dVerse Poets Pub – Tuesday Poetics

Sara McNulty is our guest host today. she is prompting us to write about the house we would build. Mine is already built. Come join us today!

Our House
Ah. A house of my own design.
I actually live in that house, although I did not design it.
It is low and solidly built brick.
A spare bedroom turned into a library
With floor to ceiling books.
A couple of acres of land around it
Big enough for a garden of veggies,
A garden of flowers and a water garden.
A huge window off the dining room where one can see it all
In.one.glance.
A kitchen big enough for my husband and I to practice ballroom dancing,
For me to do kendo on inclimate days
And shelves – lots of shelves
And a huge gas stove with two ovens –
plenty of space to hold all of my cooking equipment –
a chef’s kitchen.
It is not large or fancy, it is not grandiose
It is not a commune.
It is peace and quiet after a long day
It is watching the first snow falling late at night
It watching the moon and stars from my back porch
It is awakening to sunlight filled rooms
And filled with the smells of good cooking –
it is fresh vegetables from my garden
and hundreds of daffodils all in bloom.
it is sitting by one of several fireplaces
after a cold day of working or being out in the rain.
A huge bedroom for my husband and I.
The yard is home to all manner of creatures –
birds, bees, deer, stray cats, snakes, frogs
But most off all,
It is surrounded by the woods
And shrubs of flowering quince and Japanese plum.
49 Azalea bushes surround the house and fence off the yard.
The house quietly whispers a welcome to all –
It is home. it is peace. it is love. It is ours.
I could ask for nothing more.

copyright kanzensakura

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 15:56:44

    What a wonderful house… and yes I do love our house as well… actually it’s a good thing to live by.. to be content… and that last line is perfect for that.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 07, 2017 @ 15:59:36

      Our house was built in 1963. The people who lived here/built the house put the house up for sale and moved into assisted living. My husband knew them since his childhood and as soon as the house went up for sale, he bought it. I love it. It is so sturdy and well insulated, you can’t hear noise in the next room. Huge windows in the front and back of the house….hardwood floors…it truly is perfect.

      Reply

  2. frankhubeny
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 16:15:30

    A very nice home. It is good that one’s own home is what one would like to build. Insulation is a good feature as well that I see you mentioned in the comments.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 07, 2017 @ 16:35:04

      And all the firplaces are big and built with the same brick as the outside of the house. The house is cozy in winter and cool in summer. It also gets its water from a very deep artesianal well. The water is icy and delicious.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  3. Carol J Forrester
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 16:46:18

    Sounds like you’ve made a wonderful home for yourself. A house is what you make it and yours sounds perfect.

    Reply

  4. Singledust
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 18:05:18

    love your tender loving description and your walk me through your lovely home – clearly joy lives here

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 07, 2017 @ 18:10:23

      Thank you. We truly love this home from one end to the other and every square inch of our land. It isn’t fancy and filled with gewgaws but it is filled with lots of good memories.

      Reply

      • Singledust
        Mar 07, 2017 @ 18:11:50

        gengaws! thats a new word to me, really love your home! i grew up in a tiny village and always ran barefoot, so nature has always been special to me and you linked it with your home, thats really lovely to read and know you love nature too.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Mar 07, 2017 @ 18:18:42

          Oh my. I mistyped…gewgaws. It’s an old word that kind of means…dustcatchers. My husband grows hybrid tea roses and has actually won several ribbons. I am proud of him. Simple muslin curtains, simple furniture. Only the kitchen is truly pimped out. It was designed for the husband who was a German chef. I am a runaway chef so it is perfect. Thank you for your kind words.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

  5. ladynyo
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 18:28:15

    It is perfect for us. Those final words are …final. It sounds like a wonderful hours, Toni, tailor made for you and your husband. A lovely and tender description of a property well loved. That is the best of all.
    Don’t have anything in the brain pan, but it’s lovely the descriptions of other’s houses and property. I’ve been on mine since 1973, and my husband 20 years ago put on a couple of additions, but now?? We are two aging people with a house that needs more care and love.

    Lovely prompt. Lovely and contented poems.

    Reply

  6. Glenn Buttkus
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 19:19:13

    An excellent prose poem that walks around your home, hearth & heart. Our home was built in 1953 by one man, taking his time. In 2016, we inherited some cash and so began the improvements we’ve dreamed about for 25 years.

    Reply

  7. whimsygizmo
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 19:19:59

    How gorgeous, Toni. I just love this. I wish I could visit, drink tea and see your trees.

    Reply

  8. Grace
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 19:33:41

    Such a lovely dream house you have Toni ~ The space and solititude and welcoming tone are very much evident ~ And most importantly, it is home ~

    Reply

  9. Candy
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 19:39:47

    This is the perfect definition of ‘home’

    Reply

  10. purplepeninportland
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 21:10:00

    I love your house, Toni. It has all the people and spaces. Thanks!

    Reply

  11. maria
    Mar 07, 2017 @ 22:34:49

    Lovely home, Toni! I couldn’t ask for more too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. kim881
    Mar 08, 2017 @ 02:56:19

    As soon as I read your title, Toni, I started to hum that song by Crosby Stills and Nash: Our house is a very, very ,very fine house, with two cats in the yard…and now I’m going to play it in the background!
    Your house sounds a bit like mine with the floor to ceiling books and the animals and, of course, the peace and quiet.
    La la la-la-la … now everything is easy cos of you… I’ll light the fire, while you place the flowers in the vase that you bought today…

    Reply

  13. Jane Dougherty
    Mar 08, 2017 @ 05:46:52

    You’re lucky to find all you need within the confines of your own little plot. Heaven 🙂

    Reply

  14. sarahsouthwest
    Mar 08, 2017 @ 07:02:54

    It sounds lovely. But you have made it into your home, too, by loving it.

    Reply

  15. Bryan Ens
    Mar 08, 2017 @ 07:31:04

    That sounds like much more than a house. ..it is a home! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Waltermarks
    Mar 08, 2017 @ 20:01:13

    That’s a great tour of a great house, Toni. You must be as snug as a bug in a rug. That’s a great description

    Reply

  17. Mish
    Mar 08, 2017 @ 23:46:54

    Sounds like paradise without being pretentious…beautiful in nature and spirit.

    Reply

  18. lillian
    Mar 09, 2017 @ 14:35:54

    I most definitely want to come visit — when the daffodils are in bloom! And may I bring my husband as we both love to dance!
    I can just see you in this house that is much more than a house – it is most definitely a home ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 09, 2017 @ 15:03:44

      Then come next March. Right now we are starting to get the later narcissus – and even into May we have a tiny multi-blossomed fragrant yellow variety. It is a home. 🙂

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

