dVerse Poets Quadrille Monday – Spice

Today Mish is hosting the bar and prompt at dVerse Poets.  She has chosen the word  “spice” for us. The word was inspired by a crockpot of curried carrot soup. Sounds like yummy time to me.  A Quadrille is a form unique to dVerse Poets Pub; it consists of a poem of exactly 44 words (excluding the title) and the prompted word to be used in the body of the poem.  I have bribed my next door neighbor to type and read for me.  I am having trouble with my eyes and cannot look at a.n.y.t.h.i.n.g for two weeks.  My carry on spirit caused more harm than good but I had committed in my heart to this Quadrille before signing off for two weeks.  Sigrid has volunteered to type this post for me and to read a few poems to me and transcript my comments.  I apologize that I will not be able to respond to all the poems and comments but I only have her from 3:15 to 3:30.  After this, I will be silent for two weeks.  It has been interesting sitting and listening to the world going on around me while I sit, and sit, and…shimo no koe is Japanese for first frost’s voice – hear my haibun whisper…dverse link:  http://dversepoets.com/2017/09/25/quadrille-41/

shimo no koe
Trees are parsley stalks on the hillside. They need the spicy kiss of frost
to change into turmeric and cayenne. Soon summer will fall asleep. Autumn will awaken.

first frost speaks on the night the
owl flies across the moon –
stars pepper the sky

 

public domain image – ground spices

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annell4
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 15:29:33

    How very nice!!!

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 15:37:42

    I have seen the first spicy kissed trees now.. the maple are turning, and the colors are coming before they set into rot of fall.

    Reply

  3. Linda Kruschke
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 15:39:58

    Love this phrase: “spicy kiss of frost.” Combining something we normally think of as hot with something cold. Praying your eyes heal in the time you are away.

    Reply

  4. paul scribbles
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 15:59:37

    Delightful color and flavor to this Haibun. The Haiku is magnificent.

    Reply

  5. Glenn Buttkus
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 16:02:16

    I worked with eyes as a special ED vision teacher. I am so impressed with your poem, not only on its own merit, but that you held it in your mind without seeing the words decorate a page. I applaud your tenacity & talent. Hopes, prayers & white light on its way to you right now.

    Reply

  6. Beverly Crawford
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 16:36:00

    My trees are being kissed with spice as well. Love your shimo no koe … and may the two weeks go quickly!

    Reply

  7. sarahsouthwest
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 17:18:52

    Oh, beautiful – the prompt and the season bound together. I hope the next couple of weeks pass smoothly for you.

    Reply

  8. marley raine
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 18:01:44

    GORGEOUS!!!

    I am so sorry you are going through this. 😦 Be safe, though. See you back soon.

    Reply

  9. Arcadia Maria
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 20:19:49

    Love the structure of this quadrille. My favorite lines: “Soon summer will fall asleep. Autumn will awaken.”

    Reply

  10. nosaintaugustine
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 20:26:06

    I like that image of trees as parsley stalks!

    Reply

  11. Frank Hubeny
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 20:50:40

    I liked the “spicy kiss of frost”. It is the first time I’ve thought of frost as spicy.

    Reply

  12. Mish
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 20:56:53

    Giving the frost a voice is a beautiful thing….
    Rest those eyes….we’ll miss you.

    Reply

  13. purplepeninportland
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 20:59:27

    Spicy kisses are the best. Take care, Toni. We will miss your voice.

    Reply

  14. Margaret Elizabeth Bednar
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 21:25:13

    the owl flies across the moon – I almost witnessed this the other night at the horse barn – an owl circling the field and landing on the fence – If only he had climbed a little higher he could have sliced the sliver of moon – Lovely poem. I hope you relax and enjoy your two weeks and come back all better and refreshed!

    Reply

  15. revivedwriter
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 22:32:43

    I love the comparison of summer turning to fall and winter with different spices.

    Reply

  16. Victoria C. Slotto
    Sep 25, 2017 @ 23:11:57

    Beautiful.

    Reply

  17. kim881
    Sep 26, 2017 @ 03:55:01

    I love the image of trees needing the ‘spicy kiss of frost to change into turmeric and cayenne’. It’s already stared here and I have my camera ready in anticipation.
    The owls and the stars are a perfect completion.

    Reply

  18. lillian
    Sep 26, 2017 @ 08:09:32

    oh Toni…..you have the gift with words. This is truly beautiful.
    Now rest, my friend. Be still with your eyes….and let your ears and taste buds and sense of touch guide you these next two weeks. We’ll be thinking of you…and sending wishes for serenity and healing! 🙂

    Reply

  19. alisonhankinson
    Sep 26, 2017 @ 16:10:23

    Can you hear things…shall we record the poems for you? I send you healing thoughts and love.

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Haibun Monday–Shimo No Koe–First Frost’s Voice | dVerse

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

