Haibun Monday: Tramps Like us Were Born to Survive

It is Haibun Monday over at dVerse. I am hosting the prompt for this. I want us to write about music – singing along with the radio, driving and singing, working and singing…a fun prompt after all the heavy prompts. Come join us!

I Love This Song
I sit in the car in the parking lot of the airport. I had been sitting there for a couple of hours, remembering. You were on your way back to Japan. I was returning to a new apartment without any memories of you. We sold our house, split the money; divided the stuff. My heart felt like it was being pulled apart by rats, ravaged over, leaving it bloody and in pieces. Finally I turned the key in the ignition and headed back to town. I pulled up in front of the apartment. Now I was sitting in the car, on the street, under the fully leaved trees of summer. I made myself go into the apartment but I sat down on the couch. “Damn you” I whispered. “Damn you” I shouted. “Damn damn damn you!”. I smoked a joint and felt soothed, the rough edges smoothed out. I looked around the bare no-personality apartment. I walked over to my stereo deck and popped in the cassette and cranked it up to full blast. Gloria Gaynor belted out, I will survive. I played it again and again and again. I will survive. I began to dance around the room.

green leaves of summer
rustle in the breeze – birds sing
outside my window

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahsouthwest
    May 01, 2017 @ 14:45:15

    Yes! Impossible not to stand up straighter when Gloria is belting it out ☺️

    Reply

  2. Beverly Crawford
    May 01, 2017 @ 14:53:33

    Just what you needed to hear at just the time you needed to hear it! Well written.

    Reply

  3. Jane Dougherty
    May 01, 2017 @ 15:17:10

    That song must have been written around the same time God was invented, and it serves the same purpose 🙂 Glad you survived.

    Reply

  4. jillys2016
    May 01, 2017 @ 15:51:16

    Wonderfully gritty narrative!

    Reply

  5. whippetwisdom
    May 01, 2017 @ 16:34:06

    A beautiful closing haiku Toni, the birds singing their messages of comfort to you. I remember the Gloria Gaynor song very well, the ultimate ‘phoenix rising’ anthem for so many of us!

    Reply

  6. kim881
    May 01, 2017 @ 16:43:08

    Splitting up is hard but there are always songs that express how we feel, should feel, want to feel… and that one is a classic! I love the wistful haiku, Toni.

    Reply

  7. paul scribbles
    May 01, 2017 @ 16:47:37

    Seems to me you did more than survive. Well penned and a delightful haiku to close.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Haibun Monday: We sang, we shed no tears, we swallowed our fears – Singledust
  9. Singledust
    May 01, 2017 @ 17:18:19

    letting go is part of loving too. I think I gave up much when I let go and yes I survived. I know the pain of not wanting to love again, that hurts more than the end of a relationship. But that song, well chosen, we heal and go on, and most of all want to survive. You are a strong person with such vigour for life Toni!

    Reply

  10. frankhubeny
    May 01, 2017 @ 21:20:42

    That song has an uplifting beat. Good description of what went through your mind after the breakup.

    Reply

  11. emangarduque
    May 01, 2017 @ 21:43:18

    There is great comfort on music.

    Reply

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    May 02, 2017 @ 09:33:12

    A perfect song for the moment… Love it…

    Reply

  13. whimsygizmo
    May 02, 2017 @ 11:01:34

    YES. A perfect song at just the right time.

    Reply

  14. merrildsmith
    May 03, 2017 @ 16:18:55

    Well done. I felt like I was there. I agree with the above comments that this is a song that was needed–both to be written and at that moment for you.

    Reply

  15. Kathy Reed
    May 03, 2017 @ 22:32:19

    That song was meant to be…the world would not be right without it! I feel that way about many things…almost as if there is a pattern being laid out for us and all feels everything is happening like it is supposed to…heartache and all. I wonder if any one else feels this way.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 04, 2017 @ 13:40:32

      I think most of us do and some of us write about it in bits and pieces. And there are those who believe in predestination and such. I do believe there are patterns in the world. After all. an intelligent God created us!

      Reply

  16. rosemawrites
    May 05, 2017 @ 12:30:14

    love the rawness of this piece! and oh how a song can really uplift our soul!

    Reply

  17. el34ax7
    May 31, 2017 @ 00:53:21

    Here’s the therapy and fellowship I’ve been needing. Excellent piece and bravely honest. m(_ _)m

    Reply

  18. purehaiku
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 14:23:08

    Reblogged this on purehaiku and commented:
    I love this song too! love the haibun! Kanzen Sakura contributed a while ago to Pure Haiku…

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

