Escaping Hawks – haiku

 

(c) Paul Militau  used by permission from the photographer.  Please do not copy or reproduce w/o permission.

(c) Paul Militau used by permission from the photographer. Please do not copy or reproduce w/o permission from the photographer..

Wooden hawks emerge
From the earth seeking to join
Their blue sky brothers.

 

I follow Paul’s photography blog and am often struck by his creativity. When I saw this, my imagination saw earthbound hawks escaping their prison. I contacted and asked for permission to use this photograph and was very kindly given that permission.  You can find more of Paul’s most excellent work at:  https://photopaulm.files.wordpress.com The direct link to this photograph is:  https://photopaulm.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/roots.jpg
I don’t feel I have done justice to this image, but, I tried!

You can also visit me and  if you wish, follow me at my poetry only blog, Aki no Koe (voice of autumn):  soundsofautumn.wordpress.com  I will also be posting this on that site.

Please, always remember that if you use another person’s creativity without permission and/or acknowledgement, you are stealing which truly is horrible and snarky.

 

 

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kanzensakura
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 12:10:12

    Reblogged this on Aki no Koe.

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 12:15:47

    I follow his blog as well. Truly magnificent photography.
    This is an awesome Haiku, Kanzen. I’ve looked closely at the photograph and it all seems so real. ❤ ❤

    Reply

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 12:19:51

    The thought of hawks growing out of earth has mythological aspects that I love.. wonderful food for thought.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 06, 2015 @ 12:38:14

      It hit me the same way. I’m sure in Nordic mythology or Native American mythology, it has to be there somewhere. And if not, I say we make up our own myth. I love the Japanese winter kigo: taka – hawk. I did a haiku for that somewhere….probably with the mythology thing.

      Reply

  4. claudia
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 12:30:32

    so awesome – they really look like hawks… wow… love it

    Reply

  5. Bryan Ens
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 12:37:56

    I can just see that hawk of tree spreading wings and taking flight

    Reply

  6. seeker
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 13:07:16

    Ha! Such imaginative Haiku.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 06, 2015 @ 15:43:42

      Thank you! But the roots do look like birds, don’t they?

      Reply

      • seeker
        Feb 06, 2015 @ 16:06:38

        before I saw the Haiku, I thought it was an EAGLE.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Feb 06, 2015 @ 16:11:56

          We have eagles and hawks in this area. I immediately thought hawk because of the size and shape. so far, people really like this photograph. Either way, it’s a great shot and certainly isn’t dovelike! It takes a strong, fierce bird to break free of the earth and escape to the sky. Thank you so much for letting me use this. I hope more people will click on the link to check out your blog!

          Reply

  7. bkpyett
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 03:02:18

    Very special capture!

    Reply

  8. bkpyett
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 04:18:03

    Beautiful and very special!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

