Real Toads: The Distorted Lens

today this is for Shay’s Prompt over at Real Toads:  http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/09/fireblossom-friday-distorted-lens.html  She wants us to write while seeing through a “distorted lens”…madness, addiction, whatever.  Today I am writing through “no lens”.  I am having several surgeries being done to my eyes – extreme retinal problems.  My best friend is over “baby sitting” with me today – reading and typing for me.  I am having to wear special blackout sunglasses – basically I am temporarily blind.  I am writing this after mine and Pam’s walk this morning.  I think she is…rather frightened by this crazed blinded woman in her sunglasses, blue jean shorts and using her wakizashi as a guide cane. And Shay, alls I can say is: don’t fear the haiku – to paraphrase Blue Oyster Cult: All our times have come, Here but now they’re gone – Seasons don’t fear the haiku – Nor do the wind, the sun or the rain, we can be like they are…don’t fear the haiku…besides haiku isn’t appropriate (or rather real haiku and not the fauxku going the rounds) for this prompt….maybe  a double doditusu (7-7-7-5 syllable count) and often humorous. To thank my friend for babysitting,   I’m making Chinese Pulled Noodles for lunch today in a rich broth and lots of chopped veggies.  Y’all come!  Watch the blind lady twist pull beat chop….

 

blackout sunglasses – first day
of autumn – I can’t see it
but I can smell it –  can feel
the sun on my face

scuppernongs – globes of juice that
squirt autumn into my mouth –
I can’t see them but I can
taste them – wow – sexy

copyright kanzensakura

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coalblack
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 11:25:11

    Toni, you crack me up. That’s an old favorite song of mine; it sounds macabre but really, it isn’t.

    What an experience you’re going through. As someone who has been through the medical mill a time or two, I know it is no fun. Sometimes, though, it does force us to experience the world from a different place. In any event, I hope that you are healed in a hurry and that you have a stellar result. Meanwhile, you have certainly gone above and beyond to participate today and I appreciate you being here!

    Walks away singing “.. take my hand, we’ll be able to fly, don’t fear the haiku…” 😉

    Reply

  2. kanzensakura
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 11:33:11

    It is one of my fave songs as well. Year’s ago an ex-lover was teaching me swords forms. He said to me always expect your death as given. It will free you. And then he sang this song to me while I was swinging my sword. Yeppers. It freed me. Don’t fear the haiku….

    Reply

  3. kim881
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 11:40:52

    Toni, I was so worried when I heard about your surgery, but I can see that your spirit remains uncracked or broken and it hasn’t stopped you from creating something fabulous from words, especially that second stanza with autumn being squirted into your mouth! I bet you look cool in your sunglasses 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 22, 2017 @ 12:14:00

      I always look cool. These are big and outsized so I actally look kind of dorky but I t6hink I like it. My husband attached a couple of things to my keyboard so I can type legibly instead of gibberish. I think I just scared my friend into next week when I picked up my 12 inch chef blade nd began chopping veggies. This is okay for temporary. I don’t know how I would react to being permanently blind. And pam said, no she was not frightened when I began chopping vegges. Two more weeks of this….ad how is your poor tooth doing?

      Sent from Mail for Windows 10

      Reply

      • kim881
        Sep 22, 2017 @ 12:19:12

        Tooth is OK, thanks Toni, just a bit of sensitivity it seems to be settling down. Now I’ve got a blasted headache! What are the chances of you and Bjorn both having detached retinas in the sane year? I’m glad you’re being well looked after. It must be so frustrating for you, though. Two more weeks in the dark will hopefully pass quickly.

        Reply

  4. Sherry Blue Sky
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 12:15:21

    Your spirit is remarkable and you go above and beyond COOKING blindfolded. My goodness, I would be on the couch, waiting for someone to bring me soup. (Though living alone, I might wait a long time.) May your eyes heal spectacularly. Retinal damage is very serious. My mother had it, but in her case no surgery was possible. I am very hopeful for successful results for you. I love your poem. And your “dont fear haiku to Shay, lol.)

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 22, 2017 @ 12:19:42

      Come have pho with us….I’ll be ready about 1 pm EST. sherry, I couldn’t not cook. L am blessed to have an amazing doctor. Counting down…two more weeks. ut then I dread seeing again and the shape my house is in because My husbad is dear – reading poems to me (which he dislikes intensely) and typing for me although he says it is okay with the bead he glued to the keyboard to help me orient myself.

