Poets United: Midweek Motif

I have been out of the poetry rounds for several weeks due to problems with my eyes.  The MD has cleared me and I am back on the circuits again.  This is about a stray tuxedo tom who I began feeding a couple of autumns ago.  I didn’t want to love him, I just wanted to feed him.  But I fell in love of course.  I called him Nobody’s Cat.  I am posting this for Poets United Mid-week Motif on animals.  http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2017/10/poets-united-midweek-motif-animals.html

The Potting Shed

The old potting shed is slowly returning to the earth
settling down on its crumbling stone foundations,
roof slates cracked or missing,
paint fading and flaking.
The fact remains that underneath
Nobody’s Cat burrowed in during the last snow
And died.
Daffodils’ green spears are thick and lush
around the perimeter of the old building.
the flowers stand like mourners
around a grave
as the sun slowly sets
in an explosion of
saffron ginger turmeric curry –
spiced winter day
ends in a flurry of last
waves of goodbye

 

 

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Frank J. Tassone
    Oct 04, 2017 @ 17:36:11

    Welcome back! A Lovely and heartfelt poem you’ve written for your return!

    Reply

  2. Jamztoma
    Oct 04, 2017 @ 19:50:07

    Awww….I am so glad and grateful to you for caring for Nobody’s Cat. He/she sounds like he/she was a precious being. Rest in peace Nobody’s Cat. I have a soft spot for certain animals especially cats and dogs. Have a blessed evening my friend.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2017 @ 20:09:36

      Thank you. He was a sweet tuxedo boy that had been dumped out by some wretch. He was frightened of all and I started out throwing food to hm and then it progressed. The last winter he was alive he had taken to rubbing up against me. I couldn’t not lure him into our garage alas. I still cry over him as I do all of my past animal loves.

      Reply

  3. kiwi
    Oct 04, 2017 @ 20:47:20

    A touching sad poem I love how “the flowers stand like mourners” beautiful

    Reply

  4. Sherry Blue Sky
    Oct 04, 2017 @ 21:44:00

    Poor Nobody’s Cat. But thankfully you made sure he was fed and cared for during his last years. And he was grateful, rubbing against your legs in thanks. Poor soul. I love the flowers standing like mourners. Nice to see you back, kiddo. And I am so glad your eyes are okay. We need our eyes.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2017 @ 23:16:56

      Yes we do but I made out pretty well without them, LOL. I was still cooking when my MD put an end to that and other activities, after I had to go to the emergency room. Thank goodness for Kindle audible. It was incredible all I could hear going around on around me. Although I continued to do my daly walk using my sword as a cane to help me down our quiet country street. I’m glad my three neibors at home during the day didn’t peach on me!!

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2017 @ 23:18:48

      He was a fierce tom. I’m afraid that is what finally did him in, in the extreme cold. I figured out where he was hiding and took food out to him twice daily. The last time I called him and called and went out several times.I didn’t want to love him as much as I did but I think he realized I loved him although I didn’t touch him. I regret not petting him.

      Reply

  5. Susan Chast
    Oct 04, 2017 @ 22:42:27

    A short life. I get a sense that Nobody’s Cat is celebrated by all of nature, a form and heart within a form. I love that you wrote this poem about one you fell for!

    Reply

  6. John Buchanan
    Oct 04, 2017 @ 23:42:27

    A lovely way to remember Nobody’s Cat. Sorry for your loss.

    Reply

  7. Sumana Roy
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 04:14:25

    Love the compassion portrayed so beautifully.

    Reply

  8. Myrna Rosa
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 11:07:38

    You captured the sadness of losing a loved one. Glad you’re back and feeling better.

    Reply

  9. Mary
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 11:18:02

    Such a touching poem, Toni. It seems that Nobody’s Cat really was somebody’s cat – yours. He DID have someone to love him, and accepted it as best he could.

    Reply

  10. Carrie Van Horn
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 13:37:15

    I am glad you are back on the circuits again! This is a wonderful ode to a cat that was lucky to have you in it’s life. Sometimes the most wonderful blessings are ones that we never expected to have.

    Reply

  11. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 16:15:39

    This is so touching, and I do remember your last poem on his demise… it’s so hard to get attached… Glad to see you back, and hope you are well soon.

    Reply

  12. Frank Hubeny
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 16:33:14

    That sounds like a shed worth keeping or repairing with all the memories associated with it and flowers around it.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 05, 2017 @ 16:34:39

      Perhaps Frank. I have cleared away the deep underbrush and blackberry vines but I am letting it go back to the earth. The daffodils will continue to multiply until they too take over the place, years from now.

      Reply

  13. Srishti Dutta Chowdhury
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 17:09:08

    Such a brilliant ending.

    Reply

  14. coalblack
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 17:12:55

    Toni, did u mean to link this to Toads? Not quite seeing the connection, and I don;t see anything about Toads on the post.

    Reply

  15. alisonhankinson
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 17:18:03

    aw…I wish nobody’s cat hadn’t died, that is sad. I am glad the flowers mark his grave. XXX glad you are back in the ring.

    Reply

  16. Beverly Crawford
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 17:40:10

    So glad your eyes have recovered … and I loved the story of Nobody’s Cat!

    Reply

  17. Glenn Buttkus
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 19:50:10

    Seems to me that you did, in fact, touch him. Animals like people can have fierce & independent spirits. You were his angel; probably his only human contact. There must have been trauma & abuse in his past.

    Reply

  18. Sabio Lantz
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 22:13:46

    That spicey sun image was great. A fine tribute

    Reply

  19. Truedessa
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 22:40:35

    Nobody’s cat, had somebody to care for him and that made his life better. The last goodbyes are so sad.

    Reply

  20. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 01:30:58

    Oh, it makes me cry and smile at the same time. I think he must have gone to sleep warm and oeaceful in there.

    Reply

  21. kim881
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 02:21:16

    Welcome back, Toni! Your shed sounds a lot like mine! But I am so sad about Nobody’s Cat. How wonderful that he has flowers that:’stand like mourners around a grave’. I love the fanfare tribute of the sun and the haiku at the end is gorgeous:
    spiced winter day
    ends in a flurry of last
    waves of goodbye

    Reply

  22. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 04:00:35

    ‘the flowers stand like mourners around a grave as the sun slowly sets in an explosion of saffron ginger turmeric curry’.. this is so eloquent.

    Reply

  23. maria
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 05:09:34

    What a lovely piece for a comeback, Toni. Such beautiful imagery in your words. I hope all is well. 🙂

    Reply

  24. D-Claire
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 05:46:35

    lovely tribute to an old friend

    Reply

  25. Sarah Russell
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 17:11:28

    Tuxedo cats are the best (and smartest!). A beautiful elegy.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 06, 2017 @ 17:19:15

      Thank you Sarah. I also have a thing for the marmalade and ginger toms. This was my first experience with a tuxedo boy. Sigh. I still cry over him.

      Get Outlook for Android

      ________________________________

      Reply

  26. magicalmysticalteacher
    Oct 07, 2017 @ 09:25:35

    This is a lovely farewell.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

