Confession: Hanakotoba 花言葉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is done for today’s prompt at dVerse Poetics Pub – confession.

Hanakotoba 花言葉 – Language of flowers
You handed me the bouquet.
“I have a confession”
I looked at the flowers
in the bouquet
and heard the words
unspoken
but as you wanted me to hear them:
水仙) daffodil – respect
椿 camellias – yellow, white, red –
longing and love, eternity
赤い薔薇 red rose, passion

We stood in the gentle spring rain
I searched my mind for the words:
“春雨 しゅんう shun u”
you whispered.

I smiled.
“Already the rain smells differently.
A smell of growing things
instead of the sharp tang
of bareness.”
春雨 しゅんう shun u
gentle spring rain.

I held the bouquet close
to my face.
I kissed each flower
with the softness
of shy kisses on your face.

I have a confession to make.
And I handed the bouquet
back to you.
You smiled and reached for me
the bouquet between us.

Those days long ago,
long gone.
How could I ever
confess that day
to another?
bless me,
it has been a lifetime
since my last confession.

56 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bryan Ens
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 15:27:14

    a lovely confession indeed!

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 15:28:46

    The language of flowers truly don’t need any words… love the way you hand back the flowers to reciprocate.. and yes maybe we confess to seldom 🙂

    Reply

  3. claudia
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 15:30:40

    daffodils for respect – that is pretty cool how every flower has their specific meaning and how much they say without saying a word…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 10, 2015 @ 16:46:20

      Americans (and others) used to use the language of flowers to send a secret message to a lover or blatant message to a loved one or friend. The language of flowers is mostly forgotten here as well as in Japan. Used to be, in the old days, no one except royalty used the gold chrysanthemum or to denote social class on kimonos. The younger folks have gotten away from so many of the traditions. The flowers still speak even if we have forgotten the language.

      Reply

  4. wholeproduction
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 15:32:37

    great picture, even greater poems 😀

    Reply

  5. bmiller007 (@bmiller007)
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 15:46:40

    smiles…what a cool intimate moment between you…
    it was neat to see the characters and other language (other than English) blended in as that made it feel all the more personal….

    Reply

  6. MarinaSofia
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 16:19:00

    I was humming along ‘Saita, saita, turipu no hana ga…’ while reading this charming, intimate poem.

    Reply

  7. Desmond, Anthony (@iamEPanthony)
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 16:19:28

    here is a poem used to tell how you may confess without saying a word – BRILLIANT.
    Absolutely adored this along with the other language peppered in

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 16:46:09

    Oh, what a beautiful, beautiful moment! And what a beautiful confession…one worth remembering forever.

    Reply

  9. Grace
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 17:24:22

    I love what those flowers mean and signify, and yet what we meant to say or not say in another lifetime ~ I admire the use of the bouquet between us, unique and certainly can’t be shared with another ~ The weaving of Japanese language makes this a unique read ~

    Reply

  10. C.C.
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 17:32:50

    This is so soft and sensual….and the ending is phenomenally romantic….just ties it all together as it tells the story of all that has happened between in such succinct sweetness. Glorious 🙂

    Reply

  11. lightwalker1
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 17:50:03

    Beautiful. The secret language of flowers, the secret language of love – such a beautiful private moment you have painted with your gentle intimate words. In love and light Cheryle

    Reply

  12. dkirkstokes
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 19:14:11

    A beautiful glimpse of intimacy. Flowers are a language that we all understand; it’s sad that those specific meanings are dying out.

    Reply

  13. Hannah Gosselin
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 20:54:15

    I love your approach…I’ve always found the language of flowers intriguing and your closing lines are poignant, too!

    Reply

  14. The Course of Our Seasons
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 21:54:57

    Such a romantic and tender confession – love the language of flowers – really beautiful

    Reply

  15. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 22:14:39

    Soft. So soft: the movements, the words, the feelings. The tone is all whispers and words not spoken. This is s.t.u.n.n.i.n.g., Kanzen. I don’t do poetry, but this is awesome. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  16. billgncs
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 22:20:34

    so much of communication is unspoken, tacit, I think you’ve really captured it.

    Reply

  17. huntmode
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 22:21:35

    Oh, Kanzen, those last lines… a piecing straight past any defenses.

    Reply

  18. Prajakta
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 00:36:43

    Gorgeous! I like how you connected the confession with the language of flowers 🙂

    Reply

  19. katiemiafrederick
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 13:40:22

    When flowers sing more than colors poetry comes alive in nature.. as it always.. as it always is.. for NOW!..:)

    Reply

  20. othermary
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 20:01:33

    It is so lovely, and creative the way you combine the different languages in this.

    Reply

  21. Anna
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 01:33:07

    Really beautiful and your words as soft as the petals they evoke. I have a Tussie Mussie book so I particularly enjoyed your take on the language of flowers!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 10:49:40

      It is interesting, the various meanings of flowers in different countries. I went for the Japanese take on these because the lover who gave me this bouquet, years ago, is Japanese. But it seems red is consistent with passion, passionate love, love. I thank you for your kind words. My husband gave me a “knot bouquet” for Valentine’s made of various shades of purple/lavender flowers with…..one red rosebud standing out in the center! I loved it of course.

      Reply

  22. ayala zarfjian (@ayalazarfjian)
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 07:06:52

    Lovely capture.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

