dVerse Poetics: Anthropomorphism

Today Lillian is pubtender at dVerse and is prompting us to write anthropomorphic poetry such as…”Hey diddle diddle the cat and the fiddle, the cow jumped over the moon. The little dog laughed to see such a sight and the dish ran away with the spoon.” In other words, giving human characteristics to non-human “things”. Come join us at: https://dversepoets.com/2017/04/04/anthropomorphize-me/ I have provided two haiku and one senryu for Lillian’s prompt.
I.
haru no kumo**
chase each other across spring
sky – children playing

II.
dragon dog castle
clouds bend themselves into shapes –
water forms miracles

III.
drifting along in
the sky – floating free – formed from
vapor – blue skies smile

 

**haru no kumo – spring clouds

copyright kanzensakura

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jillys2016
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 19:01:49

    You champion the form so well, Toni! I see at least three different animals in that cloud shot – smiling here.

    Reply

  2. paul scribbles
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 19:02:27

    I love the cloud beings and how they shape-shift. Lovely series.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 04, 2017 @ 19:33:04

      Years ago in university, one of my engineering classes was weather….it was an elective but oh! learning about the different clouds, how they form, etc. was invigorating.

      Reply

  3. Glenn Buttkus
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 19:27:40

    The grandest animation & role playing is always frolicking midst clouds; loved your take–very Zen today for me.

    Reply

  4. lillian
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 19:45:15

    Oh I do love this…..shapeshifter clouds! LOVE lying in fresh mown grass, looking up at the clouds, and imagining them as real objects or people — decoding themselves in their shape shifting…masters of a great mystery! 🙂 Love your take on the prompt, Toni.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 04, 2017 @ 19:50:17

      I’m not fond of lying in freshly mown grass – I have an extreme allergy to airborne chlorophyll! but I love lying on my back almost anywhere else and watching the various clouds of the various seasons…Love them.

      Reply

  5. Grace
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 20:28:39

    I so love playing the cloud shape games when I was young ~ I love that spring sky, so blue ~

    Reply

  6. Dr. Crystal Howe
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 21:19:23

    These are beautiful, Toni, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  7. whimsygizmo
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 22:36:49

    Oh, you KNOW that middle cloud one makes me so happy. Love them all.

    Reply

  8. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Apr 05, 2017 @ 00:44:17

    I know that the clouds are playing with us to make us smile.

    Reply

  9. kim881
    Apr 05, 2017 @ 02:20:45

    A gorgeous series of some of my favourite things: clouds, children, dragons and smiles!

    Reply

  10. whippetwisdom
    Apr 05, 2017 @ 04:32:13

    I love messages from the clouds – I can see a few animals in there too and I love the way your breathing spaces in the sequence mirror the spaces in the clouds 💖 xxx

    Reply

  11. hypercryptical
    Apr 05, 2017 @ 08:04:02

    Lovely lovely and lovely!
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Reply

  12. frankhubeny
    Apr 05, 2017 @ 09:48:31

    I liked the second one about the dragon dog castle the best.

    Reply

  13. Waltermarks
    Apr 05, 2017 @ 10:37:44

    What a beautiful way to describe a summer’s day!

    Reply

  14. Charley
    Apr 06, 2017 @ 07:04:17

    This speaks to the former meteorologist in me. It also sings to the poet that lives in me. And the now and then artist. Need I say more? Worthy haiku and… whatever that final one is! 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 06, 2017 @ 16:42:46

      Thank you. The middle one is senryu as it does not have seasonal and cutting words. The middle one is the senryu as it is 17 syllables and does not have the seasonal or cutting words.

      Reply

  15. Beverly Crawford
    Apr 06, 2017 @ 14:22:05

    This recalled to me the times in my childhood when I lay on the grass looking for cloud figures! Beautiful haiku and I’m with Charley – whatever that final one is!

    Reply

  16. Imelda
    Apr 06, 2017 @ 22:40:21

    Lovely cloud poems.

    Finding ‘creatures’ and such in the clouds is an activity I engage my kids in especially during long trips.

    Reply

  17. MarinaSofia
    Apr 07, 2017 @ 08:28:55

    I love my cloud gazing – have far too seldom time for it nowadays, but it’s one of the most therapeutic occupations.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

