Haibun Monday – Yum!

This is Haibun Monday over at the dVerse Poets Pub.  I am prompting people to write about one of the best meals they ever had.  Come join us for some good eats!
Down By the River
I remember once when I was 10, my father took me fishing. Through Durham flows the beautiful Eno river. Papa had a place picked out for fishing. It was right before one of the several cascades of white water along the river. We scrambled down rocks and jumped over streams until we came to “The Spot”. My father took several cokes out of the basket I was carrying and nestled them into the rocks at the edge of the river. I knew in the basket were also a couple of bologna sandwiches, a small bag of corn chips, and a couple of Hershey bars. We sat in companionable silence and fished. Time passed slowly and I began to nod. Suddenly my pole began to twitch and I jerked awake, just in time to pull up the large trout. It was a triumphant moment.

It was almost noon and my father decided it was time for lunch. We pulled the cokes up out of the river and I unwrapped the sandwiches. I washed my hands in the river and dried them on the back of my shorts. My father and I gobbled up the sandwiches, chips, and Hershey bars and drank our cokes, cold from the river water. I haven’t eaten bologna since then but that day, the sandwiches were sheer delights, wonders of modern cuisine. We sat there for several hours and finally decided to call it a day. The trout was swimming in his water basket and Papa decided to let him go. I was glad he did. I had been feeding it bits of leftover bread and had formed a tenuous friendship with it. It was the only fish we caught that day. My father packed up all the trash and wound the lines tight. We clambered back over the rocks to our car and then drove home. I told my mother what we had had for lunch and she smiled. “I remember a similar lunch he packed for us while we were dating and we went fishing on the Eno.”

melted butter sun
dapples river and trees – the
river runs silent

 

public domain photo Eno River Org

 

 

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 12:22:45

    It’s never the food that matter most but the memories that make a dinner great… It’s the company and the location that matter most. Love the melted butter sun… wonderful

    Reply

  2. Victoria C. Slotto
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 13:51:04

    Oh my goodness–you are the queen of haiku my friend. I can’t remember the last time I had a bologna sandwich but, oh, I’m hankering for one now. Truly, it is love and caring that makes the meal special.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 20, 2017 @ 14:22:39

      Yes ma’am it is. Everyonce in awhile I buy a small package and make it with mustard and sliced tomatoes – just like the one Papa made all those years ago. And there was a lot of love and caring going on.

      Reply

  3. lillian
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 15:23:32

    This is so so lovely! Such a wonderful recounting of a very special time with your papa. And a coca cola, cold from the river’s edge. 🙂 My dad loved bologna sandwiches so I can relate to that part 🙂
    And melting butter sun has me melting in love with your words. You always stun with your habit, Toni! 🙂

    Reply

  4. lillian
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 15:24:32

    OOPS.. it should say “You always stun with your habibun, Toni! My spell checker doesn’t like the word “haibun.” It must learn to be more poetic!!!!

    Reply

  5. Glenn Buttkus
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 15:26:03

    Lovely haibun & coveted memory. You certainly are bang on. My poem also is recalling both the event that colored the memory & the meal itself. I adored your haiku, of course.

    Reply

  6. frankhubeny
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 15:48:35

    Very nice memory of your father especially throwing the fish back and how your mother remembered him doing that with her long ago.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 20, 2017 @ 15:51:25

      I’ll let you in on a little secret. My father was always very careful when removing the hook from the fish’s mouth and always put the basket in the water to hold the fish. He would usually let the fish go. I have the pic of my mom in long braids and shorts sitting in a place similar to where he and I sat that day. He was a special man.

