Haibun Monday #16

Hello. I am the host for Haibun Monday over at dVerse Poets and today, the subject is: Quotidian. Quotidian means daily, things that happen daily or things that we use daily: commute to work, underwear, our first cup of coffee, meals – quotidian! Come and join us over at dVerse for Haibun about daily things.

Herbs
The herbs. Plain and simple, everyday – the herbs. I go to my garden and cut chives, parsley, some sprigs of thyme, maybe cilantro, marjoram, and always mint. Mint for the tea or lemonade. I have forgotten what kind it is. I just know it is mint. Fresh and cool smelling, a leaf to chew on, a sprig in my hot tea, several sprigs in the iced tea. When I go to visit someone, I always take them a nosegay of herbs tied with a piece of long grass. And chief among the herbs is…mint. Mint is the herb of Virtue. Bay is glory, basil good wishes, thyme is courage, oregano is substance, sage is wisdom, chives is usefulness, rosemary is remembrance. The herbs make me happy and when they are given to a friend, they impart some of that same happiness. Sometimes I include a recipe for the use of a specific herb in the group. Herbs have been part of my daily life for years. I don’t see them becoming not a part of my life any time soon. So lean over here and take a sniff of this herb nosegay. Let your dreams become part of their fragrance.

sweet smells of summer –
herbs delight the heart and mind =
grace for all who taste

public domain image

public domain image

52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 05, 2016 @ 14:35:46

    The word nosegay.. I just love it, what a wonderful gift of fragrance. I love the thought of making it truly part of every day. Mint is so hard to keep without it getting everywhere… but thyme, thyme is everywhere and will soon bless us with flowers.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 05, 2016 @ 14:57:45

      I still think of the poem you wrote about your underwear. What a great Poem! I have the French kind of thyme,- bi-color with just a kiss of lemon. Wish I could wrap some up to send you. The mint is overtaking us but that is fine. Fixed a hanging basket of it for a friend.

      Reply

  2. seaangel4444
    Jun 05, 2016 @ 14:50:20

    Oh I can smell the wonderful herbs from here! Thank you! Cher xo

    Reply

  3. Charley
    Jun 05, 2016 @ 18:26:58

    So fresh, so real… so where’s the tea already?!? That is a wonderful taste of your life, openly shared. Thank you.

    Reply

  4. Victoria
    Jun 05, 2016 @ 19:09:05

    So many wonderful opportunities for this prompt and herbs–what a glorious choice. Our herb garden is flourishing and the mint, of course, is coming back with a vengeance. I like it in my water and ice tea. I’d go get some right now if it weren’t for the t-storm that’s almost here.

    Reply

  5. Grace
    Jun 05, 2016 @ 19:50:42

    I am hungry now with all the description of herbs ~ How lucky that you have a herb garden and can enjoy the richness of the food ~ (We only have mint, growing beside my wild red roses) ~ Summer smells so sweet indeed ~

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 05, 2016 @ 20:52:24

      Oh, wild red roses. How lovely! I so love roses. My husband used to grow roses but had to stop. I miss the Mr. Lincoln, like deep red velvet with such a fragrance.

      Reply

  6. thotpurge
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 09:23:31

    A gift of herbs with a recipe included.. what can be better..such a glorious idea! And so thoughtful…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2016 @ 15:38:23

      I began doing this years ago when I took a nosegay to a friend which included basil. she said she had no idea how to use it. So now, I always include a recipe or some hints written and attached on a card.

      Reply

  7. Mary
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 10:38:43

    I love the idea of giving a gift of herbs. I just bought and planted some in pots the other day. Only two different kinds of basil though & lemon mint. It is a joy of summer to be able to cook with fresh herbs.

    Reply

  8. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 16:11:21

    I’m with you all the way: herbs add the pizazz to good food.

