Haibun Monday #2 The Rest of the Story

I rarely post more than one poem.  But today calls for a rest of the story post!

The Rest of the Story
Years went past. Even though I survived, it seemed just when I was moving on, some slurpy teary love song would come on the radio and I would begin to cry. The biggest offender was Same Old Lang Syne by Dan Fogelberg. I’d turn off the radio and then flip it back on and…cry. One day while at a Tai Kwan Do exhibition, I met this man: short, balding, beautiful blue eyes and a wicked one on the sparring floor. Somehow we began to talk and before I knew it, he had charmed me into going out for coffee with him. He was a true Southern boy – soft voice, those eyes, lovely mouth, and like a cat on stainless steel ball bearings on the sparring floor. I remember when he got his black belt. We had been dating awhile and truth be told, I was smitten. But I held back. One day in February – Valentine’s Day to be exact he asked me to come with him to his parents’ home to check on it as they were out of town for a couple of months. He sat me down in the family room and ran upstairs. When he returned, he told me he had something to say to me. I went cold inside. This was the breakup. He went over to the piano and began to chord and to sing. Heaven only knows how long it took him to learn to do this!
“We’re no strangers to love.
You know the rules and so do I…
(chord chord chord).

Heavens! It was Rick Astley’s Never Gonna Give You Up. I loved that song! And then he asked me to marry him. It was the first song we danced to at our wedding. I still love that song,  Seventeen years later and I still love him.

icy winds blow – sleet
falls – warmth of fireplace and love
inside the home.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whippetwisdom
    May 01, 2017 @ 17:26:39

    I am so glad you posted this haibun too Toni. Your husband sounds like an absolute gem and I love your closing haiku, especially – ‘warmth of fireplace and love inside the home’ :o) xxx

    Reply

  2. Singledust
    May 01, 2017 @ 17:46:21

    thank you for writing and sharing this. I am comforted that you found love again. I am misty eyed from reading the words from your heart, it was really beautiful Toni. And the part you said you held back I ached a little for your tender heart, I hope he keeps it safe.

    Reply

  3. frankhubeny
    May 01, 2017 @ 21:58:15

    This complements your first haibun nicely. I’ve heard the song, but didn’t remember who sang it.

    Reply

  4. Sabio Lantz
    May 01, 2017 @ 22:01:30

    Very sweet

    Reply

  5. petrujviljoen
    May 02, 2017 @ 07:20:17

    I read this one first Toni and glad I did.

    Reply

  6. kim881
    May 02, 2017 @ 09:12:25

    I’m a sucker for a happy ending, Toni! Thank you for cheering me up today!

    Reply

  7. whimsygizmo
    May 02, 2017 @ 11:02:53

    Love love LOVE.

    Reply

  8. paul scribbles
    May 02, 2017 @ 12:36:11

    Awww…happy endings are so beautiful….fron Dan Fogelberg to Rick Astley is one helluva leap 😉

    Reply

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    May 02, 2017 @ 12:52:03

    Perfect ending to a sad beginning….

    Reply

  10. merrildsmith
    May 03, 2017 @ 16:21:45

    I’m so glad you wrote about and posted this sequel! ❤
    It's cool that you have a soundtrack to your life. Now you need to write poems about your childhood song, an anniversary and/or birthday song. . .

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

