Me, Walking

quilt block


Me, Walking

And on this dark night of tattered clouds
and snow and me walking –
trying to piece out this crazy quilt
of emotions confessions beseechings anger
and all you can do is repeat the same words –
all I can do is to not hear them
over and over and over again again again
until I have to escape outside
and walk in this sporadic snow under the shrouded moon –
my footsteps looking like a drunken tango
filling with snow.
muttering whywhywhy – the litany of an idiot
or a fool finding truth for the first time –
I’m sure those beings above the clouds
laugh at those like me as they pull the clouds
tighter about the moon creating darkness.
a deer breaks cover – a shadow against the snow –
an owl flies overhead
his wings beating against the snow
hunting for…just hunting for a mouse or the truth.
And on this dark night of tattered clouds
And me walking,

 

free public use image

For Margaret’s prompt today at Real Toads:  “The challenge is to write a poem using one of these fabric details OR if you have a special quilt (or memories of one) write about that instead.”   One of the blocks particularly brought up memories of my lover and I discussing his return to Japan, years ago.  http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/08/artistic-interpretations-with-margaret.html

 

 

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahrussellpoetry
    Aug 03, 2017 @ 23:02:12

    Toni, a beautiful medley of nature and self discovery. The implied transition carries us with her into a next chapter.

    Reply

  2. Margaret Schaff Bednar
    Aug 03, 2017 @ 23:06:23

    Searching for answers – and often not given right away. Beautiful poem of yearning,
    frustration, sadness… It does go well with the image!

    Reply

  3. sarahsouthwest
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 02:03:00

    This is very strong. The woman alone in the snow, the tango (it takes two) of her footsteps. Love it.

    Reply

  4. kim881
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 05:35:13

    Snap! I was drawn to this design too! I love what you found in it – and there’s that snow you’ve been dreaming of!

    Reply

  5. Brendan
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 05:45:32

    Lots of great stuff in this quilt, a nightwalk, a vigil, a reverie and a benediction for truth that can only be beheld, not found. (Note, the poem you linked at the Quilt challenge at Real Toads went to your End poem at D’Verse.)

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 04, 2017 @ 13:07:25

      Thanks Brendan. Were you the kind soul that delinked it? Thank you for that as well. I zigged when I should have zagged. the hummingbirds outside my window distracted me. I’m just like a cat sometimes.

      Reply

  6. oldegg
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 06:38:07

    With one of my married daughters trying to finish some craft work for an annual show I can well understand your characters stress. I love that in your character’s anguish the answer reveals itself to her, so she is saved after all. Beautifully written.

    Reply

  7. Bodhirose
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 09:00:20

    This is great, Toni, the emotions come through so clearly and I love how you describe your footsteps in the snow as looking like a “drunken tango”…perfect. I can relate to having to get outside to walk that bad news off.

    Reply

  8. Kerry
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 11:21:36

    You created the context for the narrative so well, I like the way you worked in the human factor.

    Reply

  9. purplepeninportland
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 19:45:47

    I love that image of ‘footsteps looking like a drunken tango.’ Sometimes answers are best found in the light of the moon.

    Reply

  10. Victoria C. Slotto
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 20:06:04

    Stunning, Toni. The textures of a life in this come together so beautifully, especially there at the end with those clouds being pulled together to cover the moon and create darkness. Such sensory descriptions.

    Reply

  11. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 23:00:45

    A vivid recreation of a turbulent time – yet I find the confronting of truth to be positive. And yes, matching beautifully the quilt fragment and the wintry image.

    Reply

  12. lynn__
    Aug 05, 2017 @ 22:30:24

    Nothing like a walk in nature to bring clarity…or at least, escape! Of course, you chose the fabric with the snow AND moon…seems to fit you, Toni 🙂

    Reply

  13. Candy
    Aug 06, 2017 @ 20:22:07

    ‘just hunting for a mouse or the truth’ – brilliant. I love the feel of this poem.

    Reply

  14. Nayana Nair
    Aug 14, 2017 @ 05:41:44

    love your poem 🙂

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