      Reply

  5. qbit
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 13:14:18

    “scuppernongs”! You have made it a life goal for me to use this word in a poem.

    Reply

  6. Jim
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 14:03:53

    Nice welcome to Fall, Tony. I The scuppernong should be fairly ripe now. I had to look it up and found it to be a native, antique if rose, Muscatine grape variety. It would make some good wine or good eating, either.
    I almost wrote an American Sentence Haiku mix, actually American Sentence Senryū but I don’t think there is such a thing. I’m not sure what Shay has against “Japanese” but I guess that’s her thing. She doesn’t like me either and I’m a mixture of Manx, English, and German. Lines back to Europe, all three.
    You poem also reminded me of the song, “I hear singing but there’s no one there”, Mrs. Jim and I were talking about that one on our walk this morning.
    p.s. Our ‘Sprout’ grocery store may carry scuppernong now and then. I love their dark chocolate covered honeycomb. Pieces about one inch square and larger.
    ..

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 22, 2017 @ 15:12:37

      I like you fine Jim. The black muscadines are actually deep purple. But whether the golden green or black, they are good eating. I used to stand at our old huge vine as a kid and eat myself sick. I am making jelly tomorrow with a mix of the black and green grapes. The juice is so sweet and winey. I’ll make a couple of bottles of wine to pour onto fruitcake this winter as well.

      A lot of people don’t care for the Japanese style of poetry because they are so disciplined and not “free” verse. They feel there is no feeling in the Japanese style poetry. It just doesn’t slap you in the face and put you through the wringer. So many of the younger poets love drama, angst, and put experimental along side of good poetry. You can have a senryu, doditsu, tanka, and haiku but they don’t scramble together to well. Japanese poetry is a loner. I’ve been writing Japanese form poetry since I was a little kitten. I’m too old and fat to change now. I’m too mature for this rambling free association shit to be honest.

      Nice talking to you. You and Mrs. Jim have a good day. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Get Outlook for Android

      ________________________________

      Reply

  7. Victoria C. Slotto
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 15:29:32

    You amaze me. Nothing deters you when it comes to poeming and moving on through life no matter what the obstacles. Your poem tells me as much. Prayers and good thoughts coming your way.

    Reply

  8. paul scribbles
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 15:55:46

    Scuppernongs…really…stupendous word…oh and you can do this prompt with a Haiku and still live 😉

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 22, 2017 @ 15:58:47

      Well you know what they say…when you can’t haiku then doditsu or boussekeki…this lil pony has a lot of tricks hidden in her mane! And scuppernongs taste so dang good.

      Get Outlook for Android

      ________________________________

      Reply

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 16:46:49

    I know exactly what you are going through… it was scary at first, but mine has healed perfectly (don’t know if you had exactly the same).. but I know you should be careful with lifting heavy objects… I could cook as well (after all it was only one eye)… and after a few days I was ready for sitting in front of the screen as well… mend well my friend.

    Reply

  10. georgeplace2013
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 17:54:49

    What a terrific attitude… and friend… and word!

    Reply

  11. ManicDdaily
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 18:51:09

    Ha, so clever! Feel the squirt! Thanks. k.

    Reply

  12. purplepeninportland
    Sep 22, 2017 @ 20:20:45

    You are an amazingly resilient person, Toni. I am sure that getting through this would be even more difficult without your wonderful sense of humor.

    Reply

  13. Sarah Russell
    Sep 23, 2017 @ 09:06:49

    Love how you are “carrying on” with the business of writing — dictating to friends, a bead on the keyboard. Hang in, Toni. This will sharpen your senses for even more Haiku!

    Reply

  14. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Sep 23, 2017 @ 15:55:09

    Oh, to have other fingers type what you can smell and taste but can’t see is such a blessing. Love the humor! I hope all well go well!

    Reply

  15. mhmp77
    Sep 24, 2017 @ 00:42:45

    kaykuala

    When one can smell and taste them it would be the ultimate. Wonderful write Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  16. lynn__
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 15:00:23

    May God bless your hubby and your eyes, Toni! Now I’m hungry to taste a juicy scuppernong 🙂

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

