Poetics: From Natures Point of View

Today Mish is doing the Poetics prompt at dVerse Poets Pub.  She wants us to write about life from the perspective of nature:  a tree, frog, flower, whatever!  I used the quote form The Last Samurai as my inspiration and …the cherry blossoms.  Come join us for some excellent poetry.  Poetics: From Nature’s Point of View 

kanzen sakura
through the long winter
I sleep – curled tight within the
wood – I dream of spring
and bursting forth in shades
of pink and white –
just for a day in the sun
just for a day in the rain
just for a day in early spring snow –
just for one glorious day to look
at the beauty around me –
to listen to the birds –
to watch my friends opening –
to the sun around me –
to one day hear a man beneath my perch saying:
“The perfect blossom is a rare thing.
You could spend your life looking for one,
and it would not be a wasted life”***
and to smile and let my petals
slowly fall to earth.

***quote from The Last Samurai by Katsumoto

copyright kanzensakura

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whimsygizmo
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 20:17:54

    Truly breathtaking. Some of my very favorite flowers, for sure.

    Reply

  2. frankhubeny
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 20:19:14

    Nice blossom perspective. I liked the Katsumoto quote and the final smiling.

    Reply

  3. nildamacedopaulino
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 20:43:02

    Nice BLOG!!! ADD my BLOG too!!! Kisses!!!

    Reply

  4. jillys2016
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 20:43:52

    The repetition gives this such a lilting, song-like quality. Beautiful!

    Reply

  5. Grace
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 21:42:40

    The short but perfect life of that spring blossom ~ Lovely share Toni and one that I am waiting to see very soon ~

    Reply

  6. Mish
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 22:32:38

    I like the way the blossom appreciates sun, rain, snow and all that surrounds him and you’ve given us his glorious view. I was very moved by the quote that inspired you.

    Reply

  7. rosemawrites
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 23:45:17

    this is as delicate as the blooms. ❤ ❤ ❤ lovely quote too!

    Reply

  8. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 00:18:10

    I just knew you would bring the cherry blossom to life,, wonderful, and a blessing for us all,

    Reply

  9. Sumana Roy
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 03:23:03

    a blessed moment & life of these heavenly flowers so beautifully captivated…

    Reply

  10. erbiage
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 06:42:53

    love the curled up in the wood, and the letting go of petals… there’s cherries to be made! (i know, i know.)

    Reply

  11. paul scribbles
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 08:31:50

    Beautiful. I am minded of Katsumoto’s final realization.

    Reply

  12. Beverly Crawford
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 09:20:51

    You speak eloquently for the cherry blossoms!

    Reply

  13. sarahsouthwest
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 09:38:38

    This is beautiful. And I love your blossom’s philosophy of life.

    Reply

  14. Glenn Buttkus
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 14:29:28

    In my yard it is my tulip tree that blossoms pink for a short week, before dropping it’s full load of blossoms in an hour, or a stiff wind. Your poem puts me in mind of those times it blossomed too early & a late frost mugged it.

    Reply

  15. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 15:37:38

    Such a beautiful blossom you’ve written, with hope and joy even for a short life. Love the quote too, woven in seamlessly. ❤

    Reply

  16. rosross
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 19:45:45

    Blossoms remind us of the beauty of transience. Nicely done.

    Reply

  17. lillian
    Mar 30, 2017 @ 15:20:31

    Somehow I knew you would be the voice of the cherry blossom! Adding the quotation here adds such a sense of expectation – and the beauty unfolds for just a moment in time and that is enough. Loved this!

    Reply

  18. purplepeninportland
    Apr 01, 2017 @ 17:23:58

    So glad to see the cherry blossom represented here. Wish their season was longer. We have just seen them opening.

    Reply

  19. Mel-ania
    Apr 08, 2017 @ 07:23:58

    Thanks for this refreshing morning read. I really loved this:
    “The perfect blossom is a rare thing.
    You could spend your life looking for one,”

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

