Real Toads: Artistic Impressions

Today at Real Toads, Margaret is prompting us with various pieces of art work from the Asheville, NC county fair, all done by Amateurs! Come join us to look at the delightful pics and read the poems. http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/10/artistic-interpretations-with-margaret.html I have chosen to write a haibun finished with a real haiku – seasonal word (kigo) and cutting word (kireji) included in the haiku.

 

artwork – Asheville County Fair

Autumn has come at last to the South. The sky is the perfect clear blue of the season – aki no sora. A bit of a chill in the air but no frost as of yet. Leaves are starting to turn – slowly. There is more gold, red, and orange among the green than there was last week. At night, owls hoot gently and float silently through the trees, looking for food.
blue skies stretch over
trees – colors form a rainbow –
bright stars warm the sky

artwork Asheville County Fair

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Oct 26, 2017 @ 16:08:16

    Nice, how you incorporated both pieces of art. The phrase about the owls was, of course, the highlight to me.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 26, 2017 @ 21:24:03

      Thank you Victoria. I love owls. I often sit outside and catch glimpse of them gliding over head hunting for dinner. I listen to them at night making their noises from soft whinnies to light chuckles.

      Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 26, 2017 @ 16:57:56

    I’m so envious of such a wonderful autumn, and with owls around you have to be happy I think

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 26, 2017 @ 17:02:59

      Happy comes and goes. Mostly I am depressed. It was just a year ago I went to get mama to come live with me. It is hard. This is a particularly melancholy autumn.

      Reply

  3. Vivian Zems
    Oct 26, 2017 @ 20:32:34

    Beautiful how you combined the two images with such wonderful prose. Bravo!

    Reply

  4. Sherry Marr
    Oct 26, 2017 @ 20:44:09

    Very lovely……..sigh. You took me right into that moment.

    Reply

  5. Margaret Elizabeth Bednar
    Oct 26, 2017 @ 22:40:12

    evoking the owls here in the poem works so well – I sit on my porch – walk the dogs late at night and I am thrilled when I hear an owl.

    Reply

  6. kim881
    Oct 27, 2017 @ 03:47:41

    I love the way you’ve combined the pictures, Toni, to create a stunning haibun, full of colour and owl sounds.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

