Snow

For Real Toads https://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/07/fireblossom-friday-bang-youre-dead.html Fireblossom Friday: Bang! You’re dead. Writing from beyond the grave….mwahahaaaaaaaa

Snow
drifting off
falling asleep
dreaming
opening the window
and gliding out into the snow
no footprints
no steamy breath
no weight no pain no sadness
walking into a dream
of slow falling snow
using the snowflakes
like stepping stones
walking up to the sky
walking on the tops of trees
of roofs of streetlights
covered with snow
slow falling snow
slow
falling…

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ManicDdaily
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 14:37:50

    A lovely–of course, the poem is mysterious, but the mystery works really very well–a wonderful dreamlike aspect. Thanks. k.

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 15:17:07

    I love the vision of passing so gently… and I do know how much you love the snow… the image of using the snow-flakes as stepping stones is very visual.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 13, 2017 @ 16:25:39

      Thank you Bjorn. Yes I do love the snow and when the heat index climbs to 108F, you can bet I have many dreams of snow.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  3. Mama Zen
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 15:47:40

    Like K, I was really struck by the dream-feel of this. Lovely.

    Reply

  4. paul scribbles
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 16:17:02

    I’ve often thought if i got to choose how to go that snow might be a really good option.This is dreamy.

    Reply

  5. alisonhankinson
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 17:20:10

    It will be so sad, not being able to glide in the snow. A very peaceful passing conveyed though. Beautiful. XXX

    Reply

  6. Sanaa Rizvi
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 17:54:14

    There is such a timeless quality to this … sigh.. ❤️

    Reply

  7. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 18:02:35

    I can visualize the scene–ethereal, mysterious and–who knows?

    Reply

  8. oldegg
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 19:34:04

    How easy it is to picture this tranquil scene as death overtakes us; that calm acceptance of the journey elsewhere.

    Reply

  9. Sherry Marr
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 23:01:08

    The most peaceful, beautiful description of death ever. I especially like the climbing up on the snowflakes, walking up to the sky.

    Reply

  10. coalblack
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 07:44:49

    I love the device of the snow.

    Reply

  11. coalblack
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 07:45:28

    ps–this is Fireblossom in Word Press clothing.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 15, 2017 @ 17:38:01

      Thank you! I am so glad you told me of your “alias”. I apologize for not quite writing to your prompt but the muse prompted me to write of snow. I do not think I would be one of those vengeful or sad or regretful dead – that I would go serenely into that good night when it is my time.

      Reply

  12. Kerry
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 08:20:50

    If dying is like walking out into the snow, it sounds quite serene.

    Reply

  13. kim881
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 08:21:32

    Ah, death by snow – the kiss of the Snow Queen. You gave me goose bumps with this poem, Toni. I love the image of:
    ‘no footprints
    no steamy breath
    no weight no pain no sadness’
    and
    ‘using the snowflakes
    like stepping stones’.

    Reply

  14. Helen L Dehner
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 16:37:20

    Your poem is lovely, soft, gently … everyone’s wish that death would come this way.

    Reply

  15. ladynyo
    Jul 15, 2017 @ 12:50:55

    Oh…this gave me chills….no pun intended. Tender, mysterious, ethereal. the way I like them.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

