Memories

This is written for Magaly’s prompt at Real Toads.  The first picture and phrase “fragile things” brought to mind my mother who recently died from complications relating to Alzheimer’s.  We are to use one of the pictures with a phrase for the picture and to write a poem with three stanzas.  http://withrealtoads.blogspot.se/2017/07/fragile-natural-wild-with-magaly.html

Memories
Where do memories go?
When a wife looks at her husband of fifty years
And sees only a stranger…
Memories are such fragile things.

Do memories go on walkabout?
Do they leave and go to places unknown
And then return – a different memory.
Memories are such fragile things.

Why do some memories stay and others leave?
A pet from childhood is remembered but
A daughter from today is forgotten.
Memories are such fragile things.

by Robert Draves@draves.robert

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 17:57:15

    So poignant–and, of course, I do relate. What especially got to me was that final stanza. Sigh.

    Reply

  2. Magaly Guerrero
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 19:23:33

    Memories are such complex treasures. Like people. They can keep us soaring or let us fall, (often with) no warning. Where do they go, indeed? And if we lose them, is there a lucky someone who finds them and keeps them warm?

    Reply

  3. oldegg
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 19:54:21

    It is worse when the bad memories shout at you yet the idyllic moments fade and you struggle to find them.

    Reply

  4. robert okaji
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 21:48:21

    Ah, geeze. I’ve been experiencing some of this with my dad. Disconcerting, to say the least.

    Reply

  5. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 00:13:46

    Oh I do know this.. and I do know yours.

    Reply

  6. navasolanature
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 08:38:53

    Your poem beautifully expresses the sadness when those we love lose their memory. Am sorry to hear about your loss and recall the challenges you had. I haven’t been blogging so much but life is just busy for me! I saw a trip to Japan following Basho’s journey north. Thought of you as you have inspired me with your Japenese influences and poetry. Take care.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 11, 2017 @ 17:10:33

      Thank you so much for your very kind and much needed words. I didn’t blog for awhile as I was taking care of my mother. now I have to scramble to fill the day – so I write more! Take care. I took that Basho trip years ago and it was a-mazing.

      Reply

      • navasolanature
        Jul 11, 2017 @ 17:21:21

        The Basho trip does sound amazing but just seen your ‘wave’ and I was lucky enough to see the Hokusai exhibition in London last week. That too was a-mazing. Keep well and keep writing!

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jul 11, 2017 @ 17:26:43

          Isn’t he an incredible artist … with woodblocks no less. Glad you got to see it. Thank you for your encouragement. Hope to see more of you along the poetry trail. You’re missed.

          Reply

  7. sanaarizvi
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 18:48:51

    This is so poignant. I am so sorry to hear about this Toni.. sending love and prayers..

    Reply

  8. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 15:18:09

    Oh, I have lived this poem through my mother who had Alzheimer’s. I wish I could have gone to where the memories go and brought them back to her.

    Reply

  9. lynn__
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 21:04:55

    Wistful write…brings me memories… of my mother-in-law who struggled with Alzheimers for 8 years before passing

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

