The Kindness of (Un)Strangers

I never cease to be amazed by the kindness of people. Right now, I am going through a very rough patch and having good and bad days. Out of the blue, someone called me this morning to check on me. He had been thinking of me and just wanted to say hi and keep my head up and hold on to hope. I hadn’t heard from this person in a few months but he had been talking with a mutual friend and heard things were hard. He didn’t want to intrude, but he wanted to let me know – just let me know – he had been through the same thing a few years earlier and that my kind words of encouragement then, helped him – a lot. So he was returning the favor.

I received an email from a lovely young woman who asked a friend for my email so she could connect and let me know, things would be okay and to just say hello.

A lady in the grocery store yesterday, before she handed off her shopping buggy to me, wiped the handle with one of those wipy things and smiled and said, here ya go!

I received a card from a distant friend with a picture of a cat hanging onto a tree limb with the words “Hang in there!”

In the big hard times of life, the smallest gesture takes on the biggest of importance. Simple kindness. Nothing elaborate,just….simple kindness.

It’s been a bad day but all of sudden, I feel lighter in my heart.

In spite of bad things, good things are still there. I am reminded to pass along those simple kindnesses. The smile I give to some stranger, may be just what they needed. The time I slice out of my day to hug a friend, may make a lot of difference to them at that moment. We all rely on the kindness of strangers who quickly become unstrangers.

59 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 16:23:22

    I’m so sorry to hear it’s not a good time for you. Want to lend my good thoughts and lots of cyber hugs to you. Hope things change for the better real soon. love, Paulette

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 16:45:32

    Sorry to hear life is a drag right now. I hope your invisible angels lighten your load. 🙂

    Reply

  3. huntmode
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 18:46:51

    Dear Kanzen, “In the big hard times of life, the smallest gesture takes on the biggest of importance. Simple kindness. Nothing elaborate,just….simple kindness.” Perfect.

    Know I hold you in my heart, my prayers, and as we’ve said, you have faced and triumphed over much tougher things. Some stuff just comes out of nowhere and knocks the wind out of you. Breathe, Kanzen. Slow, gentle breaths. You are surrounded by friends who care. Love HuntMode

    Reply

  4. Edward Hotspur
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 20:57:16

    Watch this video. It will cheer you up.

    Reply

  5. huntmode
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 22:08:20

    Well, Edward, those ARE something! Disconcerting and I’m still grinning. Thank you, both of you!

    Reply

  6. Clowie
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 07:47:52

    Would a big, fluffy hug help?

    Reply

  7. Maurice A. Barry
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 09:03:58

    Best wishes from far away. My favourite line at times like these are taken from the song “The Living Years” my Mike and the Mechanics.
    Don’t yield to the fortunes you sometimes see as fate
    It may have a new perspective on a different day
    and if you don’t give up,
    don’t give in
    it may be ok”

    Reply

  8. Bernice
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 13:24:09

    It is so true that sometimes we will never know what a kind word or gesture to another person might mean to them. I know you will get through this difficult time. Hugs and prayers!

    Reply

  9. jaklumen
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 21:45:46

    I, uh, could use a little more of this. Waiting to feel a little bit better to go out with Cimmy and get to know our neighborhood a little better.

    Reply

  10. SirenaTales
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 10:12:58

    I just saw this–I hope the intervening time since you posted has brought a shift in the wind for you, my friend. I just keep picturing you getting up and jamming with John Travolta to “Saturday Night Fever!” Smiling…Sending hugs and love

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 28, 2014 @ 10:19:06

      Thank you for those hugs! Getting better, rembering how I need to choose my attitude and to keep looking up. I also did a post about awards. Please read and snag yourself some! It’s my parade and I’m on the last float throwing out coins, candy, and awards.Woohoo!

      Reply

  11. sjthomas30
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 14:38:47

    Aw, I’m so sorry to hear you’re having a rough go. But I’m so glad (un)strangers could provide a little sunshine in your day. Hang on to it and I hope things start looking up for you!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:24:53

      It’s about attitude. I reminded myself of that pep talking someone just diagnosed with cancer – what kept me going during a similar time in my life and how that attitude and faith kept me going. So I gave a pep talk to both of us!

      Reply

  12. FlaHam
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 12:52:24

    Kanzen, We have become acquainted via Hunt, and have exchanged several likes and comments over the last few weeks. I am truly sorry you are having difficulties, and hope you find a way suitable to you to climb out. I know your friends, acquaintances, strangers, and budding friendships such as ours helps you. Please take care, and know you have support far and wide. – Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 05, 2014 @ 13:43:28

      I do thank you very much Bill. it’s been some hard days but I am moving up and mainly, because of the support and prayers of such persons as yourself. I really do appreciate your kind words and they have given me a good reason to smile today. – toni Date: Sat, 5 Apr 2014 16:52:25 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

