Open Link Night #198 The Smell of Green

Tonight is Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub. You can submit one poem of your choice as it is no-prompt night. Come join us for some elclectic reading! http://dversepoets.com/2017/06/15/openlinknight-198/

The Smell of Green
As I sat on my back steps
I pondered the smell of green.
I was looking up at the mini moon,
the strawberry moon.
It’s a mini moon because it is farther away
from the earth on the apogee of its orbit.
The moon hasn’t changed sizes though.
and still I ponder the smell of green.
A moist southern evening –
It had rained an hour earlier and
the air was redolent with the smell of green –
freshly mown grass, the herbs in my garden,
The smell of the bushes, vines, and trees –
In my kitchen this night I had made a gremolata –
full of freshly chopped parsley, chives, rosemary, lime zest –
To spread on the chicken breasts I had baked.
Green – romaine lettuce, arugula, a salad of green
dressed with good green California olive oil –
it smelled so green I felt my fingertips tingle.
And then later,
I stuck my nose into the bag of pot I had bought –
The tightly dried buds smelled of pine and Thai basil.
I breathed in the smell of green as I sat on the back steps
and pondered the smell of green,
Smiling at the mini moon.
I had placed mama into hospice –
I was letting go.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahrussellpoetry
    Jun 15, 2017 @ 21:16:52

    The ending of this poem knocked me out. So well done!!

    Reply

  2. Grace
    Jun 15, 2017 @ 21:21:34

    Love the smell of green too ~ I can smell the food and moist southern evening ~

    There is grace and peace in your ending lines ~ My prayers for your family Toni ~

    Reply

  3. Charley
    Jun 15, 2017 @ 22:39:44

    I agree that the ending of this poem took my breath away. I’ll stay with the poetics here. You held the peacefulness right up to the last line, and even then your voice (poetic voice) did not falter. Excellently done. Peace.

    Reply

  4. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jun 15, 2017 @ 22:43:31

    So much to ponder in this beautiful, pensive poem. I think of you so often…and Mama. Hospice is a wise choice…for you and her. Bereavement support after you lose her.

    Reply

  5. ZQ
    Jun 15, 2017 @ 23:46:13

    Wonderful!

    Reply

  6. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 00:34:46

    The ending made the sweetness of the green sound so much more. There is bitterness in green as well, like adding hops.

    Reply

  7. kim881
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 02:20:48

    So pleased to see you back, Toni, breathing in and pondering the smell of green.

    Reply

  8. anmol(alias HA)
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 03:29:09

    Ah, I could see, feel and smell the green from your words – it’s filled with so much and more – emotions and harsh realities of life come alive and glisten everywhere.
    Perhaps letting go is the only answer.
    Take care.
    -HA

    Reply

  9. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 04:21:07

    So good to see you again, Toni ❤️ this is powerfully written!

    Reply

  10. MarinaSofia
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 04:22:20

    I was right there with you, all the visuals and above all the smells of the ripeness and coyness and freshness of green… and then those two killer least lines. But you had worked up to it as being part of nature, the regreening, the renewal, the cycle. Never easy accepting it, though, sending lots of hugs your way.

    Reply

  11. Jane Dougherty
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 06:07:05

    Oh, what a sad poem! The associations, so sweet and peaceful, domestic, life going on, and the ultimate stage, life slowing into the last siding.

    Reply

  12. Beverly Crawford
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 08:56:49

    What a wonderful poem. I could smell the green and taste the gremolata, and feel the peace of the evening on the porch steps … and then I could feel the pain. God bless you, and God bless Momma.

    Reply

  13. nosaintaugustine
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 11:01:14

    I loved smelling all of these green smells! I appreciate how you append your last lines with the life event that is, I imagine, dominating your life at the moment. Because that’s how our thoughts go, nothing is ever perfect or in-the-moment, it all overlaps. Very nice.

    Reply

  14. ladynyo
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 12:15:31

    Oh, Toni….I love the smell of new mowed grass….and grass…..and that strawberry moon….the smallest of the year, we must be hearing the same weatherman. Lovely poem, dear heart! My hugs to you and your mama. Life never really stalls.

    Reply

  15. Glenn Buttkus
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 16:32:12

    Yes, there is sadness here, but also the glory of green, of celebrating the essence of life. You left me conflicted; smiling with tears in my eyes.

    Reply

  16. frankhubeny
    Jun 17, 2017 @ 10:38:45

    Best wishes. The attention to what is green with the brief announcement at the end were a powerful combination.

    Reply

  17. Gay Reiser Cannon
    Jun 17, 2017 @ 19:51:03

    This touching poem fits with your mastery of Eastern forms. The sensuous investigation of green sets up the images of the poem, bringing in that ubiquitous moon and then the kireji at the end bringing the tip of the knife to the turn. Excellent in its simplicity and completeness. This was masterful. Always a pleasure to read your work. Happy to be back this time. G.

    Reply

  18. Sascha Darlington
    Jun 22, 2017 @ 19:43:36

    This is beautiful. I gulped at the ending.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

