The Season of Fireflies is Past

This is for Poetry Pantry at Poets United. Since my mother died in June, I have gone back to writing more. I restricted my posts this past year.  And now here I am trying to get back in the swing of things.  Poets United:  http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2017/08/poetry-pantry-365.html  I will also be posting this for Real Toads Tuesday Platform http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/08/the-tuesday-platform_8.html and for dVerse Open Link Night this following Thursday.

The Season of Fireflies is Past
the shade from trees is getting longer –
the days are getting shorter –
nights are getting cooler.
The season of fireflies is past.
early summer dusk
black trees against gray skies –
it is so silent.
the sound of a train whistle
several miles away carries
faintly over the tops of trees –
it moves like a slow river and pools
in the black grass of my back yard.
I’ve seen one firefly so far.
It winked at eye level
and a few minutes later it winked higher up
and still a few minutes later it winked
up in the top of the old oak.
the train whistle awakens the insects –
The cicadas and crickets –
it awakens the tree frogs who begin their
treble belching – and the old bullfrog
in my dying garden sings
basso profundo – the cicadas
ratchet it up a little bit louder.
I can feel it in my soul and in my bones –
Summer is taking her shower and soon will
be in her jammies and sleeping.
autumn will awaken and begin his
royal progress throughout the land
trailing clear blue skies, deer, and golden leaves
in his wake.
The season of fireflies is past.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lily
    Aug 06, 2017 @ 20:49:33

    Good golly, this is GORGEOUS:

    “Summer is taking her shower and soon will
    be in her jammies and sleeping.
    autumn will awaken and begin his
    royal progress throughout the land
    trailing clear blue skies, deer, and golden leaves
    in his wake.”

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 09:54:59

    Indeed it is hard to realize the season of fireflies is past. Summer is going way too fast….and will soon be asleep. I liked the way you expressed this time period, Toni; and it is nice to see you here in Poets United once again!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 07, 2017 @ 14:47:09

      It is good to be back. I had spent so much time looking after my mother. She died in June. Now in the midst of my grieving, I am starting to write again. It feels good.

      Reply

  3. Sumana Roy
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 10:12:00

    Beautiful night images singing a dirge as it were for summer. So wonderfully composed. So nice to see you here in PU.

    Reply

  4. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 11:56:45

    Haunting; just a touch of melancholy.

    Reply

  5. Sherry Blue Sky
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 12:26:25

    Oh this is so visually gorgeous. I can see the old bullfrog……This is such a beautiful poem, Toni, and I am so sorry about the loss of your mother. It must make the change of seasons very melancholy for you. I like the lines about summer putting on its jammies as autumn takes the field…….

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 07, 2017 @ 14:49:41

      I always get a bit of melancholy at some point during autumn. But then it picks up again. Thank you for your words about my mother. It is indeed very sad but I am moving along. The line about the jammies made me smile. I was going to take it out but then, it made me smile. I hope it did you as well.

      Reply

  6. Grace
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 15:00:47

    I have not see a firefly here ~ Love the visual painting of the late summer, with the approaching autumn ~ Hold the scents and sounds in my soul and in my bones ~ Hope you are well Toni ~

    Reply

  7. Sanaa Rizvi
    Aug 08, 2017 @ 15:56:19

    I am so sorry for your loss, Toni. Please accept my deepest condolences. This is a beautiful poem, especially love; “autumn will awaken and begin his royal progress throughout the land trailing clear blue skies, deer, and golden leaves in his wake.”

    Reply

  8. kim881
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 15:39:49

    No fireflies here – I wish there were! I love this poem. The repetition of the phrase is a reminder of the time of year. I like the evocative sound of a train whistle and the way:
    ‘it moves like a slow river and pools
    in the black grass of my back yard’.
    I also like the winking firefly and the noises of the insects and frogs – especially the ‘treble belching’ and basso profundo!

    Reply

  9. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 22:33:01

    I never see fireflies here on the gulf coast. It is the season of hurricanes. Summer is dressed here in storm clouds and wind.

    Reply

  10. Marian
    Aug 10, 2017 @ 06:26:31

    Yes… the next season is on its way. This is beautiful. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

