dVerse Poetics: The End

Today at dVerse Paul is giving the prompt for us. His theme is “The End” – end of life, end of love, end of the world, the Last Samurai – The End.  http://dversepoets.com/2017/08/01/the-end/   Come visit us and read the poems inspired by The End. This is also being posted for the Tuesday Open Forum at Real Toads: http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/08/the-tuesday-platform.html

The End
Life is never promised.
someday, we will pass through time –
the world just stops under silent control.

On the platform where trains never come
this reality, faintly shining –
Like leaves blowing in the wind –
at the crossing, crowded with figures
this reality, faintly shining –
Pushing aside the veil of the world,
the truth is always a paradox.

As this era comes to its end,
we’ll wake up from our slumber.
Both profound darkness and
the light of hope lurk inside us.
As the curtain is being raised for another era,
we’ll cross the bridge of this spotless world.

On the platform where trains never come
this reality, faintly shining.

 

public domain photo

 

52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jae Rose
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 13:29:18

    What a profound piece – stunning thoughts and imagery

    Reply

  2. Kerry
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 13:33:16

    Both profound darkness and
    the light of hope lurk inside us.

    So much truth in this statement!

    Reply

  3. Sherry Blue Sky
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 14:06:02

    What a marvelous poem. I love the repeated line – so effective. I note the darkness and the light of hope shining inside us. May the light triumph! This is a very beautiful poem! I loved it.

    Reply

  4. paul scribbles
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 15:51:49

    The repetition is powerful and the poem provides deep matter for chewing upon. Thoughtful and sublime.

    Reply

  5. kim881
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 16:07:09

    I could never stand on a platform where trains never come – too eerie by far. I have a fear of empty platforms, especially when I’m on my own, but I’m equally afraid of crowded platforms. Your poem gave me a chill.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 01, 2017 @ 16:09:47

      I have a deep interested in abandoned places in the urban world. I have visited several in Japan, several on the east coast of the US and a couple in Germany. They fascinate me. Especially the ones in Japan. Where the trains never come is sort of a Japanese euphemism for death.

      Sent from Mail for Windows 10

      Reply

  6. lillian
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 16:07:32

    I’ll take your Zen thoughts any day! 🙂 This is beautiful.

    I too love the repetition…and the illustration is perfect with the lighting in the curve of the platform….

    Especially love these lines:
    “Pushing aside the veil of the world,
    the truth is always a paradox”

    This is the kind of poem to reflect on….to think about….I am somewhat transfixed by it….:)

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 01, 2017 @ 16:11:20

      Wow Thank you Paul. The pic is a public domain one I grabbed from Abandoned Train Platforms by search. I too loved the curves in the station. I felt it suited the poem more than the other five images I tried!

      Sent from Mail for Windows 10

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 01, 2017 @ 16:24:35

      Sorry Lillian! I was looking at two screens at once and zigged where I should have zagged. Thank you Lillian so much. Your praise always means so much to me.

      Sent from Mail for Windows 10

      Reply

  7. Beverly Crawford
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 16:19:22

    I was captured by your poem. The phrase “where the trains never come” is so evocative. Wonderful write!

    Reply

  8. Frank Hubeny
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 17:17:37

    I liked the description of our perspective on reality as “faintly shining” and as a “veil”.

    Reply

  9. Sanaa Rizvi
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 17:48:43

    The repetition works so beautifully here, Toni! Gorgeously penned!

    Reply

  10. swansign
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 18:03:55

    The imagery of bridges brings the feeling of echoes and adds to the ambience your words create. Very nice.

    Reply

  11. Victoria C. Slotto
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 18:05:23

    Toni, this is a stunning write–the image of the train platform is truly effective. Such good descriptions throughout.

    Reply

  12. Glenn Buttkus
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 18:19:46

    I love the Zen lesson you shared with us. You & I covered similar ground, but yours is rife with cherry blossoms & light–and mine has jagged edges, sarcasm & anger–kind of where I’m at these days. I dig the notion that truth revealed will be paradoxical–what’s revealed beyond the veil. & what’s revealed as tiny pieces of the cosmic puzzle as we’re in lesson.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 01, 2017 @ 18:25:04

      I learned much while watching my mother die. One thing is that the end is not always a bad thing. She suffered greatly – a good person full of life and laughter and love. But still she suffered. I like to think that when she crossed that bridge, that loved ones who have gone before met her. I cannot be angry. There is so much anger and hate in the world now. I try to keep calm and carry on. I hope you are well.

      Reply

  13. Nan Mykel
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 20:43:03

    My fav: On the platform where trains never come

    Reply

  14. oldegg
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 21:20:19

    What a beautiful poem about the reality of life and death and our acceptance of it. Watching people die is no fun and having done this several times I find that being there at the end was the best thing rather than being shocked by the news.

    Reply

  15. thotpurge
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 22:17:39

    On the platform where trains never come
    this reality, faintly shining…. love those lines…

    Reply

  16. Sabio Lantz
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 22:22:13

    fascinating analogy — I think the notion of truth is odd — there are only really the details in my world — much less monistic. You are playful with the details.

    Reply

  17. erbiage
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 23:54:50

    Really fantastic, Toni. I too am fascinated by abandoned places.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 02, 2017 @ 20:28:01

      The places in Japan seem especially compelling. The people have a different mentality about taking abandoned items…books, kitchen stuff, paintedvtiles, tables…you name it.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  18. Sumana Roy
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 01:36:35

    I love the repetition that creates an aching void.

    Reply

  19. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 02:47:03

    Beautiful use of repetition, and I love the sentiments too.

    Reply

  20. Brendan
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 06:23:50

    That platform we stand upon “where trains never come” is such a prescient image and moment for us. I take a certain comfort that no train will carry the likes of us into whatever future is to come. Great to be reading you regularly at the Imaginary Garden with Real Toads.

    Reply

  21. maria
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 07:52:35

    Powerful and beautiful poem, Toni!

    Reply

  22. sarahsouthwest
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 10:32:39

    The repetition works so very well here. There’s a yearning in this poem – or that’s what it awoke in me, anyway!

    Reply

  23. Magaly Guerrero
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 10:35:00

    “…someday, we will pass through time” The things we would do different, the way we would enjoy life and living, if we only remembered this everyday… Such wisdom.

    Reply

  24. sarahrussellpoetry
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 10:59:54

    Just stunning. A platform where trains never come… Brilliant.

    Reply

  25. Jade M. Wong
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 11:21:25

    A Beautiful poem with a really intriguing premise, and that photo! A platform where trains never come…it sounds so melancholy and lonely.

    Reply

  26. nosaintaugustine
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 14:58:01

    Lovely! I like this line “the world just stops under silent control”

    Reply

  27. Jane Dougherty
    Aug 02, 2017 @ 16:29:04

    ‘this platform where trains never come’ conjures up so many images, and all of them lonely. Not definitive, just in suspense.

    Reply

  28. jerennazuto
    Aug 03, 2017 @ 06:18:48

    A beautiful poem!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

