Silent Thunder Moon

For Real toads Tuesday platform: http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/07/the-tuesday-platform_11.html  NOTE: in North America, the full moons are given various names by the Native American tribes, according to their geography within the US. The “thunder” moon is from the Lakota Sioux.

Silent Thunder Moon
silver night –
the full thunder moon paints
my yard in argent tones.
silent night –
the full thunder moon sits
and watches the world below.
silver night
silent night –
hot steamy air
sweat runs down my skin under my tee shirt.
i take off my glasses
and the world resolves
into night camo shades.
silent – painted with silver
and drenched with dew
I sit.
the thunder moon is
silent – insects sleep deeply –
lone mockingbird sings

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frankhubeny
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 17:48:37

    I was wondering where those various moon names come from. The only bird I remember hearing in the evening was a whippoorwill but that is probably because I am not paying as much attention as I should.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 11, 2017 @ 17:53:25

      The mockingbird is a real talker/singer. I call him Peat and he has a friend – Repeat. I taught them the first six notes to the XFiles theme a couple of years ago. But last night, he was mimicking a cardinal that had been singing earlier.

      Reply

      • merrildsmith
        Jul 12, 2017 @ 07:54:29

        Lovely thoughtful poem. I like how the moon is watching at first, and then how you see the scene differently without glasses, silent and “night camo shades.”

        I love that you taught a mockingbird a song (even more that it was the X Files). 🙂 We have mockingbirds, too–and they sing all day and night. One is singing away right now. I am not very knowledgeable about birds, but I think one early morning it was imitating the tufted titmouse.
        Many years ago, there was a mockingbird who used to fly in front of a particular window when one of our cats was there and do this sort of aerial “I’m a big tough bird dance” in front of him.

        Reply

  2. Sherry Marr
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 18:03:33

    I watched that thunder moon rise the other night, and she was breathtaking!

    Reply

  3. sanaarizvi
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 18:39:10

    This is so incredibly stunning! ❤️ I felt like I was right there with you!

    Reply

  4. Shawna
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 18:42:40

    Fabulous. I adore this image:

    “i take off my glasses
    and the world resolves
    into night camo shades”

    Reply

  5. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 19:47:31

    I so appreciate this–American Indian Spirituality is so meaningful to me. I studied that based in the Southwest using. The Moon we are in right now, according to the Southwest Tribes is the Strong Sun Moon. You most likely have walked the Medicine Wheel. It is such a profound experience. Our study group built our own. You may appreciate a book called Dancing the Wheel by Sun Bear et.al. Another connection we enjoy. Enjoyed your poem, Toni–sounds like you were doing a sweat!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 11, 2017 @ 22:49:24

      Yes I have walked a couple of times. I have also walked the sacred spiral. The Southwest Tribes woud certainly call this moon the Strong Sun Moon. I totally agree with it. The Lakota and Algonquin and Ojibwa Tribes lived in similar areas – subject to high heat and storms from that heat. The Anasazi were what I was working on my MS for. Such respectful people, so holy, so fierce and ruthless when they needed to be. And I have read Dancing the Wheel! Incredible. I think this is why I so get the Japanese sensibilities – because of the similarities – the tradition, the honor, the ruthlessless, the realistic minds, the otherworldly hearts, the nature fed souls.

      Sent from Mail for Windows 10

      Reply

  6. thotpurge
    Jul 11, 2017 @ 23:03:06

    The repetitions work so well…

    Reply

  7. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 00:09:17

    Oh – as I have said before the moon is not so present for us here in summer.. the skies are too bright even at night. August is that moon month when it can be both warm and moonlit darkness.

    Reply

  8. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 04:20:46

    the thunder moon is
    silent – insects sleep deeply –
    lone mockingbird sings

    The thunder moon may appear to be endearingly stable. It can be a remedy for some quiet moments

    Hank

    Reply

  9. Brendan
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 05:48:38

    This is the perfect summer moonlight poem.

    Reply

  10. Kerry
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 09:54:48

    I love the names of full moons. I was admiring it from my southern home and wondered what this one was called: the Thunder Moon. Wonderful.

    Reply

  11. Marian
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 12:47:31

    Yes, yes. Argent, what a great word

    Reply

  12. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:25:51

    I love your thunder moon

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

