Haibun Monday: Outside my (hospital) Window

Today it is Haibun Monday and I am giving the prompt for today.  The post accidentally went live Friday – sorry!  Accidents do happen in the real and the poetic world.  I am asking people to write a haibun (one or two tight paragraphs with a seasonal, classic haiku at the end) about a memorable birthday or, a full moon or…both combined!  These last few days shows us a super moon in the sky – the closest the moon has been to earth in 69 years!  Enjoy the moon, enjoy the haibun. Come Join us at dVerse Poets Pub for some splendid reading.

Outside my Hospital Window

I spent my 55th birthday in hospital.  I had been diagnosed with uterine cancer and I had just been operated on to remove the cancer.  Luckily, it was caught in its very early stages and I was one of the few lucky ones who did not die of this form of cancer.  But…I was sick with complications from the anesthesia and deeply depressed.  All I could eat was some pond scum broth, water, and coca cola.  I had thrown up everything but my toenails.  And I had been presented with a birthday cake by my mother, husband, and mother-in-law.  It ended up at the nurses’ station for them and anyone else to eat and enjoy.  November 16 was a grim birthday for me but I was alive.

Outside my hospital window, the sycamore trees were alive and golden, waving their leaves in the breeze.  I could see them from first to last light.  They reminded me I was alive and at this point, I had been pronounced cancer free.  I spent a lot of time in silence in that room, watching those tree leaves, watching birds hopping from branch to branch, gazing at the clear blue sky during the day and the huge full moon at night.  I was sick as a dog but I was alive.  I was alive.  Happy birthday to me…I sang.  Happy happy birthday to me.

golden leaves shimmer
during the day – full moon shines
bright during the night

public domain NASA photo

public domain NASA photo

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ghostmmnc
    Nov 13, 2016 @ 19:49:47

    Oh, Toni… thank the lord that it was caught in time. Your story really hits home today, as my best friend passed away just this morning from ovarian cancer. Still in shock. She would have loved your haiku, as she loved all the moon’s phases and would put her crystals and gems out to soak up the moonlight. I also know about spending a birthday in the hospital…happened to me one year. Thank you so much for your wonderful poem. xo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 14, 2016 @ 13:31:22

      I am so sorry to hear of the death of your friend. My heart goes out to you as I lost a dear friend two years ago. How wonderful there is this super moon shining, lighting your friend’s way to heaven and giving you brightness in the dark time. Thank you for your comment. I hope you will be joining us!

      Reply

  2. ladynyo
    Nov 13, 2016 @ 20:34:34

    Thank God you are amongst the living. This haibun made the hairs stand up on my arms. But you are alive, you are alive. And Happy Birthday (early now) on Nov. 16th. And you write beautifully….Thank God for the survival of a wonderful poet!!! And woman. Loved the haiku, too.

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 13:24:41

    How blessed you are to be cancer free and filled with courage and hope. Happy birthday to you in advance and may you and your family celebrate it with laughter !

    Thank you for the personal share Toni ~ Hope you are well ~

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 14:39:08

    Oh I can so much understand how a birthday like that is one you can remember… and so glad it was found in time… this was so very touching, and personal (which a haibun should be… ) Happy Birthday

    Reply

  5. sarahsouthwest
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 16:03:46

    You brought tears to my eyes. Happy Birthday, and many many happy returns of the day!

    Reply

  6. Brian
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 16:23:51

    Thanks for sharing such a wrenching experience and showing that there was a positive in your birthday. I hope all is well today.

    Reply

  7. kim881
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 17:00:26

    I’m so pleased to see you back at the pub, Toni, and happy to have ‘met’ you, a survivor, alive and well and writing haiku beautiful about shimmering leaves and a full moon. Now you’re two days away from another birthday and someone somewhere has arranged for a special Super Moon for you!
    I’m just sad that you had to go through so much pain.

    Reply

  8. Arcadia Maria
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 20:20:07

    Beautifully written. Even in our darkest moments, we can still find the light.

    Reply

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 22:30:51

    Sorry, about those days, Kanzen. The important point is you’ve overcome. . . The image in my mind is way large, a snug fit. You win. ❤ ❤

    Reply

  10. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 07:29:25

    I love the touches of black humour (the pond scum for instance, and the toenails) along with the seriousness of the scare, and the worn-out yet exhilarated conclusion.

    Reply

  11. lynn__
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 07:36:01

    Thanks for sharing and we wish you an even happier birthday tomorrow, Toni! Celebrate your life 🙂

    Reply

  12. Bryan Ens
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 07:43:32

    love the image of throwing up everything but your toenails (OK…rather a grim image…but a fantastic way of describing the situation without getting too gross) 🙂

    Reply

  13. Kathy Reed
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 13:55:57

    You put us right there in your hospital room with the view of the moon…on your birthday, no less… and your true story of surviving cancer. It touches nearly every one in some way. I am so glad you are healthy and happily here at dverse and writing!

    Reply

  14. Adriana Citlali Ramírez
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 15:30:25

    This is a heavy stop, that is told beautifully. It tells of hard times, of struggle, and uncertainty. The closing of the second paragraph is very powerful.
    When reading your words, I felt uplifted, humbled and empowered at the same time. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  15. whippetwisdom
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 16:43:31

    Oh Toni, I am so glad it was discovered early and you are with us now to celebrate another birthday tomorrow. A very poignant write and your haiku is beautiful. We shall raise a glass to your good health tomorrow! :o)

    Reply

  16. Uttley
    Nov 17, 2016 @ 05:00:45

    So real and raw and wonderful…

    Reply

  17. Mish
    Nov 18, 2016 @ 00:29:37

    That would definitely be a birthday never forgotten. Thank you for sharing your personal struggle. Your haibun had little glimpses of hope within the pain and fear, gazing out at the beauty of nature. A wonderful haibun prompt this week. Welcome back, Toni.

    Reply

  18. sree
    Nov 18, 2016 @ 03:53:12

    blessed…and stay blessed…the haiku brings out the whole beauty of being blessed…!

    Reply

  19. Imelda
    Nov 19, 2016 @ 12:44:54

    I rejoice in your good news as I wish you a speedy recovery. 🙂

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.