      Reply

  7. sanaarizvi
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 16:23:15

    Oh this is lovely! ❤️ Food plays a significant part in making memories 😀 I have never been fishing so this was a treat for me to visualize. Especially love this part: “I knew in the basket were also a couple of bologna sandwiches, a small bag of corn chips, and a couple of Hershey bars. We sat in companionable silence and fished. Time passed slowly and I began to nod. Suddenly my pole began to twitch and I jerked awake, just in time to pull up the large trout. It was a triumphant moment.” Beautifully penned.❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  8. sarahsouthwest
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 16:50:35

    I’m embarrassed to say I don’t actually know what bologna is… but this is lovely. I can feel the love in this, and I am there at the river. I love your friendship with the fish, and I love love love that melted butter sun. Hot, golden, delicious.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 20, 2017 @ 16:53:28

      Bologna is a lunch meat – it is made with all the leftovers from the butchering and comes in different grades from cheap to Italian Mortadella. I guess one could call it a huge fat sausage. It has its moments of being good and moments of being terrible. Don’t be embarrassed about not knowing what it is. 🙂

      Reply

  9. Trackback: Haibun Monday – Cherry blossom delight! – Singledust
  10. wolfsrosebud
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 17:24:44

    you get five stars for me today… loved the story, sentiment, out-door setting, and the bonding that went on here. But I don’t like bologna. Sometimes it’s not about the food!

    Reply

  11. Singledust
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 17:26:34

    this brought back such lovely memories of me and my dad doing something similar, treasured moments you have captured so beautifully. The characters so personalised and the meal like fine dining!

    Reply

  12. kim881
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 17:54:47

    As soon as I saw the title, that song by Neil Young and Crazy Horse popped into my head (from Everybody Knows This is Nowhere)!
    Open air eating always seems to taste best. I enjoyed reading about your father and daughter time. ‘The Spot’ sounds idyllic and I love the haiku, Toni.

    Reply

  13. whimsygizmo
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 19:39:49

    LOVE that “melted butter sun.” So much.

    Reply

  14. hypercryptical
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 20:01:10

    A lovely story Toni and in some ways its content resonates with mine.

    Bologna sausage – I had forgot all about that! If I recall, it was quite bland and rubbery?

    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Reply

  15. Beverly Crawford
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 20:29:27

    It is often not so much the food, but the place and company who occasion it to linger long in our memory. Lovely memory, lovely haiku!

    Reply

  16. Bekkie Sanchez
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 20:32:19

    Love “melted butter sun.” I think everything is better outside.

    Reply

  17. Waltermarks
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 20:36:34

    That’s a great story and Haibun as well. Bonding with your dad and siblings, catching a great trout as well. Then you let the fish go and had a wonderful memory.

    Reply

  18. rosemawrites
    Mar 21, 2017 @ 03:56:15

    oh the memories and the people we are with make the food extra delicius and memorable. the melted butter sun is ❤

    Reply

  19. ladynyo
    Mar 21, 2017 @ 05:53:14

    beautifully written and so tender. I remember a fishing date with my father…I had to be only 10 or so….down by the river in front of our house. We caught and released sunfish…too small to eat I would suppose. Those cokes and Hershey bars were something special to me and they only came from him. He would bring me home a Hershey bar and I would eat a small piece by piece. Hiding it from my brothers. LOL!~ I love the haiku at the end. A perfect haibun and a perfect haiku!
    Thank you, Toni, for the memories….

    Reply

  20. paul scribbles
    Mar 22, 2017 @ 04:32:57

    I’m late to this prompt but so glad I made the effort. This is a great Haibun. The descriptive prose is so detailed and warm…wiping your hands on the back of your shorts, feeding the trout, cooling the coke…all builds up a stunning picture coloured nostalgic. The Haiku. What can I say?

    Reply

  21. Miss Stacy
    Mar 23, 2017 @ 01:15:30

    oh, what an endearing reflection. you make me long for those simple rivers and lakes in my childhood. things just aren’t the same in these modern days. loved getting a glimpse of an earlier time.

    Reply

  22. machinist
    Mar 27, 2017 @ 16:01:28

    Very nice. Brings back many memories. Very nice Haiku, they fascinate me. Maybe my memory is getting too weak for anything longer? Thank you for sharing this.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

