dVerse Poets Pub – OLN

Welcome to dVerse’s Open Link Night where there are no prompts – you can post one poem of your choice. Come over to the pub and enjoy cool quaffs of good poetry. http://dversepoets.com/2017/06/29/open-link-199-and-summer-break/

cool dry day – blue skies
drift overhead – hawks gliding
hunting – sparrows hide

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jillys2016
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 16:21:22

    You paint a perfect image. Our hawks have been raging as they have a young one just out of the nest. All that screaming!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 29, 2017 @ 16:23:14

      Yeppers. They are screamers. Now the eagles in their 2 ton nests on the river – they are silent until you feel their talons scrape across the top of your head warning you away. We have lots of trees for the bunnies and birds to hide in and under.

      Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 16:33:06

    I just wish I could see more of this… but soon I will go North and hope to see buzzards and maybe even an eagle or two…

    Reply

  3. Glenn Buttkus
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 16:38:11

    Nice, we both used a hawk in our poetics–great minds, I guess

    Reply

  4. frankhubeny
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 19:33:57

    The blue skies start this off in a peaceful way but the hawks hunting the sparrows shows tension.

    Reply

  5. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 20:56:31

    I see this so often. Last year I watched a baby sparrow I had rescued and returned to its birdhouse stick its little head out, only to be snatched up by a Blue Jay and devoured before my eyes. Such is nature’s circle of life, I suppose. But I grieved.

    Reply

    • ladynyo
      Jun 30, 2017 @ 13:12:41

      I have too, Victoria. Years ago I heard the frantic cries of a baby bird in the nest as my cats climbed the tree. And then silence. I have never forgotten this.

      Reply

  6. Lorraine
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 05:55:33

    I love to watch hawks so effortlessly against summer sky blue. I enjoyed the vivid imagery in your poem and the transition from peaceful to the hunt.

    Reply

  7. Laura Bloomsbury
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 06:10:13

    I like how you juxtapose cloud drifts for hawk – very vivid

    Reply

  8. Beverly Crawford
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 12:41:46

    Your words were awesome. Strangely, as I headed for my morning coffee, I saw the flash of a hawk landing on our deck. We watched each other for a bit, and then he flew back into the trees. He lurks at our bird feeders, watching for careless tiny visitors.

    Reply

  9. ladynyo
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 13:13:36

    just about a perfect haiku. lovely, Kanzen!

    Reply

  10. nosaintaugustine
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 20:21:00

    Lovely haiku, the menace of the predator on a perfect day.

    Reply

  11. Gay Reiser Cannon
    Jul 01, 2017 @ 03:19:22

    It is a delicate poem – perfectly capturing a day like many I’ve known. Sadly, now our sparrows are gone and I understand they’re vanishing from many parts of Planet Earth. They can still be found in Texas but not in my corner of it. I miss them.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 01, 2017 @ 10:47:16

      Thankfully we still have more than a gracious plenty in our neck of the woods – plenty of various types of sparrows, wrens, bluebirds (I have 8 houses full, up from 5 of last year) and if course the usual suspects. The mornings are noisy with them!

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  12. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Jul 01, 2017 @ 06:52:39

    The blue skies can present lots of danger! Very true Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  13. Grace
    Jul 01, 2017 @ 08:19:24

    Love your haiku Toni ~ Life and death in a snapshot ~

    Reply

  14. Mary Brearley
    Jul 02, 2017 @ 14:27:33

    It’s buzzards here. I love this.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

