Real Toads and dVerse Poets Pub OLN

Today Shay is prompting over at Real Toads. She asks us to write of spells, gypsy curses, dopplegangers, the like. She also requests “no haiku because they give me the shakes”. Perhaps like me she has seen too too many bad fauxku on the ‘net lately: to many dead lifeless zombie-ku, too many sweet pink precious-ku, to many emotion crazed maniac-ku, too too many abbreviated fake jazzy-ku. I know, they frighten me too. To paraphrase Haley Joel Osment in The Sixth Sense: I see bad haiku. Real Toad’s link: Fireblossom Friday : I Put A Spell On You.  I am also posting this on dVerse Poets Pub Open Link night. Open Link Night # 205   PS I have finished this poem with a senryu – what most people call “haiku”….but it aint!

Don’t Fear The Reaper
I was timid and short –
You were ruthless and gentle and brave.
I gazed into your almond shaped brown eyes –
And I became trapped –
A skeletal butterfly encased in amber.
But on the wings of your words
I flew. I soared. I became fierce.
I often look back at that young woman
And then I look in the mirror of the woman
I am today.
The curse of your love still hovers over me.
The blood I drew from you that day
we drew swords against each other
still stains my hands with red.
You were surprised as was I.
I look up at the full harvest moon
And I howl.
I count the stars as I hold my head back
And I howl.
I fling the curse to the sky –
To be taken by the wind.
I don’t know if it will ever take.
The curse of your love still hovers over me.

harvest moon listens – dogs
shuffle in the underbrush –
curses abound

 

public domain image

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erbiage
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 16:16:08

    Fantastic as usual Toni. I am not sure about curses. Clearly people put them out there, but I think you have to pick it up for it to affect you. Which is good, because all you have to do to break it is put it down.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  2. coalblack
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 17:50:31

    Eeee! Dis scary. *peeks out from under blanket* Thanks for being part of my prompt, Toni!

    –chikken little

    Reply

  3. Vivian Zems
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 18:58:45

    The curse of your love still hovers over me. – wow this said it all- spooky and scary

    Reply

  4. Sherry Blue Sky
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 20:09:18

    One of my new favourites of yours. This is really really fabulous.

    Reply

  5. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 04:36:31

    “The curse of your love still hovers over me. The blood I drew from you that day
    we drew swords against each other still stains my hands with red”.. this is so poignant!

    Reply

  6. Rommy
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 07:31:17

    Love can bind as tightly as any curse.

    Reply

  7. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 09:52:25

    I really love this, and I think howling might actually help you. The image of drawing blood is perfect

    Reply

  8. kim881
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 10:39:30

    Wow Toni! The curse of love!

    Reply

  9. ladynyo
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 10:47:09

    Oh….my mind soared with this poem. Since you have gifted me with some knowledge of the background, I am thrilled. Oh, such passionate verse! Such passionate bond. How do you ever forget or go on? I would melt.

    So beautiful. The stuff of fantasy except it isn’t. This will speak to the heart and loins for ages.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 06, 2017 @ 11:45:35

      It seems I will never shake him as it seems, he will never shake me. <y sources in Hakone tell me that whilst he cats around, he never settles on anyone and is always always to himself. He throws himself into his work and kendo, being like an umpteenth level master at this point. I am only a 4th level. But I have my precious husband who dotes on me and puts up with more crap than the average man. I get along because of him.

      Sent from Mail for Windows 10

      Reply

  10. paul scribbles
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 14:20:27

    Morte like a Hai-kuuuuuuuouooooooooooo 😉

    Reply

  11. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 19:05:55

    Oh cursed love… You brought it out so well.

    Reply

  12. oldegg
    Oct 07, 2017 @ 00:40:00

    How beautifully this reads and your are right the curse of those loves lingers on and on.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

