Haibun Monday: Kindness

Monday is Haibun Monday at dVerse Poets Pub. I am hosting the Pub tonight and am prompting the word: Kindness. Kindness to another, kindness done to you…kindness. the haibun is to consist of one or two tight paragraphs with 150 words and a haiku to top it off. Come join us and read. Let’s be kind to each other!  the Pub opens at 3:00 pm, EST/

Pizza and Warmth
Years ago, I was unemployed and had reached my last dollar. I decided to splurge it on a slice of pizza and a soda at a local pizza place. The owner looked at me when I ordered the slice and began to count change out on the counter. Instead of one slice, I found two slices on the place. I looked at him and thanked him sincerely. He smiled and said, anytime you come in until you get a job, the pizza is on me. I don’t know how he knew. I guess he could tell by how I was counting out the change or the desperate look in my eyes. I took my slices to my table and began to eat. When I finished the pizza, I was full and warmed. Full of pizza and warmed by his kindness. The lesson of kindness taught by my grandmother when I was a child was paid in full.

kindness overflows –
Cold outside – warm inside
payback for years past

public domain image

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. X
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 15:17:40

    These stories make me smile. It is the little things. When we have we give, when we need we receive. Sometimes the receiving is the hard part. It is humbling at times to admit that you need help. This was the lesson that took me years to understand. I am a man of course, sometimes it takes us longer. Ha.

    We should remember those moments years passed, and return them as we can.

    I had a most wonderful pizza this weekend. Sorry, mind shifted to food. If you ever are in West Virginia and stumble upon the Fiddlehead up in the mountains, get the local. It was farm fresh organic fed beef, bacon, mushrooms from the mountain and onions. All locally sourced. It is amazing.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 30, 2017 @ 15:19:44

      Except for the mushies, it sounds wonderful. Alas I never go to West Virginia and since my mother died, I don’t head to TN any more and go through Hokie Land. I truly loved your examples of kindness. A beautiful and restful write. You are missed here. But I understand.

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 30, 2017 @ 15:27:41

      And being a man should make no difference, at least how I was raise! My father stayed home with me while my mother worked – he was more suited and made less money. I was taught to look at people carefully but not to always judge them when I look at them. Like you, I can choose to walk away. The gift is my choice.

      Reply

  2. Grace
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 15:27:49

    How kind of the man to do that ~ I am always humbled when strangers show kindness as it is unexpected ~ A lovely theme and thanks for hosting ~

    Reply

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 15:41:46

    I have never been in the position where I would need that, but I can so understand the wonderful kindness of receiving something like that. Also it takes a lot of kindness to accept a gift like that. That in itself is a gift, knowing it was well received.

    Reply

  4. alisonhankinson
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 15:45:22

    A lovely story and I have to say that I have been fortunate in life and often received kindness when I have needed it. XXXXX

    Reply

  5. Frank Hubeny
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 16:09:11

    Kindness ties us together in communities we didn’t know existed.

    Reply

  6. Vivian Zems
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 16:25:27

    This is the story that stays with you forever. Kindness is love.
    This warmed my heart

    Reply

  7. Glenn Buttkus
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 16:37:40

    A very touching remembrance, Toni. I applaud your zeal for selfless giving & kindness. My world view often taints my heart view, But sometimes, out of the blue, I have the opportunity to reach out to others, or they to me, and there is cleansing & balance within (like the day I thought of you when I decided yo give away my samurai posters–an unexpected gift from the universe.)

    Reply

  8. sarahsouthwest
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 16:43:00

    What a lovely story, and how well you tell it.

    Reply

  9. erbiage
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 16:51:51

    I weep. This is beautiful. Thank you.

    Reply

  10. kim881
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 17:52:14

    A touching story of kindness, Toni. It reminded me of when I was a single parent with very little money; there was an Italian restaurant not far from the hall where Ellen attended Brownies. It was run by a family, who allowed Ellen to be dropped off by the mother of one of her friends, where she would wait for me and they too often gave us a dessert or a drink on the house.

    Reply

  11. Beverly Crawford
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 18:39:54

    A touching story of kindness … and see how kindness lingers in memory ! Like ripples in a stream.

    Reply

  12. Frank J. Tassone
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 20:41:24

    Your story reminded me of a kindness I received. While traveling in Paris, I found myself broke. Desperate, I spoke broken French to a passing woman outside Gare du Norde, hoping for metro fare. She replied, “You speak English, don’t you?” and gave me a token. That token ensured my arrival at American Express, where I secured enough money to complete my travels. Thank you for reminding me how important it is to pay kindness forward, for we all have kindness that we owe.

    Reply

  13. Victoria C. Slotto
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 21:16:37

    So. touching, Toni. I’m having a hard time zeroing in on it. I’ve been blessed with so many acts of kindness…I don’t know what to choose. These accounts, to me, are inspiring. It is just what our poor world needs.

    Reply

  14. Sherry Marr
    Oct 30, 2017 @ 22:31:52

    I LOVE stories – and people – like this. How completely lovely.

    Reply

  15. Misky
    Oct 31, 2017 @ 16:56:42

    This is a wonderful story. Made me want to go out and do a kindness for someone right now.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

