Poets United: Memories

This is posted for the Mid-Week prompt at Poets United – Memories. I am posting three haiku for this. The third was writing in loving memory of my friend Peggie who died two years ago.  They are written in the Japanese spirit of mono no aware (sadness at the passing of things) and aware cho (the deep sigh at the end of something)  Link at Poets United:  http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2017/09/poets-united-midweek-motif-memories.html I am also linking this up to my favorite poetry site, dVerse.

copyright Kanzensakura

I.
memories falling
as autumn leaves – dying in
flames blown by the wind

II.
sleepy woodland pool –
leaves drift on surface dreaming
of past summer sun

III.
summer night is long –
dew falls but fades at morning –
grasses remember

 

 

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lilliansthomas
    Sep 06, 2017 @ 14:24:58

    I really like these 3 haiku. The second one is my favorite and seems the most subtle.
    but all 3 evoke more than a moment in nature.

    Reply

  2. The Thrifty Campers
    Sep 06, 2017 @ 14:49:08

    That was a good similarity between lost memories and falling leaves. I liked the way your poem sums up summer leading into autumn:)

    Reply

  3. phoartetry
    Sep 06, 2017 @ 15:52:49

    Enjoyed experiencing your haiku

    Reply

  4. Sumana Roy
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 01:42:33

    Love them all. specially the dewy moment remembered by the grass. Exquisite. Toni, I didn’t find the poem among the links posted at Poets United. So I linked this poem there.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 07, 2017 @ 06:00:29

      Thank you Sumana very much. I’ll go back and check today. I have an ancient computer. The PU homepage is so dense text wise that it takes a long time to load. I try to use my tablet as much as possible. Thank you again for your kindness.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  5. sarahrussellpoetry
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 07:51:44

    I think the third is my favorite. Love the grasses remembering the dew. I find I don’t think in the rhythm of haiku so it doesn’t compose for me well. I think it’s because I was steeped in iambic pentameter for my early poetry, so I think in an even number of syllables in a line. I love the form, but I’m not very good at it. You do it wonderfully. Of course, a samurai taught you… 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 07, 2017 @ 09:58:53

      Thank you so much Sarah. Actually when I was six our next door neighbor who took a shine to me and taught me about haiku. He was professor of foreign studies at Duke University and a lover of all things Japanese and had travelled there many times.. he also taught me other Japanese firms. Masashi tauggt me about the seasons, the reverencing and “noticing” of them, the “oh” moments of them. TS Eliot taught me the non-rythm of them. I discovered Eliot when I was 12. I fell in love with his way with words, hus non-rythm, his observation of people, animals, and social times. I too was immersed in the rythm and rhymes of poetry until the end of high school and some in university. Haiku is about taking a snapshot of nature, not painting an entire picture in oils and waiting for it to dry. It is about walking out into your yard, a park, a field,…looking at window boxes or dogs being walked in the city, about looking up at the sky, or down at gravel or about a bothersome fly, a cardinal, or apile of dog poop. It is about being aware of the natural world around you. You observe out you window that it is misty and suddenly a hawk flies into it or a crow barks breakung the silence. You are struck by that minute and so you pull out your cell phone and snap! You take a snapshot. That is haiku. It is like the eye in the midst of a hurricane. All the violence of the storm swirling around one clear eye. It isn’t about the rythm. Haiku can be 5-7-5 or it can be short-long-short. But is about that snapshot of nature held within you. It is about that inner feeling. Haiku is about being spoken in one breath. It is enlightening, devastating, humorous. I have been studying, writing, and teaching haiku for 30+ years…seriously doing it for 30+ years. Sorry for the lecture Sarah. I get going and it is hard to stop. You are an amazing poet. You have so much inside of you.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • sarahrussellpoetry
        Sep 09, 2017 @ 00:42:00

        So glad I visited your poems again through Blenza. I didn’t get your reply by email. Weird. Anyway thank you for the “lecture.” I knew most of it, but I so love your passion for the form, your explanations, and you do haiku so, so well. I look forward to your poems everytime they come to my mailbox.

        Reply

  6. Susan Chast
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 09:35:18

    Wonderful, wonder full, and again wonderful–I love the leaves, the falling, the flames, the remembering.

    Reply

  7. annell4
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 15:51:08

    You took my breath away with your three entries….how beautiful!!!

    Reply

  8. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 15:54:13

    Love the three ones.. of course I remember the third… a lovely reminder.

    Reply

  9. charliezero1.wordpress.com
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 16:42:42

    All 3 haiku poems of yours is a reminder of autumn and its memories we will always remember within the one’s we’ve lost and hold dear in our hearts.

    Truly, I love what you’ve captured. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Beverly Crawford
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 17:57:43

    I love the ability of haiku to capture a moment in time with sparse words. You do it so well!

    Reply

  11. Grace
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 18:52:19

    Beautifully poignant of one season departs/starts, specially the last one ~

    Reply

  12. dianadevlinblog
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 19:19:53

    I could have written Sarah’s feedback myself! I too like the third haiku best, particularly the grasses remembering. Just wonderful.

    Reply

  13. Sherry Blue Sky
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 19:20:51

    So beautiful, especially the third one …the grasses remember. I appreciated your explanation about haiku as well. I must try to write some, might be helpful when long poems are not coming easily these days. Snapshots………..thank you.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 07, 2017 @ 19:22:16

      You’re welcome. Any time you want to run under the moon and howl, just let me know! arrroooooooooo as I used to say to my friend Peggie about whom the third haiku relates. A special tiny wild woman, gone too soon.

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 07, 2017 @ 19:33:24

      And…there is senryu – a not a haiku – the same amount of syllables with no season word in it. It can show humor and sensual stuff, and also, that “oh” moment.

      Reply

  14. ladynyo
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 20:04:04

    These really do capture mono no aware. The impermanence of life, the sadness of life. Beautiful, Toni.

    Reply

  15. mhatter99
    Sep 07, 2017 @ 21:27:51

    Well captured and expressed

    Reply

  16. Jae Rose
    Sep 08, 2017 @ 02:35:49

    Beautiful remembering’s there is a softness in the lament

    Reply

  17. kim881
    Sep 08, 2017 @ 03:06:45

    I love the way you started with ‘memories falling as autumn leaves’ and end with the grasses remembering, Toni. You have the full circle in three haiku.

    Reply

  18. Alwi Shatry
    Sep 08, 2017 @ 03:07:15

    Grass remembering the dew. Very creative. That was my stand alone favorite.

    Reply

  19. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Sep 08, 2017 @ 04:18:47

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous write ❤️

    Reply

  20. memadtwo
    Sep 08, 2017 @ 06:08:29

    Lovely.

    Reply

  21. qbit
    Sep 08, 2017 @ 14:52:33

    I love the last haiku the most, and the last line most of most! Perfect.

    Reply

  22. Bryan Ens
    Sep 09, 2017 @ 10:32:15

    These are beautiful! I especially love the 3rd one…that bit about the grasses remembering really grabs my heart

    Reply

  23. Frank Hubeny
    Sep 09, 2017 @ 12:53:08

    I liked the second one the best with the sleepy pool and the fallen leaves dreaming.

    Reply

  24. paul scribbles
    Sep 09, 2017 @ 13:24:10

    A delicate and soulful trio.

    Reply

  25. Just Barry
    Sep 09, 2017 @ 22:40:14

    Love the easy pace of this. Oddly peaceful and melancholy tones, but it made me envision autumn.

    Reply

  26. Bekkie Sanchez
    Sep 24, 2017 @ 13:59:35

    Very nice trio of haiku! Sorry about your friend.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

