a sad pile of wood.

    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 25, 2017 @ 09:05:48

      Thank you. I too have let a portion of ny back yard go back to nature, where the potting shed resides. Full of rampant blackberry vines, only small animals snd a persistent small human can get through. Now that area is deserted.

      Reply

  19. lillian
    Feb 25, 2017 @ 09:50:59

    “Saffron ginger turmeric curry” as the setting sun. This is all so very beautiful. You have such a delicate but powerful way with words. Just absolutely beautiful.

    Reply

  20. Pleasant Street
    Feb 26, 2017 @ 21:31:22

    “the flowers stand like mourners
    around a grave..”
    That’s killer
    Great photo too-

    Reply

  21. Sean Michael
    Mar 12, 2017 @ 13:20:48

    Must have been an extra special shed.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