    Reply

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 16:29:40

    A nosegay of herbs–such a brilliant idea.
    Aah, the heady scents. I miss my herb garden, but sight unseen, I love yours. Wonderful haiku, Kanzen. ❤ ❤ 😀

    Reply

  10. Linda Kruschke
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 16:56:52

    Wonderful! I’ve been pondering planting an herb garden this year, but I just keep coming home with more flowers (mostly Lantana). If you come to visit me, I’d love a nosegay of fresh herbs, but you can leave out the mint. It’s the only one I don’t care for. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Pleasant Street
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 17:25:04

    I am just starting to grow an herb garden in my kitchen, enjoyed this

    Reply

  12. Glenn Buttkus
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 17:30:03

    We talk about the spice of life, perhaps it should be “the spice(s) of life.” This terrific piece appeals to visual, taste, & olfactory memory; nicely done. ( Hey, Toni, oddly today I found something I would like to send you. My email is glennbuttkus@gmail.com Drop me a line & I will elaborate. )

    Reply

  13. Bodhirose
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 19:07:15

    What a lovely gift, Toni, a nosegay of herbs. I love that word nosegay too! 🙂 Wouldn’t food be so much less interesting without herbs.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2016 @ 20:36:06

      Food would be so blah indeed. And then we wouldn’t have anything to share the smells of with those we love – little Mira getting a nose full of thyme or rosemary scent for example!

      Reply

  14. jillys2016
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 19:33:39

    Oh, how I love this very delicious Haibun! I gave an herb garden as a gift last Christmas – Scarborough Fair Garden. Thank you for sharing this and for hosting!

    Reply

  15. Patti
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 20:16:41

    A nose gay of fresh herbs from the garden… so perfect. Please come visit me.

    Reply

  16. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 21:51:18

    herbs delight the heart and mind =
    grace for all who taste

    One can never go wrong with herbs. With the ever increasing risks of GMOs and pesticides stained vege, growing them in the backyard is a wise move. Truly said Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  17. Jennifer Wagner
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 21:59:25

    Fresh herbs are wonderful. And ahhhhh…mint is one of my favorites, too. So refreshing. Your poem is aromatherapy!

    Reply

  18. whimsygizmo
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 22:25:57

    What a wonderful gift, Toni. A bouquet of herbs. A bouquet of words.

    Reply

  19. kim881
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 03:54:33

    A haibun that appeals to the senses. I have, sadly , let my herb garden flounder and your wonderful piece has given me the incentive to sort it out and bring it back to its former fragrant state.

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Chaos and Daydreams | Doodles and Scribbles
  21. maria
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 04:46:49

    Ah, I’m smelling mint in the air after reading this one. Pretty sure you’re having a great day with those herbs. 😀 Thanks for the fun prompt, Toni!

    Reply

  22. Laura Bloomsbury
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 06:17:45

    no wonder you always manage something fresh and fragrant in your writings

    Reply

  23. sarahsouthwest
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 07:53:10

    Lovely, I can smell the mint from here. There is nothing quite so fresh and uplifting.

    Reply

  24. lynn__
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 08:23:32

    Refreshing post, Toni! I dug the row of catmint out of our garden as it threatened to take over (and now is attempting a comeback) – too much of an herb is overpowering but I think your nosegays have the right balance 🙂

    Reply

  25. Bryan Ens
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 08:23:48

    When you said, “So lean over here and take a sniff of this herb nosegay”, I was really wishing that computers had scratch-and-sniff capabilities! Fresh herbs are a lovely addition to so many meals!

    Reply

  26. Nan Mykel
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 13:03:27

    What good friend and neighbor you must be!

    Nan

    Reply

  27. Imelda
    Jun 08, 2016 @ 22:11:00

    I did not know herbs convey meanings. Thank you. 🙂

    Reply

  28. Mish
    Jun 09, 2016 @ 20:44:37

    The herbs!! I was excited from the first line. A few years ago I started a little herb garden with some perennials. The parsley has taken off like a bush, I have oregano, thyme, I plant basil each year, lovely chives and some chocolate mint that I bought by mistake. It has a mind of it’s own!
    LOVE the idea of gifting herbs in a little bouquet…how thoughtful.

    Reply

  29. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Jun 10, 2016 @ 23:34:13

    From the picture, your mint is the same as mine! (I don’t know any other name for it either.) I love your listing of the herbs and their properties, and the description of the way you give them to friends.

    Reply

  30. Barry D.
    Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:07:40

    Your words smell delicious. Almost makes me want to try my hand at gardening.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:55:44

      Start off small with a couple of pots in your kitchen or buy some fresh at the grocery with a few herbs you know you like to cook with. Google the uses and go off from there!

      Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

